Marvelling Kuantan Town in Pahang, Malaysia

7.png

What a better way to start my blog than sharing an unplanned trip to the quaint town of Kuantan. It is located in the state of Pahang and is facing the South China Sea.

One Saturday morning, my rest day, I woke up around 8:20 AM and thought of going somewhere. Just yearning to be with nature. Aha! I want to go to the beach.

Around 9:20AM, I found myself buying a bus ticket at the bus hub in TBS or Terminal Bersepadu Selatan which is about 15 minutes travel time from my place. No itinerary. No hotel accommodation. No idea except for the beach. Brave soul or idiot? hihihihi

The bus left at 10:30AM and the trip was around 4 hours. I enjoyed the view as I saw a vast plantation of palm trees. Upon reaching the Terminal Kuantan Sentral, that’s where my struggles started. I can’t use Agoda nor use Grab apps. My signal was so weak. Don’t know where to go. I’ve contacted 2 of my friends on messenger (only working that time) to check a hotel for me. Sad to say, there were no more available hotels (on Agoda) near the beach or in the city center. My friends can only see 1 hostel on Agoda but it is about a kilometer away from the city. Trying my luck to book that hostel or at least, from there I will try to find any hostels nearby. I should be out of the terminal as it was already getting late. But, I am still having difficulty booking a grab. Approached a young couple, John and his girlfriend, and told them my situation. What we did was, made 2 drop offs even though it’s out of their way. Thanks guys.

When I reached the hostel, it was already full-house. But it didn't affect me. I walked several meters and saw a guesthouse. Finally! I have a room. I met the Chinese owner, Wong. Young, amiable and speaks English well. He genuinely helped me with my itinerary. I headed right away to my 1st destination and the reason why I traveled 4 hrs. The beach.

A great welcome to me at Pantai Teluk Cempedak because of the heavy traffic hehehe. It was Saturday and a long holiday. Beach should be better be good or else hahaha. Upon arriving, you will be greeted by fast foods and Starbucks. People flocked to the beach. Families, couples, friends. A breath of fresh air for me as I have never been to the beach for quite some time due to travel restrictions.

2.png

Well, it didn't disappoint. Beach is nice. Pale cream sand, long stretch of shoreline. Since people were concentrated near the main entrance, I decided to walk along the beach and go farther (right side). There were a handful of people swimming. As I got farther, I reached the end of the coastline. No beach goers. Big boulders and decided to take more pictures in that area. Sun was about to set and I settled myself savoring the moment.

3.png

I went to the other side of the beach. This time, you need to walk a long pink bridge/pathway. You will still enjoy the walking as you will still see the sea.

Upon reaching the other side, I noticed that lesser people staying there maybe because the sand is not white. It's dark grey but it's fine sand. It was getting dark and I need to head back. Just had a few pictures then went back.

5.png

Checked the stalls at the promenade. It's like a night market where you can find a variety of items from clothes to paintings to souvenirs to foods.
I was too tired of walking and was hungry too. Decided to eat at McDonald's. I would say that this branch has the most fascinating view from all the McD’s I have been to as it is facing the beach. Imagine munching your cheese burger with that view? Relaxing.
Getting a grab car going back to the city was a bit of a challenge. Although, It was only 7:30PM. Waited 30 minutes to finally get a car. Upon reaching the guesthouse, Wong did all the research for me as my plan is to go to Sungai Lembing for Rainbow Waterfalls. He was extremely helpful. (I will create a separate blog for Sungai Lembing.)

Getting around Kuantan City

I saw a bewitching Mosque in a powder blue color dome. I can’t help but gaze at this amazing structure in front of me. It is Sultan Ahmad 1 State Mosque which was built in the 60’s. You can still see the mosque from afar as it has a football/soccer field in front of it. I wasn’t able to get inside as there was an ongoing ceremony at that time. I wanted to have at least a glimpse of the inside.

Then I went to Kuantan Esplanade. I used the Sky Tower to be my guide going there hehehe. It was not a long walk actually. The esplanade is a 1 km long beautifully paved orange walkway along Kuantan River at Jalan Besar. I saw a family flying their drone. Enjoying and giving massive poses as the drone continues to go up. Oh I terribly missed my family back home. We used to travel a lot. I wish they were here (sigh). Anyway, the river was kept clean. There are food stalls and cafes around. Some were fishing along the esplanade. Nice spot for recreation and relaxing.

7.png

I then continued walking and I reached the Menara Teruntum Kuantan or Kuantan Tower. It was like a replica of the one in KL but I think the one KL is taller. According to Wong, it comes with a viewing deck, bungee jumping and restaurant offering views of the Kuantan skyline. But it is still close to the public as of this writing.

8.png

After I had numerous shots with the tower in my background, I wanna eat at McDonald's. Just about a 6 minute-walk. However, Wong messaged me to go and visit the Street Art Mural.

From the tower, you need to cross the main road, then walk past 1 street to Lorong Seni. It’s a street full of mural arts showcasing the talents of the locals there. I am extremely fascinated with street murals. I remembered I took numerous photos of murals when I visited Penang and Ipoh. Even though it was a hot sunny day, it didn't hinder me from taking photos and playfully “join” in the murals. Some of the best for me were kids playing jumping rope, a carabao with carriage and a man pouring a water. Without a doubt, I had fun.

4.png

3.png

5.png

Though, this was an impromptu trip, I would say that this was a huge success. I may not have visited all the best destinations here but I have more reasons to go back. I will be forever grateful to the people I have met. John and his girlfriend, people I have asked for directions and most especially, to Wong, whom I became friends with until this time.
You can visit his guesthouse. Not on Agoda yet.
S&S Guesthouse - No: 9-11 Lorong Bukit Ubi 63, 25200 Kuantan ; WA 0169530300

6.png

5.png

Sort:  

Ang nice! Dora the explorer yarn? Hahaha

Sanay na sanay ka na talaga magsolo travel ano? Kung ako yun matataranta na ako, tas uuwi na lang ako. Haha.

hahahah..basta biglaan q maisip na gumala..wala n aq iimbitahin..sayang ung oras..madalian hahah

Congratulations @palosonthelo0se! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!