Travel Bubble: Langkawi Island in Kedah, Malaysia

1.png

My birthday! It has become my tradition that I need to travel and go to places that I haven’t been. Preferably..outside the country. I was supposed to be traveling on a 11 day overland tour from Myanmar to Laos to Hanoi in Northern Vietnam as an exit. Unfortunately, Covid altered everything. Everyone was stuck. I really felt that my so-called tradition will be broken. I am losing hope. So instead of wallowing, I thought of checking the other states of Malaysia. After all, that’s one of my goals - to visit all the 13 states.

When I heard about the bubble travel in Langkawi, I immediately asked my friend Mike if he would like to tag along. By the way, Mike was the one who referred me to work here in Malaysia. We were workmates in the Philippines for more or less 8 years. I am also the godfather of his daughter and one of my travel buddies here. He only uttered, when and let’s go! Hahaha

7.png

Our flight was 10:30AM but it was consensus that we have to go there atleast 3 hours before our flight so that we have ample time to do whatever procedures that we need to undergo.

2.png

When we arrived, we bought saliva test kits for 20RM or around 240PHP. Honestly, I was having mixed emotions while doing that. All the what ifs kept on bothering me. But as they say, always think positive. Few more minutes, the results came and it was negative. It was a sigh of relief. I can’t contain my happiness. Finally! After 2 years, I will be on board again on an airplane.

Travel time is approximately 1 hour and 10 minutes. The aircraft was a bit small compared to the regular ones. It was almost full. I was assigned in the middle and Mike was in the aisle seat. Fortunately, the person assigned to the window seat didn’t show up. I moved seats. I was like a kid given a happy meal from McDonalds hihihi.

3.png

I didn’t notice the time as I was enjoying the view. The islets, the dark blue waters. Everything. We safely landed and got out of the immigration at 1PM. The airport was small. I can compare this to the Terminal 4 in Pasay City. Though it was small, it was surrounded by duty free shops.

4.png

We booked a grabcar and went straight to our hotel, Cenang View Hotel. It was an awesome 8km trip as we drove by the shoreline. The hotel is a few cart wheels away from Underwater World Langkawi. The room was spacious, even the toilet and it was clean.

20.png

After we settled in, we decided to take our late lunch and ate at McDonalds. Then we walked to Pantai Cenang Beach. It was a sunny day. Many people were swimming. You can truly say that they were having a good time basking in the sun. We sat in one of the restaurants there and ordered desserts and just gazed at the surroundings. I ordered cendol (it's like our halo-halo version) and Mike ordered vanilla ice cream. We killed time until sunset. Mike enjoyed taking pictures as he loves the sunset and a photo enthusiast. When it was already dark and we're hungry, we roamed and looked for a place to eat.

5.png

6.png

21.png

22.png

Since we were both tired and exhausted that day (because we only slept less than 4 hrs the night before) we decided to eat at the hotel. We ordered pizza from Pizza Hut in front of Cenang Mall. As we ate, we were watching a soap opera. Though, we didn’t understand anything, we enjoyed watching it hehehe. I wasn’t able to finish my large beef pepperoni pizza as I was full already. Reserved for my breakfast hahaha.

We woke up early to go island hopping. We paid 30rm each for a 4-hour trip. We were fetched by a small van in our hotel. Another 2 middle eastern looking guys joined. We traveled around 20 minutes going to the jump off point. We were 12 and were separated into 2 groups.

In our boat, there were 6 passengers and we’re the only non-locals. It was a 15-minute boat ride from Jetty Kuah. Actually, it was a speed boat. It was really fast. The boat was like floating on the water and we were bumping most of the time. We were laughing the whole time. Splashes of water on our bodies and bags - we were all wet actually.

Pulau Dayang Bunting or Lake of Pregnant Maiden Island

It bears a resemblance to the silhouette of a reclined pregnant lady from afar. You have to use your imagination. Unfortunately, I don't have a picture. The island has mystical powers and is said to boost fertility in women who swim in or drink its waters. Once you’ve reached the jetty, it’s a 15-minute hike to the lake via a concrete stairway through a canopy of trees. Everything is green and I’m at peace. Mike had difficulty as he had a knee injury. But he said it was tolerable. He just needs some time.

When we reached the oval shaped-lake, I noticed that the place was surrounded by limestones and trees. I can recall the Twin Lagoon in El Nido, Palawan. The only difference is - this is freshwater. There were a lot of people swimming. I noticed also that there’s a shop selling snacks and souvenirs. But I went straight and queued to go kayaking. At first, we were enjoying it and we thought that we were in a race. It was not my first time and for Mike it was his. After a few rounds, we were exhausted and decided to go back.

8.png

15.png

While we were waiting for our boat, we took a lot of pictures as it was scenic. Lots of monkeys roamed around and they were really comfortable with humans.

9.png

11.png

10.png

Singa Besar Island

After a 20 minutes boat ride we then reached the island. It was inhabited by eagles, hornbills and monkeys. We didn't go out of our boat. We will feed the eagles. The boatman will catch the attention of the eagles and will be rewarded by raw pieces of chicken so you get a closer vantage. The sight of these birds flying around is rather spectacular. Frankly, that was the first time I saw a flock of eagles in my entire existence.

12.png

14.png

Beras Basah Island or Wet Rice Island

This was the last destination of the Island hopping trip. The island is ideal for swimming. Long shoreline, white sand and lots of water activities such as banana boat, parasailing and lot more. We had our lunch there. But I opted to just eat snacks as we wanted to eat in the mainland. I swam a bit and later on, just enjoyed the view.

13.png

16.png

17.png

18.png

19.png

23.png
24.png

Notes:

  • There are lots of tours operators offering Island Hopping
    specifically on the Cenang beach area.
  • You can always haggle
  • Entrance Fee to the Lake is 16RM including all the activities.
  • Toilets are available in the area (Pulau Dayang Bunting or Lake of
    Pregnant Maiden Island)
  • Monkeys are all over, they might steal your food.. Also any valuable
    items as they might think as they were food as well.
  • No toilets in Beras Basah Island or Wet Rice Island
  • Bring enough cash as there as shops that offers foods and souvenirs

25.png

Thank you for taking time to read my article. Until next time. Let's wander the wonders and be on the loose.

Sort:  

!discovery 20

thank you very much😉


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

thank you very much..appreciate it😊

gusto ko yung shot ng may patiris ng araw. Kung san san ka na naman napadpad. Nakipaglaro ka sa mga monkeys? haha

hahahaha...ayaw nila ako kalaro..c Tyra raw kasi ang reyna nila..pinagbawalan sila😆

Malaysia is really cool. my neighboring country. If I'm free from this covid I will go to Malaysia again. thank you for sharing

yeah..you should 😊

By the way, once everything is ok, my family is planning to go to Bali😊

Hi palosonthelo0se,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

thank you😊

Thanks for the pictures you shared. Langkawi Island is a very beautiful place. I hope one day I can visit your country.

yeah it is. By the way, I'm from the Philippines working here in Malaysia.

Yes. The Philippines has many beautiful landscapes. I hope to see more articles about your country

Yeah..i would say our beaches are superb. I have been to most provinces in the Philippines it's just now that I can't go back yet.
Hope you can visit the Philippines one day.

Congratulations @palosonthelo0se! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.
You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 20
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

All 13 states is a good goal!:) Covid makes one unfortunately more often a line through the bill. Great post!

Hi..thanks for dropping by..

Yeah..im on my 10th State. Looking forward to finish it this year.

more travels to us😊