Trip Home from Giethoorn 🚌 πŸ‡³πŸ‡±

in Pinmapple β€’ 2 months ago (edited)

My son Lee and I had a wonderful day in Giethoorn. This is really a place that I would like to be pinned on my map with Pinmapple. I decided to write about our long trip home from Giethoorn

I wrote about our visit to Lelyland last Sunday and my friend Yolandi sent me her photographs of the visit they made in the Spring - so with her permission, I will post her beautiful pictures here.

Springtime in Giethoorn courtesy of Yolandi Pedersen

The bus was a luxury bus with air conditioning and a place to charge our phones, which was fortunate since we had both used up our batteries taking photographs there.

Giethoorn is a mostly car-free village in the northeastern Dutch province of Overijssel. It’s known for its boat-filled waterways, footpaths, bicycle trails and centuries-old thatched-roof houses. It borders a section of the Weerribben-Wieden National Park, a marshy area once popular for peat and reed harvesting. Next to the park, Museum Giethoorn β€˜t Olde Maat Uus is a farm museum illustrating the region’s history. ― Google

Sunset from the bus

Colours were magnificent

It looked as if the sky was on fire

The trip home seemed much longer than the trip going to Giethoorn - I guess we were tired and hungry - although we had a wonderful lunch there.

We arrived at our starting destination Diemen South where I stayed with my son for half of February and twelve days of May.

This was my last weekend in the Netherlands and I can honestly say that I had a simply marvellous time - so many beautiful memories.❀️❀️❀️

Sort: Β 

I hope that I get to see the tulips, they look stunning! I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday in the Netherlands πŸ€—

Thank you my friend. I really hope we get to finally meet after being friends on Hive for six years

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!