Sights and fauna of Croatia: Krka

in Pinmapplelast year

Hivefest made it feel like my vacations in Croatia were half a year ago, instead of just a couple weeks. But now that I finally had some free time and went through all the photos, I can't help but share some of the highlights in a little more detail. Specifically, the nature part. The amazing views and the wildlife are normally the reason why I travel, and although this country has a whole lot more to offer, it was no different.

This place was not in my initial planning, but after hearing some friends saying good things about it, I decided to visit, and I'm glad I did!


22.jpg


Krka is a national park in the Dalmatia region, a little over one hour drive from Split, where I was located. I only visited a very small portion of it, but there are several hiking trails to choose from, and a whole array of things to see and do. The park's website is pretty complete, and even offers a virtual tour, so you can start exploring and plan your trip accordingly.

Since my time was limited, I ended up joining a tour for a day trip; definitely not my favourite way of travelling, but did save some work and time.

The sights

It started from the little town of Skradin, with a boat ride up the river, directly to the park's main attraction.


111.jpg

The trip is pretty pleasant and not that long; and I could already see a lot of life, with swans and cormorants swimming at a close distance. The hills were fully covered with a dense forest, which made the view even more pleasant.

And as you arrive to the park entrance, just a few meters away... a postcard view!


11.jpg

The Skradinski buk falls are the crown jewel of the park... and it's easy to understand why. A series of small and not so small falls, ending up in a large pool; absolutely stunning!


1111.jpg

I love waterfalls, so I could probably be staring at them for hours. These ones even had the bonus of the grey heron in the first photo, appearing at the right time! Up until recently, you could swim on this natural pool, but due to habitat destruction, you can only enjoy the view now.

A bridge (normally packed with tourists taking selfies...) connects this main area to the rest of the park, where a nice circular trail of around 2km begins.


14.jpg

It's 2 km completely surrounded with trees, crystal clear waters...


44.jpg

... and of course, waterfalls!


15.jpg


66.jpg

There are some areas to rest, with wodden benches to rest or have a snack, and quite a few belvederes as well. In this trail, we also have quite a few infographics too, with good descriptions of the fauna and flora of the park.


13.jpg


16.jpg

The fauna

I'm always keeping an eye for the different creatures, birds reptiles and mammals alike. According to the park's website, there are around 225 species of birds, 18 species of bats, and around 800 different flora species here!

Even the insects were cool! The first thing I saw when I left the boat? An itsy bitsy spider!


105.jpg

My birdwatching session started at the boat ride, with the mute swans and the cormorants. Truth is, I haven't seen that many different bird species in the park; but mallards and gadwalls were all over the place, seeming completely oblivious to the flow of tourists, and enjoying the fast shallow waters to preen and feed.


1234.jpg

In one of the park's rest areas, a little art exposition was displaying some of the butterfly species present in the park.


77.jpg

And I think I managed to document some of the specimens portrayed!


99.jpg


100.jpg


12.jpg

The species I enjoyed seeing the most didn't had wings, thow. I would have probably missed it if it weren't for the guide; and I'm guessing it´s either a common place to see it, or the guide has hawk's eyes.


55.jpg

The tessellated water snake, Natrix tessellata, was quietly waiting in a small pool for a small unaware fish to get too close. I saw some of them passing pretty close, but probably not close enough for an attempt at a meal.


33.jpg

The snake made a little break to breathe, and after a few moments went back to her hunting spot. No fished were harmed during my observation... but I confess, I was crossing fingers for the snake! :)


The only "bad" thing about the park? Crowds.


17.jpg

This is the bridge that offers the cool waterfall views, and you can see how it is packed. And for what the guide told me, this was a very calm day! This was in mid September; in peak summer, it's chaotic.

Probably the best time to visit the park would be around May, when the temperature is already good, the waterfalls probably have even more water, and the massive tourism hasn't started to arrive.

And with these views... can you blame anyone for wanting to witness them live? 🙂

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @storiesoferne ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The legendary natural beauties of Croatia at their finest :) Lovely place. I was a little kid when I was in Krka (or was it Plitvice? I´m not sure now :D) but I still remember how beautiful it was... Btw that water snake is so cool! :)

Krka was amazing, but Plitvice is just another level! I still have to sort out those photos, I´ve took probably over a hundred photos there and I'm betting a good chunk will go to trash bin. I still have some cool snaps of that cute snake but will try to do a full reptile post and feature them there. 😉 Thanks for the visit and cheers! !BEER

So you have been to both of those two parks? Niceee! :) Cannot wait to check out those posts ;)

I did! But it felt short; only a day in each park. I could easily spend 2-3 full days at Plitvice alone! Who knows in a near future... ;)

Ive been to the Plitvice once and that was already super beautiful. I remember going at sunset because then it wouldnt be too crowded as het and that was a wise decision turned out.

Did you find this one crowded as well? i see some people, but in Plitvice it was walking over heads and here this sounds more reasonable.

This one felt too crowded for my liking. There was probably more people in Plitvice, but the way bigger size probably made it feel like less. I think choosing the right times and avoiding the peak tourism months is the way to go; I had a friend visit only two weeks earlier and she caught way bigger crowds than I did, judjing by her experience.

I've been meaning to go to Croatia and may actually get there in a couple of weeks (or next year if not), just doing a bit of research. Let me know if you know of good places to stay etc. I'm not bothered about where in particular but it will include Split I expect. Anyway, good stuff, cheers!

Dubrovnik and Split are definitely cities to visit. I liked Dubrovnik more than Split, but Split is probably better located to roam around. Hit me up on discord or telegram if you go and I'll try and help out. In either case, there's plenty of lodging options available; just stay near or in both citie's old town, that's where all the fun is!

That's great, thanks!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator hafizullah & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Make sure to always post / cross-post your creations within the DIYHub community on HIVE so we never miss your content. We also have a discord server where you can connect with us and other DIYers. If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/gardening/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks a ton for the support, guys!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Croatia is very beautiful, a few years ago I visited Plitvice Park (honestly this place is spectacular) and I heard about Krka (which is also spectacular) but I haven't had the chance to visit it yet.
The photos you attached here are amazing,.

I visited Plitvice too! And although Krka is beautiful, it stays miles away from Plitvice; the beauty there is on a whole new level. I still have to sort through the photos, but will share my trip there for sure. Thanks for the visit! !PIZZA

I can't wait to see your post with the amazing Plitvice Lakes, thank you for your comment left here.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Croatia seems like a mystical place. A good location for medieval fantasy movies to be filmed.

There are tons of locations where Game of Thrones was filmed, Split and Dubrovnik are full of "Game of Thrones Tours"! :)

Nice! Wished I got the money to go there. 😊

You can make it in a low cost mode, especially if you avoid peak months!

The content you have shared is too good, the photos are spectacular, it is very educational. i loved it💚

Thanks for stopping by!

My wife and I had a river cruise down the Danube which just touched Croatia. We would like to go back again and spend more time than we were able. Thanks for sharing your pictures, they've made me want to return again. I didn't realise quite how beautiful it is

Croatia does deserve a visit, these pictures don't do due justice. Thanks for the visit!

Awesome photos! Great pastime!

Thank you! Croatia is indeed a place to put on anyone's travel list!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks for the support!

beautiful photos, I love the waterfalls!

Thank you! They were truly stunning.

Great shots, nice environment.

Thank you!

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

Thanks for the support guys!

You're welcome

The waterfalls are crazily stunning! 😍

They sure are! Photos don't do them justice; the ones in Plitvice are even more stunning, but still ahve to sort those photos out. Thanks for the visit! !LUV

Wow, you too amazing photos.

Thank you!

Absolutely stunning. It's like in a movie ,where fairies are dwelling.😃😍

Ahahahha true, it was the only thing missing! Or maybe they were there, but hidden! ;) !PIZZA

Lovely place!


Regards
Kamil @kowalscy-team

IMG20220808133123.jpg

Thanks for the visit!

So beautiful!

Thanks!

It's a really beautiful and entertaining tour everyone would like to make tour just like that place. I love to read your post and pictures are also very awesome.

It's worth the visit for sure. Thanks for stopping by!

 last year (edited) Reveal Comment

I really appreciate it.