I bet you didn't know | Sumilon Island, Cebu (Part 2)

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hive_Camotes_Covers (4).png


What's up Hive? My apologies for keeping everyone on standby for the next part of my Sumilon Island Trip. I've had a challenging start to the week but nonetheless, here's the 2nd part of my Sumilon Island trip. So you could closely follow everything about this trip, feel free to click here for Part 1, in case you missed it! 😁

What else are we waiting for? Let's further explore Sumilon Island. 😎


Private Island Feels?

Again, Sumilon is a 24-hectare island about 5km off the southeastern coast of Oslob, Cebu. The entire Sumilon Island is privately run by Bluewater Group. Hence, there's no other way to reach the island but through Bluewater. That's what I know but when we went there, I saw a boat docking at the sandbar at the other end of the island. I wasn't able to ask for details on this tho. But back in the day, this was Sumilon's selling point: it's the idea that you get to stay on an island in the middle of the bluest ocean with only a few people.

Well at this point, let me tell you, it's a hoax. At least based on my recent experience. After they recovered from the devastation from Supertyphoon Odette, Sumilon Island offered a day tour half its regular price both on weekdays and weekends. People took advantage of the promo. Where in the world could you find a day tour worth $11.5 which includes boat transfers, lunch buffet (yup, the food's unlimited!), and access to the entire island (except near the private rooms). With access to the entire island, you can use the water sports activities near the lagoon, the infinity pools, and of course, the icing on the cake, access to Sumilon Sandbar! Not to mention the idyllic sceneries when you trek the perimeter of the island.

NOTE: The sandbar is close every Wednesday. You might want to consider this.

IMG_20220224_095536.jpg

IMG_20220224_095553.jpg

IMG_20220224_095600.jpg

When we arrived on the island, we didn't waste our precious time as based on the email confirming our trip we only have 8 AM - 3 PM. It was already 10 AM when we arrived. Even with the signages, I personally felt lost. I wasn't expected the island to be this big. I was expecting to see the sandbar and that's it.

IMG_20220224_095646.jpg

IMG_20220224_095726.jpg

IMG_20220224_111015.jpg

IMG_20220224_111055.jpg

We followed the wooden signages and found ourselves near the Pulo Restaurant. Beside the Pulo Restaurant is a kiddy pool and tables and chairs occupied by friends and family.


The Lagoon

I bet you didn't know but there's more to Sumilon Island than what newspapers & magazines feature, and even posts from people on social media highlight. Prior to visiting the island, I didn't know what to expect but for one, I knew there's a sandbar that appears and disappears depending on the tide. But other than that, I was clueless. Now that's what I'll bring to the table today, the parts of Sumilon that don't get to have the limelight very often.

Starting with the lagoon. Beside the kiddy pool, we've spotted a small lagoon stretched from the poolside until almost halfway to the other side of the island. There were kayaks and a pedal boat that guests could use for free but because there were only a few, one had to wait . We didn't try this activity.

IMG_20220224_105418.jpg

IMG_20220224_101752.jpg

IMG_20220224_102232.jpg

IMG_20220224_101854.jpg

IMG_20220224_101923.jpg

IMG_20220224_101933.jpg

IMG_20220224_102312.jpg

IMG_20220224_105401.jpg

The lagoon's covered with mangroves on both sides. One side's facing the ocean and the other's bouldered with tall limestone walls. That nipa hut a few meters from where I took these photos is where they perform their massage services! Reconnecting with nature couldn't get any better here! 💚

IMG_20220224_101953.jpg

IMG_20220224_102037.jpg

IMG_20220224_102043.jpg


A quick dip

I didn't stay long at the lagoon. The beachfront's less than 30 meters away from the lagoon. In fact, you can just see it from the lagoon. The island's too huge and if I want to explore more, I better go but the waves called me, and who am I not to respond, right? I've been craving for that day. One day I could just sit somewhere facing the ocean. There's this beach swing, ahhh what a perfect spot! It's exactly what I imagined. I told my boyfriend that he can continue exploring the island while I decided I'm dipping right there and then. No one's swimming on the side where I swam. Again, just how I like it!

IMG_20220224_110455.jpg

IMG_20220224_110432.jpg

There were open huts installed near the shore too. If only we checked-in, I'd surely spend an afternoon sleeping here or read a romantic fiction book while my love caress my hair. Ahhh, now, I'm daydreaming! ❤️

IMG_20220224_110401.jpg

IMG_20220224_110406.jpg

IMG_20220224_110353.jpg

The waves were huge and the sound of them crashing on the shore one after the other was so satisfying to the soul. It's like when they leave, my worries left with them. I just sat there looking at the horizon and even without my glasses, I knew it was breathtaking. And now looking at the photos I took, indeed it was.

IMG_20220224_105005.jpg

IMG_20220224_105022.jpg

IMG_20220224_110155.jpg

IMG_20220224_110150.jpg

IMG_20220224_105025.jpg

IMG_20220224_110126.jpg

I played with the waves as if they're real people. Have you done that? That's one of my favorite things to do when I go to the beach. I always run towards the waves, open my arms as wide as I can and welcome the waves like they're old friends returning. Doing this makes me excited beyond words and genuinely happy. I can do it all day as long as I don't drown! 😂


A dead end

I told you earlier that exploring the entire island takes time. When I realized this, I already consumed almost an hour taking photos and swimming. I got up and moved farther away from the crowd. And look what I found...

IMG_20220224_104813.jpg

IMG_20220224_104959.jpg

IMG_20220224_104701.jpg

IMG_20220224_104745.jpg

IMG_20220224_105623.jpg

IMG_20220224_110040.jpg

Finding this crowdless spot in the island is like finding your little secret spot in the middle of the city. It came unexpectedly, but I gladly welcomed my new found spot. I guess those who explore more, experience more. Glad this one's a good experience tho. Wil tell you an almost frustrating but funny one in a separate post, still part of this Sumilon Island trip.

There were a couple of sunloungers but there was no guest other than me. So I didn't have difficulty taking a lot of photos! No photobombers! If you want to relax and be away from the rest of the guests, you can stay here and have the peace you deserve.

IMG_20220224_105750.jpg

IMG_20220224_105813.jpg

IMG_20220224_105847.jpg

IMG_20220224_105921.jpg

I tried to explore further but the next wooden gate had a No Entry sign. I immediately went back to our tent near the Pulo Restaurant.

IMG_20220224_105956.jpg


Lunch time! Buffet time!

I headed back near the restaurant to look for my boyfriend but he wasn't there. I continued exploring; this time I explored the Sumilon Sandbar. But we won't talk about that until next post. Saw him in the sandbar, after exploring a few minutes we headed back to Pulo Restaurant for our lunch. The lunch buffet was served near the kiddy pool and our tent's located right in front of the beach! Perfection at its finest indeed! 😍

IMG_20220224_110735.jpg

IMG_20220224_110630.jpg

IMG_20220224_110653.jpg

It was a long weekend for all of us. I heard that my teams @thegoodbi and @lakwatserangthik will be heading to Oslob, too. But was surprised to see them in Sumilon; they mentioned it was a last minute decision. They're all dressed in black and white, but mostly white. GMy boyfriend took a photo of us and Jessa from @thegoodbi insisted to take a photo of me and GB in return!

They explored the rest of Sumilon and we continued eating our lunch. We met again later that day!

IMG_20220224_121445.jpg

IMG_20220224_121524.jpg

IMG_20220224_121518.jpg


For reservations or queries about the island, you may contact the following emails:

[email protected]
[email protected]

I have a very high standard when it comes to customer service and their social media responded slowly. I tried calling but no one would pick up so I emailed them and it was fast as lightning!


Ooooops! Sorry, I had to stop here! But promise we'll explore more of Sumilon Island in my next posts! I couldn't wait to show you the sandbar and the infinity pooool! They're priceless.

Thank you for reading until the very end! Have a blast today! ❤️


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

Such a beautiful island… and sometimes things can be so different than you thought. Good you explored a little bit in the short time you had.
We tend to go away from the crowds and explore, until we find empty places, just for us.
Beautiful photographs @patsitivity 😁

Hey @littlebee4! I'm the type who goes beyond what's familiar and obvious. Glad you dropped by. I hope you're doing great! 😁

Hi @patsitivity 👋🏻
Me too, going off the beaten path is just exciting 🤩 and a must for any traveling we do.
Almost weekend so all fine. Weeks are busy. Hope you have a wonderful Friday too 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I didn’t know there’s more to Sumilon than just the sandbar. Didn’t even know about it disappearing 😅
Glad there’s an area for peaceful and relaxing vibes, away from the crowd.

Yeees, there are. The island is too huge we were able to trek the whole island. Will share more about it soon. 😁

Your post is so lovely with your reviews. Thank you for your sharing.

Thank you for the compliment @thaocherry ☺️

wow it's such a beautiful scene😍😍

It is @celeste413! It's my first time on the island and when I got here I wanted to go back already. 😁

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1560.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much, Kim! :D

Hey.you so cute on this photo

wow what an amazing view

Yes, amazing view indeed! Thank you! ☺️

Yes, I hope I can get to your place