It took me five minutes this time! | Buho Rock Formation, Camotes Island

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hive_Camotes_Covers (9).png


We're taking a break from the cave explorations today. I don't know if it's a good or bad thing for you but I just want to offer variety and not bore you. But just in case you missed any of those spelunking adventures, here's a clickable summary for you. First off, we started with Heaven Cave, folllowed by Amazing Island Cave, then Paraiso Cave and the most recent one, Timubo Cave. There's one more cave in Camotes that we went to but I'm not giving a virtual tour of it today. Let's go there some other time! 😉

So where are we headed? Read on to find out! 😁
IMG_20211108_103200.jpg


This island is insanely huge!

image.png

Source

It was our last day in Camotes. After our quick and dry tour in Bukilat Cave (which we will explore some other time), we immediately drove towards our last stop in Camotes, Buho Rock Resort. The drive was long but you'd never hear me complain; I love road trips, long and winding road trips. We came from San Francisco which is on the other side of the Camotes. Our route that day was Bukilat then Buho Rock Resort. Bukilat is in another town called Tudela about 33 kilometers from where we're staying.

We reached our last destination, Buho Rock Resort located in Poro, Camotes, a little earlier for lunch. The good thing about this trip is that I've never researched a thing, hence there's no high expectation whatsoever.

IMG_20211108_104813.jpg

As the signage below shows, there's plenty of things to see in Buho Rock Resort. What I came for tho is to witness Buho Rock Formation.

IMG_20211108_104957.jpg

But just like concerts, we're not going to the main event right away. Let's tour other parts of the resort first. Once you enter the resort's entrance, you'll see a huge open space on your right. This is where the training center, guest rooms, and events (such as birthday celebrations, wedding reception, etc.) take place.

IMG_20211108_110549.jpg

IMG_20211108_110628.jpg

IMG_20211108_110600.jpg

IMG_20211108_110631.jpg

Shifting our attention from the right to the left part of the resort, an orderly garden welcomed us. My favorite part was this block full of green water lilies. After the long ride, staring at the lilies was a great way to relax my eyes! 😍

IMG_20211108_110035.jpg

IMG_20211108_105006.jpg

IMG_20211108_110018.jpg

IMG_20211108_110004.jpg

As I mentioned earlier, I came for the famous Buho Rock Formation that could only be accessed through this resort. To reach it, we had to go down a few paved steps. We went quickly but halfway towards where the rock formations could be seen, we decided not to move forward and just go back and have our lunch first so we'll have an uninterrupted tour once our stomachs are full!

IMG_20211108_105121.jpg

I'm the happiest to find out that there's a food cart serving affordable but tasty food inside the resort! While we were waiting for lunch to be served, of course, I didn't just sit around and wait; I explored the place further. It's not my boyfriend's first time here; he's been here with his friends and workmates before. In my case, it's my first time in Camotes and so far, it never failed to surprise and carve a smile on my lips everywhere we went.

Beside the open space I've mentioned earlier is this I love Buho Rock signage in the colors of summer. It's located right on top of the edge of the cliff where the entire resort has been erected.

IMG_20211108_110226.jpg

IMG_20211108_110229.jpg

IMG_20211108_110201.jpg

This is the view at the back of the I love Buho Rock signage. It is overlooking the other side of Camotes specifically Pacijan Island where San Francisco is located.

IMG_20211108_110327.jpg

IMG_20211108_110309.jpg

I moved along the edge of the cliff trying to check what the Buho Rock Formation looks like from above. There were plenty of trees surrounding the cliff's edge with cemented barricades so you'll never have to worry about falling down. Unless you're careless, you'll be just fine!

I stopped when I finally had this clearing and had a glimpse of the rock formation from where I was standing. And man, I was speechless! The rock formation might have not appeared to be authentic anymore as the resort managed to build concrete cottages on top of the rock formation, but they did a great job in preserving the rock formation's shape. We'll go down there later after lunch!

IMG_20211108_110345.jpg

IMG_20211108_110456.jpg

IMG_20211108_110506.jpg

IMG_20211108_110450.jpg


Ready for it?

The plan was to catch the last trip back to Cebu that day so we don't have much time in Buho Rock Resort actually. 😔 After what felt like forever waiting for lunch to be over, we headed down. We didn't have any difficulty accessing the rock formations. They cemented the path and managed to build a small bridge connecting the largest cliff to the smaller rock formations including the one nearest to the ocean.

IMG_20211108_114044.jpg

IMG_20211108_114047.jpg

IMG_20211108_114033.jpg

IMG_20211108_114057.jpg

I couldn't imagine how huge the entire place is until we reach the other side. Leaving these photos I took for you to figure out how truly magnificent this place is. Look at those rocks and rock formations! 😍

IMG_20211108_114214.jpg

IMG_20211108_114239.jpg

IMG_20211108_114236.jpg

IMG_20211108_114936.jpg

IMG_20211108_115102.jpg

Then we reached the dead end. This is the biggest among the rock formations (aside from the huge cliff) and the open cottages have been built on top of it. I've noticed that they were able to optimize the area of the rock formation without doing any major modifications. And for any natural wonder, that's an indication of preservation!

IMG_20211108_114640.jpg

IMG_20211108_114701.jpg

IMG_20211108_114707.jpg

That's when things became clear, too! I've heard stories from my boyfriend who's been here a couple of times. He painted a few pictures in my head through his stories but of course, it was still different to be there in person.

There were about five (5) cottages and they're all free of charge. But it's on a first come, first serve basis. Five's too few during peak season, I suppose. So if you wanted to relax and make sure you're protected from the heat of the sun, it's best to visit early or in the afternoon when the sun ain't too harsh. This part of the resort is very open and it can get too hot and without a shade (cottage), you'll surely get sunburns.

IMG_20211108_114901.jpg


Time to jump

I'm an adrenaline junkie but cliff jumping has never been my thing. I love falling and the feeling of dying for two seconds or so could be inviting, but I hate the part when I reach the end of the diving board/platform, take a look at the water below me and realize it's just too high for me to jump. It was in Virgin Island, Bantayan when I jumped my best record; I jumped in the highest diving point there but it took me a heartbreak and more than twenty minutes before I finally landed in the water. 😂

In Buho tho, I didn't have twenty minutes. So when my boyfriend jumped, I immediately went onto the diving board and looked at the water. The water was crystal clear and the point where I was trying to jump was not too high to be honest, but it took me a few minutes before I finally jumped. I did jump tho! It's something you shouldn't miss when you're in Buho Rock Resort.

IMG_20211108_114747.jpg

IMG_20211108_114759.jpg

IMG_20211108_114741.jpg


Wait, there's more!

There's a higher jumping point. And no, I had no plans of jumping from there but I had to check it out of course. I was glad I wandered more, if not I would've have seen another side of Buho Rock Formation. Here are a couple of photos I took on my way to the highest jumping platform.

IMG_20211108_115026.jpg

IMG_20211108_114949.jpg

IMG_20211108_115006.jpg

IMG_20211108_115049.jpg

IMG_20211108_115150.jpg

Upon arrival, I've seen kids chilling there. These are the kind of kids who could jump whenever they want without any fear of drowning or breaking a bone! I wish to have the same fearless spirit . But I told myself "Not now, Patty!" 🤣

IMG_20211108_115259.jpg

IMG_20211108_115157.jpg

Look at that view!😍 I had to savor it for the last time before I head back to where my boyfriend was chilling! It's not like I could see this view every day so I had to take it all in, the fresh and warm sea breeze, the undeniably inviting blue ocean and everything about that moment at the highest point of the rock formation! It's just perfect!

IMG_20211108_115235.jpg

IMG_20211108_115243.jpg


Sadly, we had to go back to our hotel, pack our bags and go to the port before we miss the last trip back to Cebu City. I'll leave this photo right here to remind me of how amazing this trip to Buho had been! Until next time, Buho Rock! 😍

IMG_20211108_115318.jpg


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

Wow Patricia, you do go to some amazing places. I can't get over the gorgeous colour of the water!

I'm so glad that you got up the courage to jump in. I don't know if I could do it, I get terrible vertigo so would probably fall more than jump lol.

Absolutely amazed at this stunning place. I'm sorry you didn't have enough time there, but it just means you'll have to go back for more some day 😁

I'm so glad that you got up the courage to jump in. I don't know if I could do it, I get terrible vertigo so would probably fall more than jump lol.

Hey Emma! Great day to you! 😊 I don't know how vertigo feels like but I'm sure it could be challenging to experience that. Does it occur often or when you do certain activities only?

I'd probably skip jumping if not for my boyfriend who kept motivating me and showing me that it's safe. He jumped first and waited for me in the water to assist jump in case I got it wrong.

I'm happy I could show you bits and pieces of the beauty of my country. It truly deserves to be shared and seen.

Hi Patricia

Thanks for your reply. Vertigo is weird. It's mostly at heights or if you are somewhere where there are optical illusions. It makes you dizzy and your tummy feels all weird. Sometimes it can affect your balance as well. Not pleasant but it's one of those weird things.

I think jumping off a spot like that must be so exhilarating. I would love to do it, but I really think I'd chicken out right before the jump.

Thank you for sharing these gorgeous places, I'm falling in love with them for sure!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Gosh! Those rock formations are truly a beauty and a feast in my eyes. The water is so clean and clear. Wait, how high the diving cliff there? I thought you will not jump, but I'm glad you did. It was amazing experience though, right ate? I would definitely jump too even if I'm afraid to do so.

The one where I jumped from is not more than five meters @dennnmarc. It's pretty safe as long as you land feet first in the water. You should do it if you have the chance. 😁

Ang ganda naman jan maam😍
Yung tubig napakalinaw.
Wish I can visit that island soon🤗

Super sarap magtambay dito @mitch18. Fresh air and clean water! The best! 👌😁

The view is breathtaking and the water is sooo inviting! How I wish it's near my area, would definitely visit this someday.

If ever you're in Cebu please add to your list. There are a lot of places to visit here in Camotes. 😊

You guys are having a dream tour 😍 beautiful place

We're blessed to have easy access to beautiful islands in my country. 😁


~~~ embed:1564134774129790980 twitter metadata:ZGhhZml6MzR8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vZGhhZml6MzQvc3RhdHVzLzE1NjQxMzQ3NzQxMjk3OTA5ODB8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @madushanka, @hafiz34 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

SubHanAllah. That's an awesome place to visit. Thanks for the photographic tour. It is tempting to go and explore the beauty physically. But, now I need to be contented with the images and descriptions from your post.

!ALIVE

I hope you can visit my country some day @hafiz34. Thank you for dropping by! ☺️

In Sha Allah!

!PIZZA

Still on my bucket list gihapon ning Camotes nako ba, hopefully makaanhi ko before this year ends hehehe

Lance! Wala pa diay ka nakaari? Omoooo ari na dayon! 😁

Mo anhi dyod ko miss, college days pako nag plan mo anhi. Thank you for sharing your trip miss, naremind ko sa akong mga plano to go there hehehe

Rent lang mo og motor or tricycle para masulit gyud ang laag!

ugghhh, lamia balik balik ug ambak dha ui. tin.aw kaau ang water!

Hahaha @asasiklause one word is enough for a wise man ra gyud ko dieing dapita hahaha bitaw, kausa ra ko ni ambak. Ganahan ra ko maka try haha

hahahhaha, sunod dghana! pra lingaw

Wow amazing place my friend😍

Yes, just one of the many beautiful places to visit in my Province. Glad you like it! 😊

I always envy your travel blogs kabayan, you always visit beautiful places.

Kabayan @afterglow, uubusin ko mga places sa Pinas hehe Kung sa addiction, eh addict ako sa travel hehe

Ay sige, that is nice to hear, kasi kahit papano nakikita ko sa posts mo ang mga magagandang lugar sa Pilipinas na hindi ko kayang puntahan.

My goodness, what an insane looking place! It all looks like something out of a fairytale or even maybe a fantasy movie! I would just LUVVV to go there! Rock formations are the most incredible things. I once visited a place where the rock formations were like great giants and they had the weirdest holes in all of them! I said to my friend that they almost looked like they had been under the sea and then we went to ask and yes.... that was the truth! so apparently, the whole place that we were at was all under the ocean a very long time ago which was exactly why the rocks looked like they did. really amazing!

I said to my friend that they almost looked like they had been under the sea

I felt exactly the same every time I see rock formations. They all look like they've been beneath the water for thousands of years and slowly surfaced. It's amazing what Mother Nature could offer us. All the more we have to take care of her.

Wow amazing views thanks for sharing

You are welcome and thanks for dropping by! 😁

Just as I thought that God is an artist, you just proved it. It's so beautiful there. I wish someday I could go and visit. For sure, I'll make most of my time taking pictures.

For sure, I'll make most of my time taking pictures.

Do jump in the water when you come here, too! Hehe 😁

Is it cold there? I'm scared of cold water actually

Wow, what a spectacular colour the water is, reminds me of the sea water seen somewhere around the Greek islands, but this beats them all.

I've recently seen the post of @olga.maslievich about Chios and it's equally beautiful there @triplug. Thank you for dropping by!

I see that you are enjoying your travel.
You are so blessed to have visited this beautiful place

Indeed a wonderful experience @sorenkierkegaard! Thanks for dropping by! 😁