Lost in Paradise | Sumilon Island, Cebu (Part 4)

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hive_Camotes_Covers (6).png


I know, I know! You might be wondering if I got the right title for this post or if I'm just trying to bait you into reading until the very end but unfortunately, I am certain that we got lost on the paradise island of Sumilon just when we were about to head home.

This might be a bit long, but come on! Aren't you interested to know more? If you are, we better get started!


Isn't this too risky?

After having fun at Sumilon's Sandbar for the very last time, we were eager to head back in Pulo Restaurant as we only have roughly 15 minutes before the last boat back to Oslob proper will leave the island. Last time, I mentioned that it would only take 5-8 minutes of walking from the sandbar to the front desk, but this time, we took a different route.

In Part 2, while I've explored and discovered more spots near the Pulo Restaurant, my boyfriend roamed around the Trek Trail of the island. Consequently, I've missed it! This time, I suggested that we try the Trek Trail as I want to exclaim that I've explored the entire island from end to end. I can remember he told me that it's just a short trail so went for it!

IMG_20220224_152120.jpg

IMG_20220224_152208.jpg

IMG_20220224_152310.jpg

IMG_20220224_152121.jpg

We made our way through what appeared like a baby forest. There were trees but they aren't big enough to cover the entire surrounding so no amount of light could strike through. Hence, it was relatively bright; no reasons to be scared at all. Shrubs and grass were all over the place, too.

A few meters right after, I noticed the trail started to be rocky, and not just any rocky trail, it was razor-sharp rocks that we stepped on. It was no biggie if only I wore the right footwear for the occasion but I wore my thick rubber slippers and because I was dripping wet, it was so slippery. I had difficulty moving without having to worry that I might cut my feet anytime. My footwear took time to dry; sadly, this was partly the reason why my pace slowed down.

IMG_20220224_152427.jpg

IMG_20220224_152514.jpg

Nonetheless, we continued walking until we saw how perfectly peaceful the other side of the island is. It was quiet and at ease. There were no other tourists, just the two of us. And the scenery, we had it all to ourselves. 😍

IMG_20220224_152708.jpg

IMG_20220224_152749.jpg

IMG_20220224_152702.jpg

IMG_20220224_152926.jpg

I was definitely enjoying our little tour when I realized that we don't have the luxury of time. We're down to 10 minutes before the departure of the boat and we're still on the trail; never thought the trail's this long. I kept asking my boyfriend if we were still on the right track and he said there was only one we just have to keep walking. The fact that we were the only tourists left on this part of the island made me a bit worried. "What if we'll never figure this out?"

IMG_20220224_152946.jpg

IMG_20220224_153018.jpg

IMG_20220224_153020.jpg

IMG_20220224_153058.jpg

IMG_20220224_153220.jpg

IMG_20220224_153139.jpg

IMG_20220224_153222.jpg

You might be wondering how come I was still able to take not just a few but a lot of shots of the place. Well, let's just say that I'm like a professional paparazzi. But paparazzi of nature tho haha 😅 Now before we proceed, can we all just appreciate the beautiful back portion of the island of Sumilon. And mind you, this doesn't get to be featured most of the time. If you ever come to Sumilon, make sure to explore the Trek Trail and allocate ample time, so you don't have to rush just like us.

If you plan on swimming here, it's advisable that you bring a company or two. Better safe than sorry! Because if you need help, it might take a lot of screaming before your voice could reach the other end of the island to ask for help. I'm sure you don't want that to happen. So yeah, the buddy system comes in handy. 👌

IMG_20220224_153450.jpg

IMG_20220224_153242.jpg

IMG_20220224_153443.jpg

IMG_20220224_153158.jpg

IMG_20220224_153510.jpg

IMG_20220224_153350.jpg

IMG_20220224_153259.jpg

IMG_20220224_153438.jpg

Then at some point, the rocky trail ended and we found ourselves entering the forested area of the island once again. "This is it! We're heading home" or so I thought! 😔

IMG_20220224_153515.jpg

IMG_20220224_153543.jpg

IMG_20220224_153733.jpg


Forest Finds

A few minutes after entering the forest, we passed by a lighthouse. It was shocked to see one tbh. From anywhere else in the island, the lighthouse wasn't visible. Well, it ain't too tall to start with. We didn't spend a single minute here; we were obviously rushing, trying to find our way back to the front desk.

I was starting to panic when we arrived at a crossroad. Which one will take us directly to the front desk? My boyfriend went here before lunch so I left the decision-making to him. Without a doubt, we took one of the trails. And you know what happened next? Keep reading, keep reading! This is when things got more exciting!

IMG_20220224_153906.jpg

IMG_20220224_153915.jpg

IMG_20220224_153936.jpg

IMG_20220224_153939.jpg

IMG_20220224_154012.jpg

IMG_20220224_153939.jpg


Wait, are we lost?

That is the question that hit both of us when, all of a sudden, it seemed like we're nowhere near Pulo Restaurant or the front desk. I was particularly worried of the time; we only had about five minutes and if we couldn't make it back in time, we'll be sleeping next to the trees or the lighthouse! 😌

I'm not worried that we'll spend the night in the island. I know there is a place for us. But not in one of their rooms, they're fully booked that day and we don't have enough cash on hand!

By virtue of no choice, we continued walking. We were still seeing trail signs so I guess, we're still in the trail where guests are allowed. Yup, there were trail flags of different colors, the thing is we don't even know what those colors mean! How are we supposed to figure them out now! 😩

Few more meters and we realized, we were still at the other end of the island. I was already exhausted and hope started to leave my body. We couldn't even see the restaurant or the front desk from this side. But when a spectacular and one-of-a-kind view of the island unfolded right before our eyes. I told myself: Maybe we're meant to be lost today.

IMG_20220224_154252.jpg

IMG_20220224_154727.jpg

IMG_20220224_154711.jpg

IMG_20220224_154614.jpg

Apparently, we ended up on the same side I explored that morning but this time, we were on top of the limestone wall that stood next to the lagoon. I never thought they opened a trail and allowed guests to wander here. Because, I tell you, this was the best part of the island by far. It wasn't the lagoon; it wasn't the sandbar. It was this part of the island that captured my heart while I was worrying if the boat was still there waiting for us. It's a bit weird to be meeting like this for the first time. But some things remain mysterious, including this one.

Noew here are the rest of the photos I took on the last leg of our trekking.

IMG_20220224_154655.jpg

IMG_20220224_154706.jpg

IMG_20220224_154913.jpg

IMG_20220224_154840.jpg

IMG_20220224_154834.jpg

IMG_20220224_154701.jpg

Then after all that we've been through, we finally reached our destination.

IMG_20220224_155103.jpg

IMG_20220224_155141.jpg


That was one of the most thrilling days of my life! Curious if we were able to catch the last boat trip? I'm having fun extending the suspense, let's extend it some more! Better stay tuned for my next post. Happy weekend pal! 😊


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

I've seen so many great spots in Cebu shared over here on the blockchain that it slowly made it on top of my bucket list!

I love how nature stays wild and keeps its beauty!

There is no better word for all this other than "Paradise"! ❤️

Me too! Need to visit there! On my list!
Paradise indeed 💞

Hey @gabrielatravels! Ohmyyy! I hope you can visit my home one day. And if you do, I'd be glad to show you around. Just let me know! 😁

If you eat pork, roasted pig's on me! hehe

image.png

Nice gyud kaayo ni, wala pa gyud ko ka ari, puhon puhon

Mao ba @intoy.bugoy? Nindot didto, wala ko ka check recently if nag promo sila balik. Pag promo nila mi ari dayon mi, as in sa food pa lang kay bawi na kaayu ang 600 hehe

Grabe, ka sulit man oyy, chooy bitaw diha, nasuya kug samot sa imong blog hahaha

Mao njud ni ang sign @intoy.bugoy,ehem dalha sad imong lablab nya. Hehehe

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, it is indeed a paradise. I would love to swim in it.

Tara @afterglow! When you come to Cebu, add this island to your itinerary. It'll never fall short of your expectations. 🏝️☺️

Lalo tuloy ako na-excite, hehe.

What an adventure!
Sometimes being lost will take you to wonders!
And it's evident in this post 😄

I miss the seas of Cebu... It's really very beautiful!

Yes, I am a fan of being lost and discovering things along the way! I sometimes wander without direction hehe

Hahaha! Same! That’s the best way to see beautiful places!

This makes me want to revisit Sumilon Island, Miss Pat! The last time I was there, didto ra gyud sa Sandbar. Now I know, there's another adventure to try on the island. Thank you for giving me the idea 😅

@wholesamdiaries daghan pajud pwede mabuhat didto aside sa sandbar. I hope maka balik ka. ☺️

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1569.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That water color is amazing 😍🤩

Great post! Tks for sharing

It looked better in person @vaipraonde 😁

I imagine that! Hard to capture real colors. Always better live! 😊 But great picture

Aweee, thanks @vaipraonde! Have a great weekend! ☺️

You too!!!

😊🙏

wow what a lovely post @patsitivity what a lovely post. All the photographs are just amazing. Everything looks so fantastic. Thanks for sharing. I also live to travel and Explore. Do visit when you’re free.🙏

Hi @pranavinaction! Appreciate the compliment. :)

I also live to travel and Explore.

Same here, same here! But I stopped when the pandemic happened. Right now, I'm still regaining my health and will back on the road real soon!

Hope you get well really soon🍀. Good wishing from Himalayas 🗻⛰.

Wow!!! Beautiful nature

Thank you @chanmaly! It's indeed beautiful there.

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022

I can see that you love to travel, that you like to discover landscapes and trails of your beautiful country. I invite you to visit one day a place in Venezuela called "La Gran Sabana" is the oldest place on earth, where you will find the highest waterfall in the world, with indigenous population, with extraordinary landscapes and tepuis (huge mountain formations) that will fascinate you. If you have the opportunity, don't miss it. It is a unique experience!