My Solo Plight to Mt. Pulag (PART 1): No Plan, No Problem

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Hive Pulag1.png


I am a hardcore travel planner eversince.

My workmates would often joke that traveling with me feels like booking with a Travel Agency because I got everything covered from transportation, accommodation, itinerary, and, most importantly, budgeting. I won't leave a single stone unturned.

Traveling without a booked hotel/hostel, without knowing what I'll do from Day 1 until Day 10 and so on, without knowing if my prepared savings will be enough to cover all expenses, feels like a death sentence for me. I even list down all my expenses and have a Budget vs Actual Expenses file at the end of all my travels. I hate contemplating "Where did my budget go wrong?" without data to look at. That's why my workmates and friends love me because when they ask about itineraries, I used to give them an entire spreadsheet complete with details.

A lot of people wouldn't get it but planning makes me extremely happy. Maybe I'll just write a separate blog about how I plan for my travel. Wait, that idea just came out haha! Interesting, what one can think while writing. 😂


Spontaneity Challenge Accepted

In my prelude post for my Mt. Pulag escapade, I shared that this trip was born out of the need to create new memories in order to forget the old, undesirable ones.

One day, this guy from the past told me that my life's overly planned, hence, boring. He emphasized that everything was so predictable, that I'm missing out on the fun in spontaneity. When he left me, his words made me think that maybe I'm indeed missing out something, that maybe he left me because I'm too good at the things I do. I was fool to believe in him. I longer do to date.

But back then, his absence convinced me to try things I've never done before. I may have regretted believing him that I should change just to belong, but I never regretted taking this trip. And you'll figure out why in this post and in the next blogs; you'll experience how beautiful this journey to Mt. Pulag was.


Climb Confirmed!

image.png

image.png

There you go! I was desperate to move on. Too desperate that I booked a tour for Mt. Pulag, booked a one-way flight from Cebu to Manila without even thinking where I'll go after Pulag, if I could afford the trip, or if I could survive the climb itself (It was 6 months after my appendectomy, I had a spine injury, and I ran 21km exactly a week before my climb). Talk about the level of energy I got from a "breakup"! Hilarous, right? 😂

I got my Mt. Pulag via Ambangeg tour at Trail Adventours. Based on my research, it's one of the most pricey packages in the market. But since I am climbing solo, I have to get my tour from a reliable agency and Trail Adventours has always been trustworthy (and I wasn't wrong about this).


Wandering in Manila

It was my first time to go Manila for a personal trip. Unlike the previous work-related trips when I'd mostly rely on Grab and Uber for my transportation, this time I was on a strict budget and I couldn't mess up. I can remember a proud moment when I first rode a bus from SM Mall of Asia (MOA) to the Victory Liner Bus Terminal for our meet-up that night of February 22, 2019. I only paid Ph 14 for this ride.

IMG20190222211356.jpg

IMG20190222211103.jpg

I arrived earlier than the organizer so I had some free time to relax since Manila makes me tremendously nervous. Did you know that although I've been traveling around the Philippines for work,there's something about Manila that terrifies me to the bone. Maybe it's the way it's portrayed on National Television as the scary big Metro.

I waited for everyone else to arrive. Then at around 11 PM, we rode on the bus that will take us to Baguio City. We spent the night sleeping on the bus.

IMG20190222215007.jpg

IMG20190223025022.jpg


A Jeepney Ride to Bokod, Benguet

It was a cold Saturday (February 23) dawn (roughly around 5 AM) when we arrived in Victory Liner Terminal in Baguio City. It was my 2nd time in Bagiuo. A monster jeepney awaited for us. It will take us from Baguio City to Bokod where we will be sleeping for the night before we start the climb past midnight of Sunday, February 24.

At this point, all these people in my photos were strangers. We were just told that we booked the same climb date. To my knowledge, I was the only one who came alone; everyone had their companions - friends,lovers, and a father.

IMG20190223050047.jpg

IMG20190223061450.jpg


A Quick Pull-over for Breakfast

DSC_0109.JPG

DSC_0120.JPG

We were in the middle of nowhere going up and down the hillside for roughly 2 hours and 30 minutes. Then at around 7:30 AM, our jeepney pulled over and our Chi, our guide, told us we'll have breakfast first. The guides knew exactly where to bring us to get affordable meals.

But this small eatery by the roadside offered more than the amazingly delicious homecooked dishes we ate. When we explored, we found out that their balcony served the perfect view we can pair with our coffee and hot chocolates.
DSC_0105.JPG

DSC_0106.JPG
DSC_0094.JPG

DSC_0099.JPG

DSC_0104.JPG

IMG20190223074710.jpg
After breakfast I've gained a new friend whom I later found out also came alone. Now that made us two solo travelers and we became friends in no time. She took pictures of me and vice versa.

IMG20190223074519.jpg

IMG20190223074617.jpg

We were halfway to our destination but making it here was already rewarding for me. Maybe I wasn't ready to see all the beautiful sceneries and to foster wonderful connections with strangers.

DSC_0113.JPG

DSC_0116.JPG


Side Trip to Ambuklao Dam & Agno River

After eating breakfast, we had a quick side trip at Ambukalo Dam. I believe this side trip wasn't in our initial itinerary but I'm glad we spent a few minutes here.

Ambuklao Dam is part of a hydroelectric facility in Brgy. Ambuclao, Bokod, Province of Benguet. It is approximately 36km away from Baguio City. Ambuklao Dam is "one of the oldest power plants in the country and was among the first large hydroelectric power plants constructed in the Philippines"

Here are some photos of Ambuklao Dam which I took during this quick stopover (from the observation deck):

DSC_0128.JPG

DSC_0127.JPG

DSC_0126.JPG

IMG20190223082943.jpg

IMG20190223082422.jpg

On the other side is the wide Agno River where water accummulates before releasing to the dam. I was able to capture photos of men who looked like they're fishing (I wasn't able to confirm this tho).

DSC_0121.JPG

DSC_0122.JPG

IMG20190223081721.jpg

IMG20190223081703_1.jpg


Cebuanos in the house

IMG20190223083120.jpg

What a coincidence! Ebib (the new-found friend I mentioned earlier and whom I ate breakfast with) was a Cebuana. Ebib and I were already talking in our dialect when these two guys approached us and told us they're from Cebu, too! Afterall, I wasn't the only Cebuano who joined that trip and I couldn't explain the relief when the four of us finally became friends. Finally, the trip started to feel like I'm not doing it all by myself. There's peace and bliss on that.

IMG20190223082643.jpg

I find this true almost all the time that when you meet a stranger coming from the same town, you instantly connect and talk like you've known each other since gradeschool! Haha! That's what I felt when I met these three. 😁


I'd love to continue telling you what else happened after that side trip in Ambuklao but I might end up not sleeping haha! So let's stop here and continue the storytelling on my next travel blog. Sounds good? Sounds good. 😊

This has been a lovely journey but I tell you, you'll be astounded when you meet Pulag. Let's hope my schedule at work aligns so I can take you there few days from now!

I'm very excited to bring you there. Hope this sparks the anticipation inside you, too!

✨See you in my next post!✨


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

Finally, a glimpse of Ambuklao Dam. I have been waiting for someone to blog about this dam and I am glad that you did it. With your travel to Ambuklao Dam you virtually brought me with you on your travel, thank you.

Appreciate your kinds words @afterglow! It was unfortunate we only get to spend not more than 30 minutes here.

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@tipu curate 2

Always grateful for the support @tipu @crazy-andy

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1343.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Always appreciative of the support @ybanezkim26 @pinmapple!

Nakakamiss haha we once live in benguet before. hope you enjoyed your trip there ma'am.

Really, @justinndave ? It must have been wonderful to live in Benguet! If only my mother would allow me, I'd love to spend say a year here. It is a beautiful place. 😊