Small but scenic | Ilocos Norte, Philippines (Part 3)

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)



cl4dz46dy01m90imj864713ea_GOPR3520.jpg
cl4dz5w2m01jr1amjdlt0et9i_GOPR3507.jpg
cl4dz7qpp01lj1xmjgiax1ba3_GOPR3539.jpg
cl4dz9e9o01kb0pmjekgk62tj_GOPR3508.jpg
cl4dzav2301jf1kmjcfar7h9u_GOPR3527.jpg
cl4dzckhj01mf0imj0cw0hkl3_GOPR3515.jpg
cl4dzekq801mi0imjfe3443s3_GOPR3517.jpg
cl4dzgbc501ml0imj61w2asiw_GOPR3519.jpg
cl4dzhyrz01k01amj18tu1zt0_GOPR3521.jpg
cl4dzjii501i72amj89tdg0xa_GOPR3532.jpg
cl4dzlaw301jo1kmjatiy1cyc_GOPR3530.jpg
cl4dzmuxr01m50xmjesoz5ifs_GOPR3534.jpg
cl4dzog1f01ia2amj18dn8k17_GOPR3533.jpg
cl4dzq3ju01kh0pmj5zjwcvra_GOPR3535.jpg
cl4dzrkxq01jr1kmj6ewt30iz_GOPR3538.jpg

I know it's just been a day since I shared Part 2 of my Ilocos Norte trip but guess, I just couldn't stop talking about my Ilocos trip. Maybe I'm so excited to bring you to my favorite places in my country such as Sagada in Mountain Province and Batad in Banaue. But in order to get there, I had to chronologically narrate this trip, from one destination to another. That's just how my brain works! I couldn't be jumping from one to another.

On our way out of Blue Lagoon Beach, we pulled over a random street. I was shocked that we stopped; it's been less than 5 minutes since we left Blue Lagoon. What could be here?, I wondered. From the road, it looked like there was nothing there actually. Sure, the road's overlooking the Pasaleng Bay and huge waves were still prevalent even if it was almost noon, but it was nothing magical, or maybe I got immune to Ilocos' charm at that point.

We paid a small amount for the entrance fee and our driver (who was also our guide) led the way. We descended to the beach. The tide was starting to change which I discovered worked for our advantage. We don't have to fear that the waves will splash all over our dried clothes.

It only took split seconds to realize what we were visiting that morning. The minute I turned my gaze towards the cave, a certain excitement kicked inside me. Despite having fears of enclosed spaces, I've seen a lot of caves in my life but this one was one of its kind. And I had a feeling that if all caves only looked like this, I had long bade farewell to my fear of caves.

Bantay Abot Cave is the cave's name. And according to what I've read online, its name meant "mountain with a hole". And that's exactly what you'll see, a part of a mountain protruding in Paselang Bay with a huge hole in it, enough for people to comfortably walk through it and reach the other side.

It's amazing how such a structure was naturally formed throughout time. We walked closer and closer until we reached the other side of the cave. There we found huge and small stones piled one after the other. It's only logical to think that those stones used to be part of the piece of land/mountain and due to some tectonic movements, they may have collapsed thus forming a perfectly huge hole in Bantay Abot. Well, that's just my theory.

It may have been a typical cave but given the view of Paselang Bay with mountain ranges in the background, it's like staring at a picture-perfect painting freshly pulled out from a creative mind. I climbed the highest stones I could climb just to play with my GoPro and ended up with some awesome angles from the cave.

We didn't stay long, of course, a handful of tourist destinations were waiting for us in Burgos. Hint: Windmills! 😁


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

That place looks like the right one where to be just you and the waves. I love this kind of solitude!

Oh, unfortunately, I was just so good at making sure people won't be captured in my photos 😅but there were a few tourists the time I went here @gabrielatravels.

Wow!!!! Beautiful place

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful @patsitivity i love seeing your posts and the adventures you are on. And the fun you guys have.
Great views!
Thanks for sharing 😁 have an awesome day today 👋🏻

Wild adventure as always @littlebee4. 😊

They sure are @patsitivity 😁 we live for them 🤩🤩😎😎

Wow @patsitivity, those landscapes are paradise, thanks for sharing such great photos.
24.jpg

Wow, the place you shared here is amazing, I'm glad to see places like this.

Glad you enjoyed this trip I shared @triplug. 😊

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Fantastic! Thank you @priyanarc and @diyhub for the support. 😁

Oh god what a place!! I really see your pictures and I feel like I want to travel through my laptop!! The sun, the stones, the sky and well… the sea… It’s absolutely gorgeous!

Gorgeous indeed, @belug! Let's ask around for some magic spells so we can just travel through our laptops! 😁

Hi, I loved your publication. I have always wanted to know the Philippines, it is a beautiful and very populated country. A big hug from Venezuela. Extraordinary trip and excellent photographs.

I wonder if we can interact much more. If you follow me we can share a lot of good things from each country.