Thank you, G! | Zamboanga, Philippines

in Pinmapple9 months ago

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (18).png


Storytime!

Every time I start opening my mouth and narrate how I ended up in the Philippines' most notorious and most avoided destinations, I always say "Thank you, Geo!"

Geo would be smirking over the idea that I finally allowed myself to be spontaneous. I can picture his face with that teasing look of approval of what I am about to do. He used to aggressively comment "Your life is so predictable; it's boring! For once, just get out there, stop planning every step of the way, and let life surprise you!"

He was my total opposite; he's reckless and directionless. I'm always organized and goal-oriented. I remember him mindlessly throwing words like "Let's live together and have no kids!" But I wasn't born with the spontaneity he required perhaps that's why our relationship didn't flourish as I wished.

IMG_20190608_070615.jpg

IMG_20190608_071617.jpg

IMG_20190608_074342.jpg

IMG_20190608_074849.jpg

IMG_20190608_073013.jpg

Anyway, before he came into my life, I had my eyes on exploring all the Provinces of the Philippines. In fact, that's my life's greatest dream. But I'd be lying if I deny the fact that I'm afraid to set foot in Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-tawi. I needed that little push to pursue these places; that's the role he successfully played.

Early in 2019, I was in the middle of my life's greatest heartbreak and damn, I was ready to die. Right at that moment, I felt I had nothing to lose. So I mindlessly booked four (4) flights: Cebu to Zamboanga, Zamboanga to Tawi-tawi, Tawi-tawi to Zamboanga and Zamboanga to Cebu. Of course, I didn't disclose my complete itinerary to my mother. I just told her it's just another solo backpacking. There's no way she'd be at peace knowing where I'd travel next.

I don't usually feel extremely proud of the things I do for traveling but I felt overflowing fulfillment when I survived a 9-day solo backpacking in ZamBaSulTa. I can't believe I'm writing this with a grateful heart, after all, people may not stay forever but they'll play a part, an important one at that!

IMG_20190608_082122.jpg

IMG_20190608_082450.jpg

IMG_20190608_084541.jpg

IMG_20190608_091435.jpg

IMG_20190608_092240-01.jpeg


What is ZamBaSulTa?

For those who backpack around the Philippines, you might be familiar with this route. For those who aren't familiar, the route I took is popularly called ZamBaSulTa; it's essentially an acronym for the Provinces included in this route, namely: Zamboanga, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-tawi.

These four provinces are infamous for insurgencies. I can remember in my elementary and high-school days when mainstream media would always report bombings, kidnappings, and ambushes in these Provinces. In fact, for a time, this route is synonymous with war and death. I cannot blame my fellow countrymen if they're afraid of traveling here. But gone are the days when fear enveloped these underrated Provinces; they're very open to tourists these days, and as Geo said might as well "Go out there and let the unknown surprise you!"

In this solo backpacking, I took a short flight to Zamboanga City from Mactan, Cebu. Zamboanga International Airport might be small but its facade is uniquely designed to incorporate Zamboanga's rich culture; it's attention-grabbing and first-time tourists like me couldn't help but take photos.

G0047374.JPG

G0027367.JPG

G0017365.JPG

IMG_20190608_093543.jpg

IMG_20190608_093902-01.jpeg

IMG_20190608_093852.jpg


Home away from home

I learned from my past solo backpacking in Central Luzon that Airbnb's are best when you are on a tight budget. That's why after successfully conquering my fears of staying in a room in someone else's house, I booked another Airbnb accommodation for this trip, too!

I was lucky enough to find Ritchie's Place. He was so kind and accommodating; he even fetch me at the airport for free! Filipino hospitality never fails to amaze me.

G0067381.JPG

IMG_20190608_102501.jpg

IMG_20190608_102648.jpg


Hi there, Merloquet Falls!

After packing only the barest necessities for my one and only destination that day, I headed out right away. Merloquet Falls, my first destination is about 70 kilometers away or a 2-hour trip up the northern part of the Zamboanga peninsula. Ritchie's place is just walking distance from the national road where public vehicles were plying up north so I didn't have problems looking for a ride.

When you are traveling solo, you'd survive by being friendly to locals. I had to ask around locals the best way to get to my first destination and everyone gladly helped me get there; they even ensured I'd be dropped off at the right juncture. After alighting at Vitali, I hired a motorcycle or fondly called habal-habal in the VisMin area. We passed by rice fields, forests, and roads that were still under construction. And as you might've already guessed, my heart was jumping for joy the entire ride, excited to see what's at the end of this crazy ride!

G0087389.JPG

GOPR7390_Moment1.jpg

GOPR7386_Moment3.jpg

GOPR7392_Moment5659.jpg

When we reached the jump-off point, I had to trek down to reach my destination. The driver didn't accompany me; I just told him to wait since I'm returning to Zamboanga City proper that very same day to which he agreed.

IMG_20190608_132858.jpg

IMG_20190608_132148.jpg

IMG_20190608_132604.jpg

IMG20190608132924.jpg

Solo backpacking is definitely NOT for everyone. It's scary to travel alone and it's difficult to get great photos especially if you're traveling off-season and on a weekday. Personally, I don't feel like bringing a tripod for my phone with me so I had to be creative and resourceful the entire time. Refer to the last photo above! LOL! 😂

After a few minutes of a chill walk, this welcomed me...

IMG_20190608_133237.jpg

I can vividly remember how Merloquet Falls reinforced my "You did the right thing, Pat!" It took a broken heart to finally gave ZamBaSulta a try; it came as a pleasant surprise. I just didn't imagine it to be this beautiful.

IMG_20190608_134708.jpg

IMG_20190608_133455.jpg

IMG_20190608_133749.jpg

Fortunately, it wasn't so scary as there were other locals who visited the falls that day. I left my bag near the trees and went closer to the waterfall with my GoPro.

GOPR7495.jpg

G0337474.jpg

GOPR7494.jpg

GOPR7504.jpg

For those who saw me that day, they might've thought "Oh, poor girl!" but at the same moment, I felt I was born again. Finally, I was able to break free from the darkness that suffocated me for months. I was able to feel so alive again that every water that ran through my skin felt like an energy booster. I felt like I glowed in the middle of nowhere, like how stars glittered at night, unrestricted, unapologetic.

G0237443.jpg

G0157420.jpg

G0257451-01.jpg

G0107401.jpg

G0217438 (2).jpg

G0167423.jpg

G0277456~2.jpg

I had a great time bathing in Merloquet's cold waterfall until a heavy downpour prompted every one of us to vacate the falls. I didn't have a dry bag so I had all the reasons to run back to the jump-off point where I could find the nearest shelter.

An attempt to still vlog while trying to escape the rain HAHAHA 😂

GOPR7506_Moment.jpg

GOPR7508_Moment.jpg

GOPR7509_Moment.jpg

We headed back when the rain stopped. We had difficulty going back to Vitali proper. Roads were covered in mud and some parts showed signs of erosion/landslide. Just grateful I made it back to Vitali junction in one piece! 😁

GOPR7510_Moment1235.jpg

GOPR7510_Moment44.jpg

GOPR7510_Moment.jpg

When I arrived, I had to buy a change of clothing. Everything I had with me was already dripping wet except for my phone which I wrapped inside a plastic bag. I met this lady and she was kind enough to let me change my clothes inside her house. She even shared tidbits about her life's challenges.

IMG_20190608_160935.jpg

IMG_20190608_161355.jpg

IMG_20190608_161707.jpg

IMG_20190608_162431.jpg

I came home right on time for dinner and had a goodnight's rest ready for adventure! That's it for today. Now that I've started writing this, I'm more thrilled to share the rest of the destinations I went to. See you next time!


image.png

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

Just awesome!
The best trips are the solo ones.
Oh it has been a while since my last one.

Beautiful captures and that waterfall is stunning, oh my the rain. That’s rain hahaha !LOL
Thanks for sharing. Loved coming along.
Happy weekend 👋🏻😊

I couldn't agree more that the best trips are the solo ones. I'm excited to share more @littlebee4! It's only day 1 of 8. More thrilling adventures await

Awesome, looking forward to them 😊
Happy weekend 👋🏻🌺

What do you get when you cross a lamb with a beehive?
Mutton Honey.

Credit: reddit
@patsitivity, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of littlebee4

(1/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

The whole experience must've worth getting wet for. I applaud your attempts to also document every memorable aspect of your life, sometimes these memories are important.
And I'm also very intentional about my life, I don't want to leave anything to luck or chance, even if it feels boring or too textbook.

I applaud your attempts to also document every memorable aspect of your life,

Good day @josediccus ! If you are traveling solo, documenting everything becomes second nature 🤣 I was even laughing the entire time I arrange these photos in a draft and I was like "How did I even survived this?"

Reminds me of how far I've come and definitely fills my heart with gratitude every single time I'm reminded of the things I did to successfully pull off this solo trip. Not easy but worth it

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Glad you had a good time🤗😊

Bakit naman solo? Maganda sana kung ksama yung partner ☺️.. Carry ko lang solo backpacking dto pagpunta falls and mountains..bat jan sa pinas, I find it delikado haha...

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @patsitivity and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Moving on girl, ganun! Hindi pa kami ni bf when I traveled. Still trying to move on pa from someone else during this time 🤣🤣🤣

That's the best part of being alone; we can find ourselves for being so lost the entire time and find peace within ourselves, and of course the peace we can get from the astounding places. Therefore, being alone is not a bad thing! 🤍

Definitely! It's just sad that people equate being alone to being sad. I love my own company and there are times I want to be surrounded by no one else but my own presence. I hope we start to normalize it.

Hello, the pictures you took on the plane are beautiful. I love flying, I'm 24 years old and I had never been on a plane, in March I went to Madeira and since then I haven't stopped flying. I've walked 10 times in 2 months. For those who have never walked for 23 years ahahha. These waterfalls are beautiful ☺️ Thank you for sharing a bit of your trip with us ☺️

Hey @name0! Glad you like my photos. I love flying too, it's liberating. It's like I'm freed from any negative thoughts that haunt me even at daytime. This is only the first part and I hope you stay tuned for more as I bring you along my backpacking around the Philippines. 🥰

😊😉🌈😜 what was ur favorite part?

...

I liked that too!

Yay!!

Hmmmmm? I'd say it's the "Oh, it's raining! I have to run as fast as I can! The realization that it's raining and I'm in a huge waterfall, perhaps that's it haha

Hello @patsitivity It was a very nice and fun experience 😊. Take care always 🥰🥰🥰