You complete me! | Guiuan, Eastern Samar

in Pinmapplelast year



clf9l80n100907jszcwfrff79_Hive_Panimahawa_Cover_Photos_7.webp
clf9l884o008q83sz8xz21276_IMG_20220720_094428.webp
clf9l8fz6009pbosz6rdx3kvc_IMG_20220720_092927.webp
clf9l8p34008298szf8o6a4xn_IMG_20220720_104123.webp
clf9l8sti008saysz8x947bo2_IMG_20220720_104556.webp
clf9l925k00a86csz418j7utq_IMG_20220720_113743.webp
clf9l94f50084bbsz776jgdyn_IMG_20220720_163049.webp
clf9l9etn009g8qsz97psfqh9_IMG_20220720_175156.webp
clf9l9ept008y13szdclaex7r_IMG_20220720_171031.webp
clf9l9qkh008c9iszck5z42yg_IMG_20220720_180623.webp

It was mid-year last year when I was itching to travel again. If you can remember from my old posts, my back pain recurred bringing the nastiest physical pain I had to endure last year. In the same year, provinces in the Philippines slowly opened up to tourists with lesser restrictions.

I hated the circumstances I’m in. Just when the thing I loved the most was doable, my health prevented me from doing just that. From March until May 2022, my spine injury worsened day after day but I thought my willpower is stronger than my physical body. So I convinced myself and my friends to book a flight to Tacloban in Leyte.

We aren’t doing long backpacking, just five (5) days so I had to strategically pick the best destination in the area. In the entire Visayas, there’s one Province left on my list that I haven’t explored either for personal travel or official business and that’s Eastern Samar.

That’s how I narrowed down our itinerary for this trip. After doing intensive research on Eastern Samar’s best destinations, we decided on the itinerary below:

Day 1 – Travel from Cebu to Guiuan, Eastern Samar
Day 2 – Travel to Homonhon Island from Guiuan town proper
Day 3 – Explore Homonhon Island/ Back to Guiuan
Day 4 – Road trip in Eastern Samar + Surfing in Calicoan
Day 5 – Flight back to Cebu


How to get to Guiuan?

There are various ways to get to Eastern Samar from Cebu but the shortest route would be taking a 30-45 minute flight from Cebu to Tacloban City then a van ride from Tacloban City to Guiuan, Eastern Samar that will take at least 2.5 hours.

There are various vans that ply Eastern Samar but we took the Duptours. You have to give an allowance because the trips to Guiuan are limited/irregular. In a day there are more or less 3 trips (Duptours only).


The search

We left Tacloban City at 1 PM and arrived in Guiuan at 3:30 PM. It’s July and that means off-season so I was confident that we’ll find a hotel to spend the night. Turned out I was wrong and every single hotel/inn we checked is fully booked.

After a couple of minutes, we finally got a room with only a queen-size bed at Soledad’s Inn. The room’s small that we can no longer add another bed/foam. We’re in no position to complain so we got the room and settled. Anyway, we’re leaving early the following day.

We had a couple of hours to roam around Guiuan's town proper; we were told by our tour operator in Homonhon Island that there are no market or convenience stores on the island so we bought snacks, water, and other needs at Guiuan that night. We spent the rest of the night walking around Guiuan’s town proper until we reached the terminal and the port. We stayed there for a bit and talked about a few things before heading back to the inn.

That's all for today. In my next blog be ready for the surprises that this underrated Province has in store for all of you!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

A nice vacation, I hope you and your friends enjoy your trip,I really miss going on a long trip,but for now I can't do it,maybe in the next few months I am trying to make a long trip like the trip you did with your friends.
Enjoy your trip.

It was a relatively short trip @furkanmamplam but we definitely had the best time of our lives.

Appreciate you dropping by! I hope all is well. 😁

who's third wheeling? hehe

Murag ako gyud ang third wheel diring dapita @junebride hahaha the other one is my close college friend. He used to join us in our local trip in Cebu katong dili pami sugtan mulaag kami rang GB sauna. Nahug nga chaperone hehe

You made me miss Tacloban 🤧🤧 but so far, you picked the great place to explore in Eastern Samar.. It's just a few hour's drive from us. 😊..enjoy! You may want to meet some Hivean there hehe

San ka ulit sa Samar, @jane1289?

This trip was last July 2022 pa. Sa daming travel late ang documentation hehe

Basey. Famous dun suhoton cave.. 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!