Travelling from Bantayan Island to Davao City to Join D.Buzz

in Pinmapplelast year

On May 6, 2023, I started my long journey of travelling to Davao City from my birthplace, Bantayan Island, in Cebu Province to join the fastest growing decentralized micro-blogging platform D.Buzz, an app made by Filipinos and American developers and built on top of the Hive blockchain.

Santa Fe Pantalan.jpg

Reasons for Travelling to Davao City:

I decided to embark in a journey to Davao City, Philippines not just to join the D.Buzz Team but also to have some business ventures with my social media friend friend for a long-time that happens to be the co-founder of D.Buzz, Chris Rice (@chrisrice).

Joining DBuzz in person is one of the most significant decisions I ever made in my entire life, but this is the second time that I ventured into the world of startups and internet venture. I was once co-founded an internet venture wherein we were able to build a following online and considered as one of the top blogs in the Philippines. That particular site is no other than PhilNews.ph, I wrote more than 12,000 news articles for the site alone, but it was not the only site that I was able to published articles.

Davao International.jpg

In joining the DBuzz team here in Davao City, now considered by many blockchain and Web3.0 enthusiasts as one of the prime movers of this industry, I am looking forward into making an impact not only for the D.Buzz community but also for the entire Web 3.0 space by sharing the knowledge gained with my Web 2.0 experience in terms of Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and to be able to bridge the gap between Web 2 and Web 3 space.

My decision to travel to Davao City is indeed exciting and at the same time more challenging on my part, but it's really a fulfillment of some of my dreams to work with people who are somewhat similar to me in terms of personal experience, building trusts and working towards presenting what it really means to be a part of the community of people who believes in freedom of speech and decentralization.

Departure from Bantayan Island:

Santa Fe Port Onboarding.jpg

My journey commenced at around 3:00 PM on Saturday, I was waiting for the Ceres bus travelling directly from Bantayan Island to the Cebu North Bus Terminal, but I wasn't able to catch the bus during that time, so I decided to to ride a tricycle that brought me to Santa Fe Port.

Upon embarking from the tricycle which I paid around P50.00, I immediately went to the ticketing office to get my ticket from Super Shuttle Ferry ticket booth that costs me P359.00 for the Regular fare and additional P25.00 for the terminal fee. The P25.00 was divided into P20.00 for the municipal terminal fee and other P5.00 was intended for the Cebu Port Authority terminal fee.

RoRo Santa Fe.jpg

In total it costs me around P384.00 upon departure from Bantayan Island to the port of Hagnaya in the municipality of San Remegio, Cebu. The Ro-Ro vessel departed from the port of Santa Fe from around 4:30 PM and arrived at exactly 5:45 PM in the afternoon.

Arriving at Hagnaya Port:

I arrived at Hagnaya Port at around 5:45 but the Ceres bus from Hagnaya going to Cebu City departed at around 6:08 PM and there was no other passenger aside from me and other young lady who was carrying with her dog. We were the only two passengers with the Ceres bus but luckily upon departing from Hagnaya, three other passengers embarked and joined us for the long ride to the city.

Hagnaya Port.jpg

From Hagnaya, San Remegio, I took some sleep and just woke up when the bus arrived at the bus stop in the Municipality of Carmen. I took some meals for my dinner and the best things about the bus stop in Carmen is the affordable foods that costs me only P80.00 for my dinner composed of one rice and one viands. I just drink the same 1 liter of water which I bought earlier at Hagnaya worth around P30.00.

Arrival the Cebu North Bus Terminal:

It was around 9:30 PM when the bus from Hagnaya arrived at the Cebu North Bus Terminal maybe because of the facts that the driver keeps on stopping from different parts of Northern Cebu just to pick up some passengers as what I've mentioned earlier that the passengers were just few individuals.

Upon arrival at the Terminal, I immediately asked the guard on what's the best way to travel to Mactan-Cebu International Airport for my domestic flight to Davao City. One of the guard told me to proceed to the next gate where the My Bus station was located. I was hoping to catch up with the easier trip from the terminal to the airport but unluckily, the guard told me that the last trip that had already departed at around 9:00 PM, and the next trip will be tomorrow morning at 6:00 AM.

Due to the fact that my flight to Davao City will be at around 7:00 AM on Sunday, so I need to decide and find ways to travel to the airport and wait for the schedule inside the airport. There were two choices suggested by the guard, I could either take the taxi which will cost me around P300.00 upwards or I will take the more adventurous motorcycle ride which will cost me to only pay with just P200.00, I decided for an adventure and ride with the motorcycle.

Waiting for My Departure to Davao City:

I arrived inside the vicinity of the Mactan-Cebu International Airport at around 10:15 PM and went immediately inside the airport to find a bench for me to seat and if possible take a nap because I was so tired of the long travel from Bantayan Island to Cebu City.

Mactain Airport Plane.jpg

My flight to Davao City was scheduled to depart at around 7:00 AM on Sunday, May 7, 2023 but we departed at least 25 minutes ahead of schedule. Before the announcement of the advance schedules, our assigned boarding gate was changed from Gate 8 and we have to travel by foot a few meters away because we were transferred to Gate 11 of the Mactan-Cebu Airport Domestic Terminal. I was flying with Air Asia, one of the low airlines in the country today.

I paid around P2,800.00 just to secure the ticket although I just bought it three days before my scheduled departure from Cebu to Davao City.

Mactan.jpg

Arriving at Davao Airport:

From Davao International Airport, here in Davao City I was picked up by no less than Chris Rice himself together with his wife Emafe (@emafe). We then went to Emafe's place and pitched Zac Lucas Rice the only child so far by the Rice family bought some foods from Jollibee for us to have something to eat while we visit the house of Kenny Owano (@kenny.rogers).

Davao International.jpg

I think this is it, I am now here in Davao City and already joined the D.Buzz Team. Aside from meeting Kenny and Chris' wife Emafe, we were also able to visit alongside Chris Rice the house of D.Buzz co-founder Nathan Senn (@nathansenn) and meet also with all the developers of D.Buzz (@dbuzz).

Kenny''s House.jpeg

Before this things made into a reality, I just want to share something that I could never forget way back the year 2016 when we were chatting with Chris Rice and one of the post made by Chris came into reality. According to Chris he wanted to meet me in person in the near future and the future is now.

Here's the screenshot of Chris Rice's Post About Me:

Chris Message.png

As an official member of the D.Buzz Team here in Davao City, I would like you to consider helping the D.Buzz community through our latest proposals for funding from the DHF.

Here's the Link of the Proposal and Thank You in Advance for your support.

Hive Proposal.png

Vote for D.Buzz Proposal

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks a lot for helping me put my place on your map, it's such an honor to be part of this thriving community.

What a strong post @philnews.xyz you are destined to be a high ranking and popular blogging om Hive imo.

Thank you Chris for giving me the opportunity to meet you in person and learn from you, as the days goes by. We will work together to achieve our goals of showing how loving kindness works in mysterious ways.

We have a lot of things to do together alongside some of the brilliant minds in the Web 3 space. There's a lot of exciting things to come.

Congratulations @philnews.xyz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love reading your post po, very detailed and it’s enjoyable to read. Welcome to Davao City and I hope you will enjoy your stay in the Land of Promise 😊

Posted via D.Buzz

Thank you so much @emafe and @chrisrice for welcoming me here in Davao City, It's just my first time here, but I really enjoyed the view, the accommodations and most of all the friendships, even if it's only our first time to meet in person. Thanks for the appreciation.

Posted via D.Buzz

You’re very much welcome 😊

Posted via D.Buzz