You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Edmonton Valley Zoo and the Lucy controversy

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

I am usually very cautious about zoos but this one in Edmonton seems to take a really good care of their animals in general, providing them with everything they need. So that´s one I would visit too :) You took some amazing photos there btw.

Sort:  

Thanks! I am cautious too, I went to one in Moncton N-B as a kid and didn't like it, the animals were skinny and depressed, unmotivated. I never went back to a zoo until the one in Edmonton, I was pleasantly surprised and they have my full support here. Most of the animals are super playful and excited and you can tell they have a healthy body weight and large enough enclosures to roam, sometimes you can't even find them since they have a place to get away from people if they want to. I think it's the overall Alberta culture to go above and beyond on conservation efforts of all kind (despite the negative press because of our oil sands those who live here know. One of the factors it's not for big business, all the nature revenue goes to fund more conservation and research instead of lining someone's pocket, I'm sure that helps a great deal in the level of care the animals get.