The Magnificent Cliffs of Moher! I ticked my first in Ireland’s #1 on the checklist ✅.

206F5BF9-C36F-4B59-9461-D3B1C3B7C8DB.jpeg

When I think about cliffs, first comes to my mind “Dangerous. Forbidden to come close to it. What really is there to see?”

When I found out where the man of my life lives, I’ve made it a mission to find out where exactly the island of Ireland is, like how the people are, what to see & expect there, cultures, traditions and the list goes on. Aside from this country being referred as the “Emerald Isle” for obvious reason (full of greens), apparently, Ireland is surrounded by lovely cliffs- high & low, North to South, East to West- all across the country.

66F79F31-189A-4A6B-A968-4F15CA63D76E.jpeg

After thorough research, I’ve come across the majestic sea cliffs. There are so many cliffs- different looks, structure, rock formations, height, etc. One of the cliff that caught my attention and is really famous is The Cliffs of Moher. It is located at southwestern edge of the Burren region in County Clare, Ireland. It stands as 220 meters high at it’s highest point. It’s been considered as the “8th wonder of the world” of the people who have seen / know the place, it is worth seeing and inhaling fresh Irish air (from oceans and high fields) that we’ve probably never had before.

3900E8DD-BCE0-4EF8-8B2A-31117BBAACD1.jpeg

A little background- this is one of Ireland’s favourite/ best visitor attraction. I guess anyone visiting, transiting, living in Ireland would never miss the majestic Cliffs of Moher. This is also home for many pollinators, various types of birds, land insects and animals. It is also one of the most popular films or music video location - to named Harry Potter, Westlife’s My Love Music Video, etc. These cliffs is truly a gem and has stand still through the test of time! Many generations have come and go, and I am so honoured to have witnessed & behold it’s beauty.

70E1D074-3579-4DE9-AD48-F7499344608A.jpeg

Myself, hubby and both of our friends (Polish and Filipina, another Filipina who got married to Polish national like me) decided to go to the cliffs with us. We have travelled 80 km from where we previously lived, that’s approx 1hour and 20mins to get to this place. We went through national and regional road by car. We passed through all the smooth and bumpy road, over the hills and a winding road. It was quite and adventure, my hubby was busy showing me around Ireland and I appreciate every little detail that he knows about the place that we passed by along the way. The mountain views are exceptional! We passed by varieties of animals beside the road- like the mountain goats, sheeps, bulls, cows with black and white skin (Just like what we see in TV milk commercial.) Fun fact: Ireland is a home of the abundant & freshest milk😍.

1EAFE607-A86F-471C-A01F-415924E91B76.jpeg

After a short while, we arrived at our destination. We arrived at the main entrance, suddenly my hubby said “there is a back door also and you will have an amazing view from the back of the cliffs.” I thought, why not! I am always up for an adventure- it’s just in my system. We proceeded to the back door, surprisingly, not only us who knows where to find it. Lots of people actually goes through the back door. Proper parking was there (as usual pay parking), someone was there who assisted us (ala dispatcher or just like in the Philippines , someone who looks after the parking space and the parked cars though it isn’t theirs😂). So we greeted this young guy, he charged us €3.00 euros (approx 180.00 Philippine peso) or €5.00euros, not sure now. We paid and left our car. The real fun now begins.

We passed through the first small broken concrete fence, it was a long walk for us to actually get there to the cliffs approx 25 minutes-ish (somewhat feels like forever). Plus the heat of the summer sun. For some reason, even 20 degrees Celsius in Ireland is too hot for me. If it’s windy, then you would feel the heat of the sun and cold windy breeze that balances the weather. If Mr. Sun is hiding, then 20C is a bit chilly with ot without wind.

FDC32E8F-4765-4A3A-9D43-C7A49F0CD441.jpeg

8952F7FD-D86F-4A64-8590-DEFA1EA18D74.jpeg

1B1A55B3-0251-4321-9C05-95AA7F61A4BB.jpeg

We passed by a herd of cows and bulls in the fields, left and right. My hubby was wearing a red short and few bulls were looking at his shorts. They then started to follow us, it’s been proven to me that bulls are truly mad to red colours 😂. It was so fun that we had to start running though there is a concrete fence that is high enough for them to run over. Thankfully, there is another fence that block them also so they won’t go beyond where they should be. We had a good laughed, conversations, until we realised we were there.

1E1510EC-27A4-4CEF-99E2-2C61C1D1D9B9.jpeg

D98932B3-5125-40BA-86C9-0DAFD69EC8F8.jpeg

“Oh my good Lord, what a beauty!” I exclaimed… I was so stunned how massive and beautiful these cliffs are, I was speechless, I couldn’t find a word to describe it. Too high and too serene. Many people were there too, most of them are sitting right at the edge of cliffs with their partners and or friends- some having picnic. Everyone just enjoyed the peace, the calm and the most beautiful sound of the waves gracefully hitting the shores. We see birds constantly flying above and below us. Food above (from people), food below (from ocean).

8D477FA9-C00D-442E-8C25-B849E1157DE7.jpeg

A9B10E96-B46E-47CB-9265-B5BEDD0B8CCD.jpeg

34D0E850-EB7D-4848-B313-07DB71A38990.jpeg

0E04C4CF-84FC-42E3-AFE9-8BE2733F0F9E.jpeg

We stayed there for a while, me being a hard headed sometimes I came close to the edge when my hubby did not notice me. Looking down, I thought to myself if I my body would pull me down or if the wind would push me over, I would never survive falling down from 220 meters above sea level high. When hubby notice where I was, he straight had red face, stressed and was very scared for me. I am thankful to God for giving me a very generous, caring, protective and most kind husband hehe.

Anyway, after taking hundreds of photos, we went back to the car and drove home. It was quite an experienced that I would never forget- The Majestic Cliffs of Moher -so close, so real!! Though, now that is ticked in my bucket list, I think that’s gonna stay on the list forever! Hope to be back again soon.

446A15CD-1F13-4635-B528-B4B33FFF960B.jpeg

Til the next blog my Hive fam, feel free to follow me and vote if you enjoyed reading my second blog ❤️.

Love to Every-hive-one,
Sheryl xx

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @pinayinireland! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks @hivebuzz 😊😊

That's great @pinayinireland! We're here to encourage you to achieve your next goals on Hive!

BTW, help us to continue bringing fun and badges to the Hive community. HiveBuzz can't do it alone so check out our funding proposal and consider supporting it.
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Same eith me, cliffs are dangerous but if this is the kind of cliffs that awaits to me, then I'll gladly jump in there or not? Haha, just watching them like this is enough. It's pretty, it's kinda scary pero ang ganda. I love the view.

Hahaha oo nga @ruffatotmeee the view is amazing but so scary, yet, photoshoot is lifer😊

The views are incomparable! Thanks for sharing this maam☺️

Yes indeed @netswriting , thanks for dropping by 😊

Nice views, you had good weather for the Cliffs of Moher that day. :)

Yes @mypathtofire, we were lucky to have a nice weather that day! Weather here is very unpredictable. We wouldn't be surprised if we will have 4 seasons in one day 😂

It's incredible to think about the diverse ecosystem they support, with their role as a habitat for pollinators, birds, insects, and other animals. Additionally, their popularity as a filming location for movies and music videos adds to their charm.

Thanks for stopping by @silviared945! Yes it's indeed incredible 😊

gorgeous view! I'm not sure whether I can get any closer to the cliff's edge and strike the same pose as you; my anxiety!

Hi @cindee08 , it was very scary and I wouldn't come close to the edge again.

Whoa, 80km. is quite far yet the spectacular view of the cliff that could be seen after traveling is worth it. Thanks for sharing how beautiful the place is.

Hi @selflessgem , yes despite the distance, it was all worth it! 😍

Ay, kaya paLa napapakanta ako ng Westlife songs sa photos mo. hahaha! familiar!

Hahaha true sis @itravelrox 😂

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1873.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @lizanomadsoul @pinmapple , I really appreciate the feature 😊

Amazing place. I hope to visit one day. It reminds me of some of the cliffs here in England. I really live this landscape.

Hi @adetorrent , you should come and visit. Or go around your place, there must be beautiful too 😊

That is definitely a huge and beautiful scenery of Cliffs, Wonderful.

Always be careful standing on there because I see there's no guardrail.

Great post, Thanks for sharing

Thanks @queen-silvia. Yes would never do it again 😂. Coz if you slip , you fall down. No rails or anything.

Stunning place.

This place is indeed majestic. Is there a way for people to go down the cliff and get close to the sea?

Thank you @mariasalve. Yes there is another way to explore / see the cliffs from down below. There is a boat trip tours that you can participate on, though, the boat can’t come close to the shore. Not sure how much is the ticket.

Last year I was very close to book my tickets for Ireland with some friends but due to all things coming out, we had to cancel that holiday. Your posts reminds me that I should handle it this year and yet why I wanted so badly to visit it too ❤️

Hi @gabrielatravels , yeah you should start packing your luggage and visit Ireland 😊

 last year  Reveal Comment

Thanks for dropping by @liasunshine 😊, yes we had a great time.