Views from a Cozy Cabin {Cherry Log, Georgia, USA}

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Cabin in Cherry Log, Georgia.png

Last month @dksart and I finally carved out some time to get away together, and this month I was able to do the same with a few girlfriends. Besides the other challenges of 2020, as adult women, it can be extremely difficult to put aside time to spend a weekend away with friends. Family and work often take precedence, or trying to find a trip everyone can agree on can be too stressful to even try. It really is so vital to spend time with close friends, though, so I'm so thankful a few of mine were able to make it work for just a few days away from the usual routine.

This trip was particularly beneficial coming on the heels of the latest election. Can you blame us for wanting to get away from the political shit show? All three of us agreed on a quiet weekend away at a cabin in the woods. No obligations, no plan, just rest and relaxation. I found the perfect little cabin to book a few months ago, and we had been looking forward to this time ever since.

IMG_20201106_155041114_HDR.jpg

The Blue Ridge Mountains are a popular getaway for lots of us Atlantans, and I'm sure plenty of other people from neighboring states. The scenery is beautiful, there's lots of hiking and other attractions, and plenty of great cabins tucked away up winding back roads that reward you with stunning views like the one above. The cabin we booked was just a bit to the south in Cherry Log, another of the neighboring communities close to the main town of Blue Ridge. We left the city just after lunchtime on Friday and were rewarded with that awesome view right off the back porch of our rented cabin just over an hour later. We unpacked, put on our cozy pants, and settled in for the weekend.

IMG_20201107_064708900.jpg

We didn't stay up really late on Friday evening, but the gals I was with definitely aren't early birds like I am. I usually get up around 6am naturally anyway, and with such a stunning morning view I couldn't sleep in for the few mornings I had it. The whole cabin really was amazing. Impeccably cleaned, a fully stocked kitchen, and some nice little touches all around. None of that even compared with waking up to this in the morning...

IMG_20201107_065439727.jpg

I had a full two hours to myself to just breathe in the morning air, meditate and listen to the woods wake up around me before the other ladies got up. The air was cool, but I was plenty comfortable in my cozy pants and socks. I much prefer cool to hot when taking a little trip like this anyway. I think I just associate the mountains with crisp air and the leaves falling. Anyway, besides a few trips in to grab a cup of coffee or fix a quick breakfast, I was perfectly content sitting on the porch watching the sun come up over the mountains.

IMG_20201107_080456566_HDR.jpg

I think most of my pictures were from essentially the same spot. We had initially talked about getting out for a hike on Saturday, but decided the cabin was just so nice to enjoy while we had it. Plus we had to be out by 10am on Sunday anyway, and could adventure from then on. I also can't complain about having a rare day to stay in my pajamas. All day.

IMG_20201107_085803183_HDR.jpg

I had thought that a lot of the leaves might be down given the tropical storm that passed through a few weeks ago. It seems by this time of year they have often mostly changed anyway. However, we were quite pleased to still see so much lovely color throughout the trees. Just wait, you haven't even seen the best shot yet. I'm saving that one for last. ;)

IMG_20201107_112528211_HDR.jpg

Mimosas with a view. With blood orange juice and fresh fruit. A nice treat while watching chick flicks. I think we went through four romantic comedies throughout the day. And a puzzle. And some Uno.

IMG_20201108_064128387.jpg

I think I crashed early Saturday evening, but even if I hadn't I would have been up with the sun the next morning regardless. It's a sight I just don't get to take in often enough. My morning coffee usually doesn't have such a nice backdrop. Nor is it so leisurely to sip.

IMG_20201107_080559266_HDR.jpg

The time to leave was closing in, so after packing up our bags and cleaning up the cabin we took a few last moments to savor the scenery.

IMG_20201108_082108103_HDR.jpg

The lighting and the colors from the trees were absolutely perfect. I snapped one last shot, and boy was it one to close out the stay on!

IMG_20201108_083131855_HDR.jpg

Just a simple weekend to give the mind and body a break. Nature is so refreshing if you just slow down to enjoy it. After finally taking a few weekends away, I know I do need to do this more often. No reason not to when we can easily find an affordable spot just a car ride away. I would gladly book this cabin again, though I'm sure there are many more spectacular views waiting to take in...



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

This whole post just radiates relaxation and beauty,@plantstoplanks! I already knew from the sneak peek you shared that the rest of your pictures were going to be epic, but holy cannoli! I typically read pretty fast, but I completely slowed my roll so I could enjoy the "view" for as long as possible. So glad you've had such awesome getaways and thanks for taking us along to vicariously enjoy this one!

Thanks Traci! I would love to do the same thing one day up in your neck of the woods. I'm sure there's no end to the beautiful spots up there to get away and relax for a weekend. I kept laughing at myself since I really was just taking the same picture over and over, but each one captured a special moment in time too beautiful not to want to save it to savor over and over.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I didn't skim one word. You had me at the cover image but I was wait.. that's not 'the one.'

Good call putting it up last.

You know @dandays is a huge chick flick fan, right? My buddies, Pura, they all call'em :insert my name here: flicks. So which ones did you watch??

Maid In Manhattan? Sweet Home Alabama? The Notebook? Which ones - which ones??

Gorgeous weekend @plantstoplanks, I was considering putting up another haveyoubeenhere article today but it's probably best I just resonate on yours for a minute. I can almost smell the the sunrise.

Always gotta put on the thinking cap to pick the best cover photo. Glad I made the right selection for the final one. 😉

Let's see, we knocked out some holiday themes with "Holidate" and "A Bad Moms Christmas". We also crossed "Love Guaranteed" and "About Time" off the list. I feel like there may have been another one in there from Friday, but obviously it wasn't memorable. At least DKS is off the hook for a while now since I've had my fill for the month.

I'm sure you've got another good one up your sleeve. I'll wait a few days before finishing out with another post to share my shots from Amicalola. Thanks for peeping my pics AND reading. Sending some of those sunrise vibes to you both.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1026.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Now that is my kinda escape, you'll just find me passed out somewhere with a face full of chocolate and a half-eaten bag of marshmallows in my hand

Haha, oh there was chocolate. No marshmallows this time, but s'mores would have been a fantastic idea!

What a beautiful get away. I never realized Georgia was so mountainous. Perfect time of year too with the fall foliage. I may have to add Georgia Blue Ridge Mountains to my list of travel destinations now!

Thanks @learning-tarot! The state really does have diverse terrain. Most of the bigger mountains are in the northern part of the state, but there are still plenty of spots that aren't too far outside of Atlanta like Kennesaw Mountain or Stone Mountain. Blue Ridge really is a beautiful spot, though. So many places to explore if you enjoy getting out in nature!