My Walking Trip in Ancient but Modern Town of Denpasar

in Pinmapple3 months ago

The Puputan Square

It was almost midday when I arrived in Denpasar, to be exact, at the monument to the war that happened in 1906. There was a war for independence between the local kingdom of Denpasar and the Dutch, who were attempting to take over the kingdom. In remembrance of the war, statues are built in this field, representing the Balinese warriors in white, ready to defend the kingdom. This was the place where my walking trip began.

The Puputan Square, the name of this memorial field, nowadays, has become a multi-purpose field. It can be a center for sports, hosting football games, and sometimes a venue for musical concerts or exhibitions. Surrounding the field, there are many trees and flowers, creating a beautiful garden in certain areas. This is a suitable place for people to relax, and for those with kids, there's a playground available in this area.

I walked around the pavement that surrounds the park or the field, immersing myself in the atmosphere and feeling a bit relaxed, although the sun made it a bit challenging. My walk continued until I arrived at a crossroad that led me to Gajah Mada Street. I saw a statue of a god with four faces at the crossroad surrounded by water fountains.

The Gajah Mada Street

Gajah Mada Street, popularly known as an iconic street, has many lined-up shop buildings that were constructed around 1980. Most of them have been renovated to maintain their strength, but the street still retains its ancient feel. It used to be bustling with traffic, including buses, bicycles, horse carts, and more, in the 1980s. Today, it's quieter, with the old version of traffic replaced over time.

I walked along the pavement, enjoying the feel of the old times lingering in the air. Maybe I'm feeling a bit nostalgic—sorry about that. I stopped when I saw a shop more busy than the others; it was the Bhinneka coffee shop. Many people sat at the tables, laughing and talking. Somehow, this piqued my interest, and I walked across the road to enter the shop.

I found myself a table, perused the menu, and quickly chose a cappuccino. The busy seller behind the counter asked me to pay, and then she prepared my cappuccino. A waiter brought it to my table, and as I sipped my coffee, I looked at the pictures on the wall.

Everything in the shop was arranged to reflect the old times. There were vintage pictures on the wall, and coffee makers were displayed on glass shelves. It seemed both locals and tourists frequented this coffee shop to enjoy Balinese coffee.

I sat there, taking a rest after a couple of hours of walking, and enjoyed the moment. I felt very happy, thinking that the decision to go on a walking tour in the city was a good one. I hadn't been to Denpasar for quite a long time, and it felt great to be here again.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @putu300! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @putu300.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!