Sanur, Bali: A Culinary Adventure

in Pinmapple3 months ago (edited)

I was very excited when I entered the Sindu Night (food) Market in Sanur, Bali. This was my first visit to the market. Even though I live in Bali, there are many places I have not yet explored, and this market is one example of that.

My first stop was at the herbal drink (jamu) seller. I saw something interesting: instead of a regular food mixer, the seller used an electric drill with a mixer attached to it. He would push the drill's button to mix the herbal drink. That's quite creative!

Jamu is a traditional drink for stamina. Mostly, only local Indonesians stop ordering a cup of jamu. I did not see any tourists coming to this Jamu cart.

I walked around the market, observing food carts lining up and tables selling various mini dishes. Some of the foods available are: chicken soup, vegetable snacks, mixed vegetables, fried rice, and pan-fried noodles.

As the night went on, more people, both locals and tourists, came to the market. I thought those tourists were interested in trying local food instead of eating at international food in hotels. And I noticed that this market is the best and cheapest spot to taste real Indonesian food.

Lots of people were gathered around the food stalls, trying Indonesian dishes. The favorites included satay, goat soup, and the fried rice and noodle stall, where most people were hanging out.

I wanted to have satay, but the lines were long. So, I skipped it and got gado-gado—a mix of veggies, tofu, and boiled eggs in peanut sauce—thinking it's a healthier choice.

So, my gado-gado dinner was the sum up of my adventure in the market. If you happen to be in Sanur, Bali and want to try authentic Indonesian cuisine at an affordable price, you should definitely visit Sindu night market. (@detlev please check this out, you can try this next time you come)

Note:
All photos in this blog post are mine and were taken with a Canon GX Mark II.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Maybe I should also visit the place if I have the time bli. ; )

Well, you are soooo busy 😂

Will add this to my bucket list and for our next visit to lovely #Bali

Congratulations @putu300! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 88000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 89000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024