A free 6 night stay in a suite at The Outrigger Guam, was it worth it?

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Sunset view from the Outrigger Hotel, GuamSunset view from the Outrigger Hotel, Guam

The Outrigger Guam has since changed hands. It is now the Dusit Beach Resort, having been bought by the 5 star, Dusit Thani hotel right next door.

So how did I get a free 6 night stay at The Outrigger? All thanks to Covid and the Government of Guam. The Outrigger was used as a quarantine hotel. I could have stayed 14 days but stupid me and under pressure from my bosses, I tried to "test out" of quarantine to serve the remainder of my "sentence" at home. I tested positive for Covid on the 7th day and got sent to a Covid positive quarantine hotel, The Bayview. I'll post a review on that hotel shortly. If you wanna read about my Covid ordeal, it's in this post: https://hive.blog/hive-163772/@rayshiuimages/air-travel-to-and-from-guam-under-covid-19-restrictions

I recall thinking to myself, man, this Covid mandatory quarantine ain't so bad ! This friggin suite is bigger than the studio I currently live in! People can drop off things and "front desk" will bring it up at certain hours of the day and although Covid protocol prohibited alcohol and cigarettes, my homies snuck some into my "care package" anyways (along with a work laptop, not so bad, I love my job). 

This is how I work in quarantine, hahaThis is how I work in quarantine, haha

The hotel is clean, not out dated, supplies fresh (though they did run out of coffee one day). No housekeeping service due to Covid protocol though but I don't mind, I always stick the do not disturb sign on my door when I travel anyways. You just have to leave your sack of trash outside your room door. Here's some pics of the inside:

See, they even have different lighting for the different sections of the suite! 

Man, three meals served a day, daily newspaper, 24hr aircon, sunset views, ocean breeze. All while "working from home!"

Seriously, what more can I ask for?! I really shouldn't have tested out!

If you fancy a trip to Guam, I'd highly recommend The Outrigger, now the Dusit Beach Resort. It's located beach side and almost in the middle of the main happening area of the Tumon strip.

Here's some photos of the views from my balconies (yes, there 2!)

I hope you found this post helpful. Thanks for viewing and best wishes!

All the photos (unless otherwise noted in the post) were taken by me and are available for sale. If you're interested in buying an image or three, 😃 please don't hesitate to contact me for more details.

Consider following me for updates to find not only my other (usually travel) bloopers, blunders and shenanigans but also photography related news/reviews and the occasional contest entry. I might even post a rant or two when I just can't help myself, haha.

PS. If you want to check out my other 'works', you can find them here:

Let's hear about *YOUR* travel adventures. Click the banner to join me on Travel Feed ! Click here to read some awesome content on the TravelFeed platform

View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

That ain't bad and getting quarantine with such sights is welcoming :) Love those sights from the balcony and out the windows.

Hi ifarmgirl, thanks for stopping by and for the support. Yes it was awesome, I feel fortunate to have experienced it. Best wishes to you and yours!

It's a pleasure reading and viewing the photos too :) Cheers!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rayshiuimages.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @rayshiuimages! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you for your support! :-))