Camping at Freycinet - Friendly Beaches and the Most Amazing πŸŒ… Sunrise Spot

in Pinmapple β€’ 2 years ago

One of the things I've learnt about free camping in Australia is that if you want a good spot, you have to arrive by lunchtime. Most people have left for day and are yet to arrive. I usually wake up predawn, so get a lot done before moving to the next spot. This time I'm at Friendly Beaches, just at the gateway to the extraordinarily beautiful Freycinet National Park. More on this later - I'll be returning with Jamie next week to do a big walk here.

The camp spots are great - neat bays surrounded by natural hedges to shelter from the wind. Mine is so big that later I'll invite a couple in from Nova Scotia who don't have anywhere to camp as they arrive late.

IMG20220406175632.jpg

The beaches are beautiful. You do have to share them with birds who nest all along the shore, but hey, there's plenty of space.

IMG20220406152430.jpg

IMG20220406134805.jpg

IMG20220406151820.jpg

In the morning I wake up early, like pre dawn, and make my way toward the end of the Peninsula to watch the sunset from a gorgeous little beach called Sleepy Beach.

IMG20220407064317.jpg

IMG20220407064450.jpg

It's an incredible little spot and there's no one around so I hazard a swim in the creek. It's freezing but invigorating.

IMG20220407065205.jpg

IMG20220407065238.jpg

IMG20220407064929.jpg

I also walk around the lighthouse, but there's enough there for another post. After that I wonder and wander around a few other coves and beaches, agog with the natural beauty, and also find this amazing mushroom, twice as big as my hand!

IMG20220407075904.jpg

IMG20220407075849.jpg

At Coles Bay I think about paddle boarding as the quiet bay where the boats are moored is crystal clean and clear and there's not a drop of wind. There's a post office, supermarket, and a couple of other shops. I go to order a coffee but it's a half hour wait, so decide to head off on the inkling there's surf down the coast - and boy am I right!

IMG20220407064926.jpg

IMG20220407065455.jpg

IMG20220407064254.jpg

Have you been to the Freycinet Peninsula?

I'll be returning there soon to walk to the famous Wineglass Bay. Prepare to be amazed!

image.png
'Have You Been Here' is a travel community on HIVE. You can download their app here and connect with other travellers. You can find where in the world other HIVE bloggers have travelled by exploring the map on your desktop at Pinmapple here too. Drop a pin anywhere on the map to generate a code to add to your blog so that others might find it.

Sort: Β 

Looks wonderful! And your campervan looks really sweet! Enjoy!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city

All this traveling and camping must be doing wonders for you, you look so relaxed and jolly! Enjoy yourself!

Thanks. I feeeel so relaxed and happy, more than I've been for a LONG time.

Those pictures are beautiful ❀️ What are the little stone shelters?

!PIZZA

They are natural rock caves. I imagine they would have made amazing shelters for the Aboriginal people whose land it is!

They look like they were made for living in :) Many generations probably enjoyed them β™₯️

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

Stunning photos. That whitish sand looks like snow! Lovely to see selfies of you! You look happy and full of life :<)

( The beaches are beautiful. ) You do have to share them with birds who nest all along the shore, but hey, there's plenty of space.

I guess the birds have to share them with the people ;<)

Have you seen 'Cold Turkey' out there?

Big, big hug!

Haha I did see some turkeys in a paddock, believe it or not! It might have been his cousin, Freezing Turkey.

Haha!

Freezing Turkey sounds like what you would do with the leftovers of Thanksgiving or Christmas, the day after ;<)

One of the things I've learnt about free camping in Australia is that if you want a good spot, you have to arrive by lunchtime

And...you bloody nailed it! 😊

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Sooooo have been nailing it! Should see our current spot! And as I get up at wallabies fart, I do quite a lot in the morning before we find camp!

A good camping spot is always a moment to rejoice.

Free camping, what a lovely idea! And you do this all by yourself? That's so exciting. 😁

I have, for the last two weeks, but my husband is here now!

Good for you! There was a time when I wanted to travel solo but it seems life is catching up to me (or maybe I'm the one always catching up πŸ˜…). I might just schedule my next solo trip. Thanks for the inspiration!

What's up with those hollowed out boulders? They look like nature made them precisely to be shaped like a cave, or something. Or was it really nature? Who made them and for what purpose? Is it a conspiracy? If not could it be turned into one? It certainly has some potential!
Otherwise awesome pics, as always! You manage to find some incredible places!

I should have said more in the post! They are naturally weathered, but I imagine would have made a good shelter for the Aboriginal people who were here before the Europeans slaughtered them all. Especially with the creek as a water source too

Oh yes I'm good at hunting down the magic spots, using my wits and nouse, nose and instinct!

Loving this trip so much.

Wow, this bed in the car looks cozy! Cool. The photos are incredible! I would like the same.

Just lovely, your post and the images...But not as lovely as living it personally I would imagine. May I admit to being jealous? πŸ™ƒ

Love the mix between sun, snow, waves, and literally, everything nature can offer in all year's seasons. Loved your journey! :)

It looks really great, camping days are the most beautiful and relaxing