Mad Like Us: Cross Country to Tata

in Pinmapple14 days ago

Oh man - don't some drives just make you want to write poetry? This one cut across country from Ait Monsour to the desert highway where we would head north to Tata.

DSC01484.jpg

Impossible to capture the aching desert silence, the sun fading the colour as it moves through the desert dust, transforming the landscape to a vintage polaroid.

DSC01479.jpg

We imagine the ravages of time, the earth shifting, whole lake beds turned on their side, mountains created from the violent folding of the earth.

DSC01498.jpg

Cairns of stones mark a new road perhaps, concrete pipes, tractors, a gold mine. A donkey wonders at his lot but fails to move to the sole tree to his left.

DSC01497.jpg

Time slaps the split screen of the Series as she remembers what her kind have been doing for 50 years, rattling on dusty desolate roads. I have Going to California by Led Zeppelin as a soundtrack in my head.

DSC01466.jpg

We don't see a single human soul and even the desert animals must be sheltering in the shade of occasional date palms or the small caves in the side of dried out creek beds.

We are getting hot. Very hot. In fact by the afternoon I will have heatstroke, but that's for another post.

If we broke down here we would be here for hours or days. This is a whole lot of nothing. We choke on dust and heat.

No, there's nothing for tourists here, unless you are mad like us.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Sort:  

Such beautiful and dramatic scenery! Stark yet Beautiful!

Starkness has its own beauty doesn't it?

Uniquely so. You captured it so well though ❤️

so the desert really exists huh? must be stunning to witness yourself. i never have

It truly is. We won't get to proper dunes this trip as it's too hot and touristy right now and too hard on the car and me. Next time . And we have been before.

On the contrary, I find there's a lot here for tourists. Or am I crazy like you two? 😉

How do you manage your fuel? Do you have a spare can?

No we get pretty good mileage and if we see a garage we fill up.

This made me getting a flashback from when me and my two friends was on a roadtrip in California and Nevada and drove through Death Valley in the middle of the summer. We had to turn off AC so our car wouldn't break down. But you journey seems a little bit worse since it's nothing there. On our road it was at least SOME cars/tourists and we drove through it with a few stops only.

Hope you guys packed a lot of water, food and fuel.

We have 60 litres of water on board and lots of food so we didn't worry too much. Oh I think Death Valley would be scary.. I have heard so much about it!

Oh man! I think I really want some of that sweet nothing! What an incredible tour you guys are on!

Hi! I am new to Hive, I belong to the "Hive from Zero" group. I love Mother Nature beyond measure and enjoy each of her gifts. I'm preparing a post to make it on Hive Garden, today.
A happy weekend, from Venezuela @yuruanyr23

Ok cool but what's that got to do with my post!?

Here is a picture I recently made during a visit to Tata (Hungary) :)
tata hungary.jpg

Ah I did think there was a Tata in Hungary!