Stunning Winter Cold Lake Walk - Including Finding Playtpuses

in Worldmappinlast year

Lake Elizabeth is one of those places around here that most people I know haven't walked around. It always boggles me. I guess it's because it doesn't have a waterfall. Still, it's only 45 minutes from here so it's often our bushwalk of choice - it's about 4 km around so not too far, and is really beautiful - AND you get to see playtpuses! Platypuses here are notoriously shy, so you can't rush up to the lake screaming 'IS THAT A PLATPUS?' as they'll likely pretend to be a duck.

But first things first. Let's start with the walk to the lake, which sends a lot of people back, as it's quite uphill. Not for toddlers. There's a lot of treeferns and views through the bush. Just stunning.

And of course, the trickle of a stream, and a lot of mushrooms, teeny ones, too teeny sometimes to photograph. Late Autumn is even when the layperson gets excited over mushrooms, because they are everywhere, like a freaking fairyland. Ruby bonnets wiggle, tremellas tremble, and occasionally, if you are lucky, you might stumble across a beautiful clitocybe nuda, call him Marvin, and take him for a walk around the lake before bringing him home for dinner.

Sadly the tremella was a little old so I didn't bring him home for soup. I did find some friends for Marvin when I got home though, jumping the fence into the reserve next door and electrifying myself in teh process as I didn't realise the cows were in and the fence was switched on. Ooops.

After twenty minutes or so you arrive at the lake itself. The lake was formed due to a landslide, so some of the trees in the middle stand like gravestones to a lost forest. There's a small jetty and some canoes. You can paddle board here if you are willing to carry your board uphill, which has never seemed tempting to me.

If you stop here for a moment and look, you'll see bubbles in the water that are absolutely platypus. I never believed Jamie until I saw one break the surface, the flash of a tail. Impossible to capture at a distance with a phone, but I'll include it anyway, as proof. Can you see the disturbance in the water? That my friends, is a platypus.

image.png

Continuing along the wet and muddy track, we could see glimpses of the lake through the trees, more mushrooms, and the occasional splash of a duck or a platypus.

Then the track heads through giant bullrushes along a boardwalk to the even muddier, wetter, and more mushroomy side of the lake. There was less people here as most don't walk all the way around. It's a bit of a magic fantasy world with overhanging ferns and the thin track through the giant tree fern trunks.

After we returned back, we drove along a 4wd track home, slipping and sliding and wondering if we'd packed the recovery equipment should we get stuck. We didn't get stuck. We saw a massive wedgetail eagle and many wallabies and kangaroos. It was very cold and there wasn't a single other car on the track.

For dinner we had a egg pasta aglio olio with purple wood blewitt mushrooms - that's just olive oil, pepper, salt, garlic, fried mushrooms, lots of parsley, and some parmesan cheese - and some red wine in front of the fire.

Now that's what I call a perfect day.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

That my friends, is a platypus.

Hehe.... Your personalised friend.
Was a fruitful Wednesday walk for you..... Beautiful pictures 👍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Lake Elizabeth both has the beautiful name and beautiful lake. I can see a lot of plant in here. It is nature, fresh and beautiful.

Wow! Lake Elizabeth looks so beautiful with lots of beautiful mushrooms. In face the vegetation looks admirable with its greenish nature. My my pleasure 😁 and much greetings.

Its a pretty lovely spot!

So peaceful and serene🤗😍

I bet you enjoyed this walk even though it is kind of muddy.

Such a beautiful area

I have bene zapped by an electric fence a few times sure wakes one up LOL

so cool you got to see the platypus even though it was shy

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, its my pleasure to host it and see all the posts each week from all around the world, including yours, if you have time visit some of the other walks this week there are so many interesting ones

Oh man, it gives ya a helluva fright!

You had me at tree ferns lol....I just love them. What a great place to take a walk around. Mushrooms are the stuff of life, both for us and the forest.

There are amazing. And did you know the young curls of the ferns are called croziers and can be used for wounds!? I just learnt that the other day. Fun fact!

No I didn't know that! That's amazing...now I want them even more lol. Thanks for that fun fact!

Really fun trip. You had me at

there wasn't a single other car on the track

We are getting some mushrooms here now. Had some morels yesterday 😋

Oh man you KNOW how jealous I am of morel finds! One day!

Oh, my! A platypus! Sounds like such a cool place to visit, and a good supper after.

The platypus were epic!!! I love a good animal spot!

Does look peaceful and quiet, at first I thought it would be hot and humit, memory muscle as thats how it would be down here but then I notice the beanie and jacket so even better if its cold, I hate when its hot and humid

Oh yeah it was about 4 degrees in morning which is very cold for us.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1875.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: