Wednesday Walk: Mermaids and Such at Marion Bay

in Pinmapple2 years ago

The night before I had a restless night, dreaming of zombies and the end of the world and such. What better antidote to nightmares than walking for hours along a deserted beach on a very autumnal, sunny morning in Tasmania?

IMG20220409091706.jpg

I've been to Marion Bay a number of times over the last ten years but I've never walked along the entire beach. Turns out it's quite the walk - some three hours from the carpark to the other end. It was beautiful enough to persist, however, both shoreline, sky, and the distant views of coastline. What struck me was how alive it all was - though most of the millions of shells were empty, some were full of sea creatures, just waiting to be picked off by birds who soared quite close to me as if curious.

IMG20220409092003.jpg

Out to sea, fishing boats drifted on by to safe harbour in Boomer Bay, the next bay around from here. The end of the beach seemed as if it would never come, and the bones in my feet were hurting, as they have been for a while. I've been doing exercises to sort it out and had to stop every now and then to stretch. But sometimes the best way to fix stuff is jsut to push through.

IMG20220409091046.jpg

There were hundreds of little unicorn horn shells. I don't know where the unicorns were. Perhaps they grew new horns once they grew out of the old ones.

IMG20220409093031.jpg

I found many mermaid bikinis. They come in all shapes and sizes and colours. I kept thinking of mermaids with only one shell on one breast, the other naked, looking around for a match. Yep, I was going delirious.

IMG20220409093107.jpg

There were clusters of oysters that must have broken off and floated from the oyster farm in Boomer Bay, where they sell them. Tassie oysters are some of the biggest and freshest in the world because of the clean waters, or so they say.

IMG_20220409_095822_255.jpg

So many shells had clearly only just lost their creature - honestly there were so many scallop shells as if they were just plucked clean of meat. They were like little sun umbrellas for tiny mermaids to sit and shade themselves.

IMG_20220409_095822_205.jpg

Where there is sealife, sadly, there is also sea death - a seal had washed up on shore and was rotting away. There was no smell, only seaweed and sand, and likely fungi.

IMG20220409115852.jpg

Finally I reached the end, and collapsed in a heap. I really wished I'd brought water and chocolate! I had drunk a big litre that morning so I think that definitely saved me. I lay there enjoying the view and the peace and quiet for some time, stretching out the ache in my back from sleeping funny during my zombie apocalypse nightmare night.

IMG20220409104847.jpg

IMG20220409103618.jpg

IMG20220409104329.jpg

Eventually I got up to walk back but thought I'd just check around the rocks and see what came next. Turns out there was a gorgeous little tiny cove of a beach. There was no access track that I could see and it was surrounded by gum trees. There must have been a fenceline that ran down to the rocks and someone had taken the time to build a kind of sculpture out of the fenceposts and fill it with rocks. The contrast of the bleached wood against the blue sky really appealed to me.

IMG20220409104646.jpg

IMG20220409121104.jpg

IMG20220409104621.jpg

On the way back I had to listen to a podcast to take my mind off my sore feet. I've been listening to Melvin Sheldrake's Entangled Life, about how fungi are basically entangled with everything. Even the seaweed had fungi on it keeping it from drying out. The tree roots on the shore had fungi in them. Everything was in symbiosis with some other kind of life, everything entangled, nothing alone. Here I was entangled with it all. It felt good and right, even though I was also feeling pain.

IMG20220409104820.jpg

IMG20220409105334.jpg

I couldn't believe how beautiful and clear the water was around the rocks where the mussels clung. It was so warm I had to strip clean off, and swim naked like a mermaid in the cool water. Perhaps I'd now dream of mermaids, not zombies.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

Wow that’s a long walk no wonder your legs and feet got sore and tired but a good remedy for nights of Zombies

So much beauty along the way with unicorn horns and mermaid dresses

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I totally get it,I love doing the Garden Journal for this reason. I think I almost have Wednesday walks ready for the rest of the year now ahaha!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, this kind of antidote is a special kind for our worries. Beautiful place

Sure was.. really made me feel so much better.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Lovely beach and water .

Better to dream of mermaids. :)

Zombie dreams are entertaining but awful for the nervous system!

Let's hope you have lots of nice dreams! What a lovely beach walk.

It was stunning, apart from the pain in my foot. Next time sadly shoes

It was so warm I had to strip clean off, and swim naked like a mermaid in the cool water.

Now I'm probably gonna dream of naked mermaids, thank you for that!

Beautiful pictures!

P.S. Did you walk 3 hours x 2? and what podcast did you listen to?

No 1.5 x 2.

Melvin Sheldrake's Entangled Life.

Dreaming of naked mermaids? No problem. Anytime.

This place looks epic! 😎

Seen any Tasmanian devils yet? How fast can they spin?

Looney Toons has given a distorted view of reality, as you can see.

Too bad about the seal, but the cycle of life goes on I guess. A perfect place to ponder the interconnectedness of all things.

Indeed, especially as I was listening to a podcast about mycellial networks! Devils are hard to spot and endangered too. I haven't seen one but my husband did.

One of the best wednesday walks I've seen. You're a lucky. I think most people should take a vacation, plan a trip and luck should accompany them to be able to walk through such places with peace of mind (worried about your legs).

Strangely enough, even a dead seal does not spoil the beauty of these places, on the contrary, it complements, it is difficult to explain.

It was so warm I had to strip clean off, and swim naked like a mermaid in the cool water

Wait a second, you didn't even use those bikini shells? :)

Really stunning! I love empty beaches. That's heaven for me!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1529.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: