When in Burnham Park

in Pinmapple4 months ago

A Fun Morning at Burnham Park_20240124_212159_0000.png

Today was an eventful day. I woke up early at around 5am shivering from the cold. That's even with three blankets already wrapped around me. It's nicer though than waking up all sweaty from the heat in Manila. After we had our coffee, we started our city touring. There were lots of places in the itinerary I planned but we ended up spending the entire morning in Burnham Park.

This park was named after Daniel Hidson Burnham, an american architect who designed the land use pattern concentrating on the park itself. There are various activities that park goers can do. As a matter of fact, for the short time that we were there, we were able to do 4 different things and we had a light breakfast at one of the food stalls inside the park.

The first thing that we did is ride the Swan Boats. There are lots of different boats you can choose from. We wanted the swan boat itself, but even that, you can choose from a pedal boat or a paddle boat. My husband chose paddle boat, which I was thankful for because my legs are still sore from the running I did last Monday, plus that impromptu mini hike we did yesterday. Here, we experienced using the paddleboards. I can say first hand that it was not easy. Plus the water was really dirty, if you don't want dirty water splashing all over you, stay away from the Swan boats. We didn't mind so we paddled our way through the morning. The Swan boat ride costs Php200.

20240124_105924.jpg20240124_105950.jpg20240124_110205.jpg

When we got off the boats, the little kiddo wanted to wear those Igorot costumes and have her photo taken. I'm surprised these traditional photographers are still in business, what with smart camera phones, their market must have been really low. It's not that expensive, actually. At Php75 per photo, you can have your photo taken while you wear the traditional cloting of the Igorots. I was wearing my crochet jacket and crochet earrings, and was holding the crochet scarf I made for my daughter. I felt so proud when the ladies at the Igorot costume station praised my handiwork. They even asked if I'm selling my crochet works. It turns out, they too, are crocheters and took a moment to admire my crochet earrings.

After our photos have been taken, it will take some 30 minutes for the photos to bw printed out so while waiting, we decided to rent a bike for the little one. The rental fee for her bike of choice was Php150 per hours. Wr did not finish the entire hour because we had to keep moving already. Our photos were also already available so we went back to take them.

20240124_101056.jpg20240124_101138.jpg20240124_100956.jpg

On the way back, I saw a taho vendor and immediately remembered I wanted to taste the famous strawberry taho. At first I ws skeptic because it might not taste as good as it seemed. But the rumors are true! It was delicious! There were even some strawberry bits in it. A cup of strawberry taho is worth Php50, a bit much if it's just regular taho, but with all those strawberriness I tasted, I would go back for a second cup!

We're not breakfast people and we like to have the first meal of the day at around 1PM but we saw this little food stall near the Swan Boats, the Le' Bloom Cafe. They have a lot of drinks on their menu but what caught our attention was the Strawberry Donut Sandwich. It was only Php100 so we ordered one each. It actualky delivered! It's not too sweet for a donut, I love the cream ajd of course, it has a generous serving of strawberries in between. I even joked "Sa unang kagat, steawberry lahat!" Because your first bite would most definitely be just strawberries. I thought that would be all, but as I dug in, up to my last bite, there's strawberry to enjoy. You might want to give this little cafe a try if you happen to go to Burnham Park.

3_20240124_215524_0000.png4_20240124_215524_0001.png6_20240124_215524_0003.png
7_20240124_215524_0004.png8_20240124_215524_0005.png5_20240124_215524_0002.png

Aside from all these activities we enjoyed, there's lots of flowers, and flower beds, and bees all around. My eyes had a feast of natures beauty being well taken care of by the park. There's so many flowers to enjoy. Best of all, there's sunflowers all around. If it were ip to me, I'd stay the whole day in there. But then, this entire tripwas really up to me but I wanted my little one to enjoy more of Baguio and La Trinidad so we had to leave. I'll tell you more about our vacation tomorrow! For now, toodaloo!

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Wow nagBaguio!! Enjoy your vacay marse! pasabuy po strawberry at gulay hahahha

Marse, napakamura ng lettuce dito! Namakyaw ako. Bultuhan. Hahahaha. Ang bulilit naman ay natuwang mamitas ng strawberry. At naghahanap na rin sya ng titirhan nya kasi mag aaral daw sya sa UP Baguio pag college nya. Hahaha

Hello dear friend @romeskie good afternoon
You are a morning person, you get up very early. How cold? Seriously, have you put three blankets on? It's true, the cold is much better than being sweaty in the summer.

What a beautiful park, so much fun, without a doubt they had a great time. I love it, the spawn tao looks delicious

What beautiful shots, the flowers are really beautiful. Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful visit experience.

Thanks! It was 15°C that time. I usually just set our A/C at home at 21°C. Haha

Yes, it was so much fun. The kiddo would love to go back again. I think I will too.

Greetings @romeskie, what a great ride the park has spaces intended for family fun and recreation, the flowers are beautiful, the boat ride must have been a lot of fun even though they got a little wet.

Happy day!

Yeah it was so much fun! I love the boat ride the most in here. And of course the flowers. I am amazed at how much bees are here.

I’ve never been on a boat or even a swan boat
I’m sure it it was fun for you
It is obvious that you enjoyed yourselves
Nice one!

I used to not like riding boats when I didn't know how to swim yet. I still don't know how to swim that much, just enough to make me survive until rescue arrives. Haha.

Yeah, we had so much fun! :)

Must go to such a place and kids love both especially when there is boarding like this and all the other special things we get to see and there are also swings so kids enjoy it a lot. A few days ago I had also visited the same beautiful place and enjoyed it very much.

Good for you! :) My kid was a little bit scared of the wter but she did have a lot of fun.

Thats so good.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2129.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hey Kim!! Thank you!!! :)