Hello Kyoto

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

It's been 20 years since I was last in Kyoto. Both previous times I was here I was on tour with DJ's Klute and then Dieselboy. It definitely feels like a long time ago and many of my memories from those days have faded so when I arrived here yesterday nothing seemed familiar. In fact, my image of Kyoto was totally different than what I experienced yesterday.

I remembered the station building being more open, actually I remembered Kyoto as being a smaller, city with less 10 story buildings. Quite the opposite of what it actually is.

Kyoto is actually a big city. It's very dense and full of mid-rises, about 10 story high buildings, with temples mixed in. One of those temples is called Higashi Honganji

Higashi Honganji is an impressive temple with large buildings. These buildings will immediately grab your attention if you are anywhere nearby.

The complex is the main temple for the Shinshū Ōtani-ha buddhist sect.

The grounds date back to at least 1200 A.D. when the founder of Shinshū Ōtani-ha died and his ashes were entombed there.

The complex is pretty large and would require a few hours to explore, but I was on the way to my event so I had to continue on. As I continued on there were a few other cool looking gates to take pictures of.

As I mentioned, much of the city is dense and this is what you will see off of any main thoroughfare.

Not really the image of beautiful, traditional Kyoto I had memories of.

The view from my room.

Like most big cities there are living quarters and lively quarters. I found this out later in the evening when I went out for dinner.

The main street my hotel and my event is on is called Shijo Dori.

Shijo dori has all the high end shopping like Louis Vitton, Burberry, etc. but the side streets are where the cooler, boutique places are found.

For example this fragrance shop, Sabon.

This clothing store exudes cool.

This stylish donut shop, Koe, is on my list to go back to. Any donut shop that commands this level of design has to produce delicious donuts.

There is no shortage of places to shop at or eat at on or around Shijo dori so if you visit Kyoto this may be one of the places you'd want wander around.

Today I am hoping to be able to visit a temple or maybe Gion after work. Whatever I end up doing I'll post about it here on HIVE. Until then, thanks for reading and wish me luck at our event!

Sort:  

Aahh~ I miss Kyoto! When I lived in Osaka, it's just less than an hour to get there so I kept going there on my bored days. Now, it's too far from where I live. 😐
The Higashi Honganji is impressive! I haven't been there so this is really new to me.

Kyoto is a big city and I've been surprised by it as I walk around and explore. I discovered the entertainment district last night. It totally changed my impression of Kyoto. Was there a place you liked to visit specifically here? I'm going to have 1 day in Osaka this coming week before heading to Kobe. I've heard good things about Kobe. Have you been there?

I like going to Kiyomizudera. It's like one of my favorite places. I always stop by Gion too whenever I go to Kyoto. Haven't seen the entertainment district at night! I have always wanted to. I’m so envious! It’s still cultural though, right?

Ohh enjoy Osaka! I think you’ll just enjoy the food there in Osaka though. 😂

Kobe.. hmm, I’ve been there for weird reasons, including food 😅 The harbor is the famous part of Kobe. Rokkosan, I think is popular but not in Kobe..? Just near.

I want to go back and live in Kansai again. There’s a lot to see but haven’t been there.

I really wish that I was able to visit Kyoto during my time in Japan. But it was too far from my place.

Thank you for your online trip, I know how is Kyoto.

The world isn't over yet so you may be able to visit sometime in the future. Until then, I'll show you some more places over the next few days.

Yes I hope that it can come true, I can visit Japan again next time even though the chance might be a bit slim. It is so costly to go there or abroad actually.
Sending some !PIZZA to you

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1659.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @hafizullah & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!