A walk through the "Seeäcker"

in Pinmapple3 months ago

With my home country Austria, you probably associate high mountains, glaciers, mountain lakes and the Danube river. Maybe you also know famous cities like Vienna or Salzburg.

But this walk is in a completely different region. It is in the Puszta, which is part of the Pannonian Steppe. Most parts of this steppe region are located in Hungary, but there is also a small part in Austria's federal region of Burgenland

St. Martin’s Lodge
St. Martin's Lodge

I started the walk at the St. Martins Lodge, the hotel of the health spa St. Martins Therme. 

Gut St. Martin
Gut St. Martin

From there I walked via the "Gut St. Martin" (a small farm that belongs to the hotel) to the parking.

Then I continued to the railway tracks. As you can see, the land here is almost completely plain.

After a short walk alongside the tracks I turned right.

Seeäcker
Seeäcker

Left of the way I was walking now are the so called "Seeäcker". These are fields around the lake "Zicksee", 

After some time I reached an asphalted road and turned left into it.

Now I had the Seeäcker on my left and the so calle Zickhaidl on my right side.

Zicksee Camping
Zicksee Camping

Finally I reached the campground Zicksee Camping

The Zicksee is a small lake. It dried out in August, 2022. When I visited this region it was still dried out. In early winter 2023, it was tried to fill the lake again. In addition, there has been unexepectedly much rain in the beginning of January 2024. Since the middle of January, the lake is filled again, but with a highest depth of only around 20 centimeters.

At the campsite I turned left and walked straight ahead through the Seeäcker to the railway tracks where I turned left…

and walked back to the hotel.

The whole route has a length of 5.2 kilometers. Since there are practically no ascents or descents you will not need much more than 1 hour.

A detailled description in German language can be found here.

Here's a GPS track


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @schmatz! Your post made the TravelFeed team happy so we have sent you our big smile. Keep up the good job. 😃

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!