Victory Liner's Royal Class: Is it Worth it?

in Pinmapple6 months ago

With Baguio being my hometown, riding the bus has been my common mode of transportation and Victory Liner first comes to mind. It used to average around 8 hours when the expressways weren't constructed yet. Now, bus travel between Cubao and Baguio City takes around 5 hours.

Last October, Victory Liner announced their new offering which they call as Royal Class. It's basically a sleeper bus that caters to those wanted more leg room and comfort.

Prices of the bus rides are of the following (as of November 2023):

Regular Aircon (inner-cities) - Php616.00
Regular Aircon (express) - Php626.00
First Class (express) - Php999.00
Royal Class (express) - Php1,500.00

'Express' basically denotes the passage through the NLEX-SCTEX-TPLEX (expressways) which enables a faster travel. Regardless of which class, make sure to pick express. I booked First Class on my way to Baguio, then Royal Class for my travel back to Metro Manila. This, I've done via online and costs just an additional Php50.00.

I spent my long weekend mostly at home, except for the days we visited our departed ones. No choice but to go back to work. I almost missed my bus because I overslept and woke up at 11am (Thanks Ma!). I had to endure the La Trinidad traffic, not to mention additional time needed to claim my bus ticket (for those who booked online). Good thing there was no queue for the online ticket claims.

Victory Liner Baguio Terminal.  Bus leaves at 12:15nn, I arrived around 12:05!

First order of business upon entering was to find placement for my hand-carried bags. Good thing there is enough space at the back of my seat. I recall I could only do a 135 degree recline, but I'm not sure if it's because I have bags behind. As you can see, there is no overhead cabin, so I guess it's up to the passenger how to utilize the back space.
Hand-carried stuff can be placed behind your seat.  Just be cautious as it will only be covered by your curtain and out of your sight.

I booked my seat at the back and also on the 2nd floor. There were only a few seats available when I booked online. I didn't want the middle lane so I chose the window-seat even though it was at the back. Right behind me was the rest room, which wasn't much of a problem. I think the first floor seats are better.

Definitely gives you capsule hotel feels.  With 3 columns of seats within the bus, I think it's a bit cramp for passing by.

With curtains closed off, not bad for privacy which you wouldn't get in any other bus. It feels a bit cramped though and I'm not even a wide guy. Legroom definitely is very sufficient for long-legged ones.
wide angle shot  (0.5)  There is extra leg room as I'm not tall :)

There is not much headspace and the aircon vents are located right next to my face. Good thing at least they can be totally covered and rotated. But in full blast mode, it's a bit noisy. I initially closed off the vents but being on window-side on a sunny day, one can feel the heat. On some other buses, airconditioning is too cool one tends to bring their own jacket/blanket.

The aircon vents are right on your face.  Good thing it can be rotated so at least you can control its breeze.  It can be noisy though if you prefer opening to full blast

The snacks were a bit meh, as I've encountered these on the earlier 'First Class' buses. I realized they have downgraded the food in First Class, so as to implement the same in Royal Class. I expected a better offering for 'Royal'.

Pastry from Banapple (empanada) and a bottled water.  This used to be the snacks offered in First Class.  But they've downgraded it into some biscuit/bread now that they offer this in Royal Class.  I think they could have offered something better.

Verdict:

Royal Class bus definitely gives you a very comfortable journey. I didn't feel tired or sleepy during and after the trip. I wasn't sleepy during the travel anyway, probably as I've already overslept prior.

Considering the pricing and the added features, I'd say paying Php1500 is a bit on the steep side. I would recommend 'Royal Class' to those craving for much legroom and to those who would need to really lie down to sleep. Other than that, I think the 'First Class' offering is sufficient for the much needed comfortable ride. While this is quite a good offering for travelers to Baguio, I don't think this would change my travel habit as of yet. What I usually do is take the night bus Regular Aircon (express) since I'll be sleeping again at home upon arrival anyway. But when going back to Metro Manila (work), I opt for the more comfortable ride, which First Class can achieve.

Will I take Royal Class again? Maybe if I just feel like being fancy.

Sort:  

I haven't tried taking a bus going to Baguio but this one's pretty good for those who want to rest and get some sleep on the way. The placement of the air conditioner bothers me 😅

For the experienced travelers, the regular aircon bus is not that bad. Usual complaint on those buses though is the strong centralized airconditioning (too cold) haha.

Wow, that's definitely something "royal" but not too "royal". 😅
I'm pretty sure I won't fit in there! 😂
But the express sure is nice. I've only been to Baguio once, many years ago and it was a very long ride from Manila. Now, at least there's this fast option. Wish it was more faster though.

I once had the night bus from Tokyo to Osaka and if I recall correctly, I chose a similar 'First Class' (not royal) seat. It's still a reclinable and comfortable chair. So yeah, it's not necessary to book 'Royal' going to Baguio. :)

Private cars can go like 4 hours fastest route to/fro assuming no traffic and traversing through a different route.

4hrs by car is still long.. and only if you get lucky not running into traffic. The bus is probably the only choice, so might get a comfortable seat since it takes time.

Congratulations @scion02b! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

Went to baguio in 2018. Bus was packed and some foreigners even slept on the aisle. Such a great place. Hope to visit the City of Pines again. !PGM

Bus is the way to go! Genesis transport's first class is another option I'll try next time.

Im gona have to try this great to see improvements