The Land of Fire and Ice: Part 2: The Golden Circle and Seljalandsfoss!

in Pinmapplelast year

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



Hello and welcome back!

Today we'll pick up where we left off in the last post, beginning the route known as the Golden Circle.

The Golden Circle is usually a loop North of Reykjavik, and then looping back, though we wouldn't be looping. We also missed/excluded a few of the normal stops.

Our first stop at Geysir, which I spelled incorrectly in the last post, was short but amazing. After that, we were on our way to the next stop, Gullfoss. But, on the way we saw some Icelandic horses we could get up close to, so we made a stop, and it was worth it!

After spending a little bit of time with these amazing creatures, and after we noticed a tour bus was heading our way, we got back in the van and hit the road to Gullfoss, or as translated, the Golden Falls!

After a bit of driving, we made it there, and it was more crowded than I had thought it would be, but these are the most touristy spots as I found out.

We parked, and then headed down the small trail towards the falls, and wow, was it impressive!

As you head down the trail to the platform, you also get this amazing side view of the falls, and really can get the sense of power and force of this amount of water!

I went out to the platform and wasn't too inspired by the view, I got just one shot of the falls from there.

After that we were going to head to a crater on the route as well, but with time and everything, we ended up heading straight to Seljalandsfoss!

Seljalandsfoss is one of the famous waterfalls of Iceland, mainly because you can walk behind it! This would be the first test of my waterproof jacket and other gear. It would also be my first encounter with trying to photograph in wet/misty conditions, which was a much bigger challenge than I anticipated.

We headed over towards the falls to get our first up close view.

At this point I could already feel the mist and see what an issue it would be to my photography. But none the less, we marched on to the side view of the falls.

And then entered the back sides of the falls!

I did get quite wet, but not as bad as I thought it would be, and the views and experience were epic!

Well, that is where we will end the post for today! Hope you enjoyed! Stay on the lookout for the next installment where we'll finish my first day, and probably see my first night as well, and you won't want to miss it!

What were you favorite photos? The horses or waterfalls?

And thanks for the amazing response and engagement to my previous post, it's always amazing to see how awesome this community is!

And in the meantime, you can see more of my work on Instagram, @SeanGoldPhotos or my website at www.SeanGold.com

Thanks for reading/viewing! See you on the next one!

-Sean  


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Its all a great vibe. I see you enjoying it a lot.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow this is very magnificent! Iceland is one of my dreams and have you ever been to Northern lights? It's one of the reasons why I would like to go to Iceland one day!

Congratulations @seangold! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 3
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!