Traveling Japan: Day 2: Visiting Sensō-ji

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hello Hiveians and welcome back!

Today we're going to jump back in time a bit to resume a previous series that I never finished, let alone barely started. You can see the 2 previous posts here to catch up if you'd like: 

Post 1:https://hive.blog/hive-184437/@seangold/traveling-japan-20-hours-to-tokyo-part-1

Post 2: https://hive.blog/hive-184437/@seangold/traveling-japan-arriving-in-tokyo-seeing-a-real-gundam-and-shinjuku-at-night-part-2

So with that out of the way, let's jump back to 2020, just before the covid-19 Pandemic truly changed our world, and my last international adventure.

I would wake up about an hour before sunrise in my capsule hostel. And I must add, I'm already enjoying this capsule style of hostel. I have a lot more privacy and comfort compared to a traditional shared dorm, but still only paying 17$ a night for a place right near the heart of Tokyo!

I pull open the curtain to my capsule and head to the washroom to get ready for the day. The plan is to begin by photographing the famous and iconic Buddhist temple, Sensō-ji at sunrise.

I head to the elevator, and out through the empty lobby to make my way to the train station right next door. But first, I would discover my first experience with Japanese vending machines. Don't need to go to a store and they're also very reasonably priced, how awesome!

After I grabbed my morning drink, I jump into the subway to catch my train to the temple.

The subway stations are amazing. They're clean, convenient, and safe. Where I live in Boston, we still have open tracks that you can, and people do, fall onto the tracks and either get injured or even die. But not here, with gates to prevent that. While waiting for the train, I decided to try another vending machine, this time it was an ice cream machine, and even though it was in the station, it was still probably cheaper than buying one at a store. But I had to eat it quick, as you're not really supposed to eat on the trains I believe.

After 20 or so minutes on the train, I got off at the closest stop to the temple and began my walk just as the sun started to rise.

After a little bit of a walk through some interesting areas and neighborhoods, I had arrived at Senso Ji, and it was beautiful! With the early morning light, and despite being in Tokyo, it was very quiet and peaceful.

After shooting a bit from where I entered the area, I began to explore a bit more of the Temple grounds and I came across the tower, which wasn't hard to find by any means.

It was beautiful and intricate! The level of detail and craftsmanship is incredible! After photographing it a bit from where I was, I decided I had to get up close to it, and was it ever even more impressive!

Just awe inspiringly beautiful, especially with the morning light! After admiring it for a bit, I headed back to the other area of the temple to explore and photograph more.

I found so many interesting compositions and angles to shoot here, it was amazing. And I couldn't get enough of the reds everywhere, just beautiful!

After that, I headed around to some of the smaller buildings of the compound looking for more compositions and to explore.

From there I found another area with about 20 vending machines, so I of course explored all their options, decided to grab a cold drink and take everything in for a few minutes. But only a few minutes, because I had a very busy day and time was passing by. It was time to get moving to my next location, but first I had to have a few more glimpses of the tower.

And that's it for this installment, I hope you enjoyed! What did you think? Have you ever been here? What were your favorite photos? Let me know, and be sure to check in next time as we head off from Senso Ji towards Akihabara, which is famous for everything about anime and video games!

And in the meantime, don't forget to follow along with me on www.Instagram.com/SeanGoldPhotos or check out www.SeanGold.com for more of my work! Thanks!

Until next time,

Sean


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Great post, congratulations. The photos are quite unique and your story around them takes me back to Japan.
First I thought that I’ve never been to this Senso ji shrine, but after I saw the photos I saw that is actually the Asakusa jinja. Well, they are separate buildings as I see on the maps, but they are in the same exact place. I wish that I would be able to visit Japan one time again, soon! Thanks for taking me back there!

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed! And interesting, I wasn't aware they were separate shrines, I thought they were both part of the same. And I feel the same, I was lucky to be able to go there just before covid really hit, but my time there just wasn't enough. Hopefully things get better enough soon!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @seangold! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @seangold! You received a sweet smile from TravelFeed. We love your work so keep up the good job. 😊

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1537.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: