Share Our World: 9/11 Memorial in NYC

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

I have been to New York City many times and this time (October 2021) was the first time I went to the 9/11 memorial. It is very moving and I am so glad we went.

I was so impressed with the shear size of the footprint of the building and the waterfall.

Waterfall

The waterfall is the largest man made waterfall in the United States and makes so much noise that it mutes the noise of the city. It was really interesting to feel like you were in a memorial yet there were no gates or walls surrounding it.

Reflecting Absence

Reflecting Absence is the name of the memorials designed by architect Michael Arad and landscape architect Peter Walker. There are two 1 acre (4,000 m2) pools where the north and south towers once stood. I really did feel the absence of the towers and the lose of life. It is a very thought provoking memorial.

Memorial Plaques

As you walk up to the memorials you see names written on plaques surrounding the pools.

I have learned that the names are for all the victims of the 9/11 attacks and the 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center

North Tower
Employees and visitors in the North Tower (WTC 1)
Passengers and crew of American Airlines Flight 11 (which struck the North Tower)
Employees and a visitor of the 1993 World Trade Center bombing

South Tower
Employees and visitors in the South Tower (WTC 2)
Passengers and crew of United Airlines Flight 175 (which struck the South Tower)
Employees, visitors, and bystanders in the immediate vicinity of the North and South Towers
First responders who died during rescue operations
Passengers and crew of United Airlines Flight 93 (which crashed near Shanksville, Pennsylvania) American Airlines Passengers and crew Flight 77 (which struck the Pentagon)
Employees at the Pentagon

It is sobering to see all these names (2,983) and know that they are a beloved parent, child, friend etc. And that even those who didn't personally know anyone still come, cause we were all affected by what happened that day 20 years ago.

My Experience

I wasn't blogging 20 years ago. So I want to take this opportunity to share my experience of September 11, 2001.

Let's start with August 2001. I had just returned to the United States after living and teaching in Taiwan. My sister and I took a two week road trip across the United States (Oregon-DC). It was a great trip. My sister stayed for a few days then flew home. I had housing in DC and that was it. I needed to find a job. I was enjoying the city and my roommates and had some savings so I was casually looking for work. In September I started working for a temp agency and had random jobs. I was living with some great women in a high rise apartment building in Pentagon City.

On September 11, 2001 I went to a temp job at a dentist office. I remember a patient coming in and saying something had happened and we should watch the news. I was amazed. It seemed like something from a movie. How could a plane really fly into a 110 story building? The scenes were terrible and courageous at the same time. We saw the worst of humankind and the best.

I don't remember how I got home that day. I lived so close to the Pentagon I didn't know if I could get home. For days after the attack it was very difficult to get to and from my house because of the proximity to the Pentagon I eventually stopped working at that dentist office. Understandably, following the attacks employers were not hiring. I am grateful for the savings I had, the generosity of those who saw my need and being able to substitute for grade school classes. The schools stayed open and that was my only source of income till I found a permeant job 7 months later in April 2002.

Here is a picture of my and my roommates and friends at a candlelight vigil following the attacks.

It was quite an experience so close to the Pentagon that I was able see the smoke from my apartment. I also remember how we all felt so united as a country.

Sources:
National September 11 Memorial & Museum

Personal 30 Day Challenge- Day 14

Share Our World Series

2021

Ohio
Share Our World: The Queen City
Share Our World: Ohio River walk
Share Our World: Cincinnati Conservatory
Share Our World: Cincinnati Art Museum

Wyoming
Share Our World: String Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Jenny Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Discovery Trail at Jenny Lake
Share Our World: Hidden Falls and Inspiration point Hikes
Share Our World: Camping in the Tetons
Share Our World: Teton Loop

Utah
Share Our World: Capitol Reef National Park Overview
Share Our World: Fluted Wall, Capitol Reef NP
Share Our World: Fruita School Capital Reef NP
Share Our World: Grand Wash Hike-- with rating
Share Our World: Sunset drive in Capitol Reef
Share Our World: Capitol Reef Scenic Drive
Share Our World: Wild Horse Slot Canyon Hike

Other
Share Our World: Sabino Canyon
Share Our World: Agave Garden
Share Our World: Saguaro National Park
Share Our World: Arizona- Sonora Desert Museum
Share Our World: Cactus Garden
Share Our World: The White Dove of the Desert
Share Our World: Mayo Clinic Nature Trail
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix, Arizona
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in 1.4

All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

Wow,
Your post really managed to move me, I've been wanting to get here for a long time, but due to formalities and too much expense I haven't yet, but I won't give up until I get to see this monument for myself.
Cheers.

Thank you @triplug I am so glad. It will be a great day when you are able to go.

The last and only time I've been to New York was when the Twin Towers were still standing, I still got a photo of myself with them. I'd love to go back again as so much has changed in these two decades, almost as if it's two different worlds. I mean unless you're flying first or business class nowadays, who remembers the last time you used proper cutlery on flights.

I also remember how we all felt so united as a country.

It's kinda sad that you need a tragedy to unite people, but I guess that's human nature, people don't appreciate what they've lost until they lose it.

Thanks for sharing your 911 experience sara

Hi Pauline. Thanks for your comment. When you come to New York you have to let me know. I am always up for a visit and it would be so fun to meet you.

That's a super impressive monument. I didn't realize it was that big. I'm sure it was a very moving experience. The waterfall is a nice touch. It must be a ton of water flowing to block the sound of the city

Yes, and I was thinking about it after I made the post. The falling water was really moving and symbolic of the towers falling and us watching that happen. I really like the symbolism and how the void is like the void in our life without all those people and those buildings which were so iconic on the New York skyline.

Oh that's interesting. Good point. I wouldn't have thought of it myself if you hadn't pointed it out. Great symbolism for sure in the piece.

It's so cool to come back to visit a place which you were there long time ago @sjarvie5
Things must change a lot, either people.

Hi Do Do, yes it is interesting to see the change.

mi biggest dream is meet NY🤍

Hi @candeladp I hope you get to go to NYC and welcome to Hive.

Impressive

What a sight to behold

There are mind blowing architectural design in New York

Hi @vickoly It is true there is so much great architecture in New York City. In a future post I am going to be showing a lot of great architecture as we did a bus tour around the city.

That's sounds interesting.

I'll be anticipating it.

I fell in love with these photos!!

Beautiful place, sad history.

Last time I visited NY I didn't went there, but seeing your pictures I regret now a little bit. Beautiful indeed. Thanks for sharing it.

Great post

Hi @vaipraonde Thanks for your comment. Now you get to visit it next time you are in NYC.

Sure I will 🤗

I would love to visit there one day. I still haven’t ever made it up to New York before.

I do hope you make it. It is a such a great city!

untitled.gif

Totally and so is FRIENDS!

Friends is one of my favorite shows. Aged well. Still watching it a lot

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1413.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!