Share Our World: Chapel of the Holy Cross

in Pinmapple11 months ago

The first time I saw The Chapel of the Holy Cross was in 2019 when @jarvie went to Sedona after a snow storm. It was gorgeous then.

It was gorgeous in April too.

It is set high up on the mountain and has a great view of Sedona

and the surrounding mountains

The Church of the Holy Cross has an interesting history. It was the idea of Marguerite Brunswig Staude. In 1932 she was inspired by the newly completed (1931) Empire State Building.

She first asked Lloyd Wright, son of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, to help her design the church in Hungry. When WWII broke out, the plans stopped and later Marguruite decided to build the church in her native Arizona and hired Richard Hein as the architect. The chapel was completed in 1956.

The Church of the Holy Cross is a small Roman Catholic church. There is a striking crucifix right at the windows.

It is quite a hike to the church depending on where you park. They did have shuttles for those that needed or wanted it. My suggestion would be to drive to the top and see if there is parking. We took the first one we found and there were many closer spots, unless of course you want some exercise too!

Visitors are welcome and this church is a top tourist attraction in Sedona so be prepared to see many other people from all over the world visiting the church with you.

Sources:
History of Chapel of the Holy Cross
Chapel of the Holy Cross

Share Our World Series

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

It was very crazy for me to see such an arid landscape full of snow haha the church is very beautiful too!

Yes, we were so excited there was such a good snow storm in the desert!

I bet it was much more impressive to see in real life

Wow such a beautiful sight to behold😃

Yes, great architecture in a great landscape.

It sure is

Thanks for sharing 😃

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

So cooooool 😊, thnk you for sharing

HI @aurzeq Thanks for your comment.

How many people can pray in this church at one time? How big is the prayer hall in it? From the outside view, it looks like it only has just the cross structure.

According the the wikipedia I linked it says

The chapel seats up to 150 people. The confessional, office, two sacristies, and services are located in the basement of the building.

It was quite small and intimate.

Is this in a desert or something? Why does the church have to be so far too?

Yes, the church is in the desert. I am not sure what you mean by so far?

If it’s in a desert, I’m assuming it’s far from where people actually live, or do people live close to the church? Is there a settlement there?

Oh yes, it is very close to a big city. Sedona, Arizona.

Oh that’s great! I was worried about the distance!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1886.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

looks like a very old place to me, it surely has some historical background. Snowstorm in the desert? that's something new for me. It's unbelievable. but I have to believe it after watching the pictures in your post. that's a wonder I think.

It's beautiful 😍

I guess if I visit Sedona I'll remember I won't be the only tourist... Smiles... Had a nice feeling to it.

Thank you for sharing ma'am

I myself was very keen to see snowfall this year but due to some constraints I could not go inside these areas but within the coming year I will definitely go with my friends and have a lot of fun. Seeing such places, one's heart becomes very happy and one forgets the problems of one's life.