Share Our World: Cincinnati Conservatory

in Pinmapple2 years ago

In October I was in Cincinnati for work. I enjoyed exploring the city.

Conservatories, greenhouses, and botanical gardens are some of my favorite places to visit when I go to a new city. Here is a look at the Krohn Conservatory in Cincinnati, Ohio.

What is a conservatory?

a greenhouse for growing or displaying plants

Krohn Conservatory

Krohn Conservatory was opened in 1933 on the land that belonged to Nicholas Longworth. He called it his Garden of Eden. I will highlighting 5 houses and the outside gardens.

Here is a shot of the land as I was walking up to the main building. Gorgeous!

Bonsai Gallery

Although I do like the look of Bonsai plants I didn't spend too much time in this room.

Orchid House

The orchid house is one of my favorites in any conservatory/ botanical garden. The beautiful color and lines make them beautiful subjects for pictures!

Desert House

Next was the Desert house, a place that I was very familiar with being from Arizona. The cool thing about greenhouses is that they can control the amount of moisture. Plants in this house usually receive less than 10 inches of rain a year. Cincinnati usually gets closer to 44 inches a year.

Carnivorous plants

Close to the Orchid house kinda off to the side were some very interesting carnivorous plants.


Palm House

The palm house is the first house that you come to when entering the building. It has lots of green tropical plants and a waterfall. It is recreating a rain forest and has a precipitation of 160 inches which is much, much more than Cincinnati's 44 inches a year.


Fern house

The Fern house was my favorite. I was immediately struck by the beauty of the plants and how they are arranged as I entered the room. Then upon closer investigation I found so many interesting plants that made the whole room a treasure.


Outside gardens

The outside gardens were very beautiful too.

I also met a couple that were from Cincinnati and told me if I went up some stairs by the parking lot I would be able to look out over the river to Kentucky.

These flowers were by the parking at the overlook. Thank you bee for posing for me.

As I was waiting for my Uber to take me back to the conference I took these pictures

What a beautiful place! I highly suggest going if you are in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Sources:
Conservatory Definition
Kohn Conservatory

Share Our World Series
2021

Wyoming
Share Our World: String Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Jenny Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Discovery Trail at Jenny Lake
Share Our World: Hidden Falls and Inspiration point Hikes
Share Our World: Camping in the Tetons
Share Our World: Teton Loop

Utah
Share Our World: Capitol Reef National Park Overview
Share Our World: Fluted Wall, Capitol Reef NP
Share Our World: Fruita School Capital Reef NP
Share Our World: Grand Wash Hike-- with rating
Share Our World: Sunset drive in Capitol Reef
Share Our World: Capitol Reef Scenic Drive
Share Our World: Wild Horse Slot Canyon Hike

Other
Share Our World: Sabino Canyon
Share Our World: Agave Garden
Share Our World: Saguaro National Park
Share Our World: Arizona- Sonora Desert Museum
Share Our World: Cactus Garden
Share Our World: The White Dove of the Desert
Share Our World: Mayo Clinic Nature Trail
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix, Arizona
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in 1.4

All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

Amazing pictures @sjarvie5 and what a beautiful place to visit! 😍😍😍

Thanks @daotam. I love being surrounded by plants!

I love all those orchids! Some of my very favorite flowers.

Thanks. Me too they are so stunning!

They are! And I love the variety.

It is a beautiful place. We visit often.
!LUV

That is very cool that you are from Ohio. I am going to do posts on the Cincinnati Art Museum and the Taft Museum of Art. They were wonderful too.

What a gorgeous display of colors! Your pictures are very well taken, I liked this post! The bonsai trees...fascinating, I would love an entire post only about those lol

Thanks Mary! Bonsai plants are cool.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1380.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay thanks @livinguktaiwan. So good to see you.

Beautiful place, the plants are wonderful and this greenhouse is so cute with those colors. Great photos ❤️.

Thanks so much Laura.

Amazing pictures Sara and what a beautiful place to visit! I love the jungle area with the waterfall, so awesome to see that in a conservatory. But also love the orchids and bonsai trees, really hard to decide what would be the favourite part. Thanks for sharing :)

Hi Kat, thanks for your comment. It was so great moving from place to place seeing all the unique plants.

Wow absolutely beautiful, what a nice place to visit with great and amazing pictures.
i do believe it was indeed an awesome experience

Thanks it was great.

Such a nice place! And you took beautiful pictures. 😊

Thanks so much @lapetra

That's a beautiful conservatory Sara, I can't decide which is my favourite area, but I really like that image of the white plant inside the desert house. Any idea what that plant is called?

It's great that you spoke to that couple, that's why I say it's always worth listening to the locals as you get the best tips when you travel!!

Yes, the big one that looks white with black tips is an agave. Agave's are my favorite desert plant. There are so many shapes, sized and colors of agave. They are awesome.

I am so glad I was friendly and started talking to them. I wouldn't have known about the cool view up there.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @sjarvie5! You received a personal badge!

HiveFest VI Attendeee

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest