Share Our World: Museum of the Bible

in Pinmapplelast month

I have been to DC many times and during my last trip I went to the Museum of the Bible for the first time. It was recommended by a co-worker.

Stained Glass

I enjoyed the stained glass.

Especially the Easter Morning by Luis Comfort Tiffany made in 1905 for the Church of the Epiphany in Orange, New Jersey.


Books

There were a lot of books, which makes sense it is the Museum of the Bible. After taking my medieval art history class and learning about illuminated manuscripts it was more interesting to look at the books.

Word Made Flesh, 2002Psalter, 1800sA Carolingian Bible, 1050-1100

They also had areas where you could walk through "old times" this area and some others in the museum left me feeling a bit uncomfortable so I didn't stay too long.

They did have a theater where they were playing episodes of The Chosen, which is cool especially if you know @jarvie and that he is a photographer for The Chosen.

If you are in DC and interested in the museum it is a short walk from the mall.

Share Our World Series

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

Wow, Museum of the Bible, it sounds so interesting, Sarah. I'm happy to be back with your museum series. And the one today is interesting. I'm sure we might take a lot of time there.

Hi Do Do. Yay, so glad you enjoy the museums. I was going to ask about purchasing one of your recent drone tree pictures. I have been buying art from Hive people and would love to have your photography in my collection.

This museum looks like it has witnessed a lot of history. So many things related to the Bible.

I felt like I paid a visit there myself. Thanks for sharing this place with us. Have a great day ahead 💕

You are welcome. Glad you enjoyed it.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Although the paintings are very old, they seem to be painted in the modern era

Hi @momins I didn't show any paintings in this post. Maybe you meant to comment on another post?

Wow first time I am really hearing about the museum of bible and the truth is it is looking so classy

By visiting such a place our interest increases a lot because here we get to learn and see a lot and by seeing all these things our knowledge also increases a lot. All the paintings are very beautiful.