Share Our World: Tlaquepaque Arts and Shopping Village

in Pinmapplelast year

Tlaquepaque Arts and Shopping Village is a must see destination if you are in Sedona. It is pronounced T-lockey-pockey and was created aby Abe Miller. He had a vision of creating a place reminiscent of Old Mexico where artists, collectors, and visitors could come together.

Tlaquepaque is a word from the Nahuatl Native Indian language, the ancient language of the Aztecs meaning the “best of everything.”

Art

There are many shops and galleries to wander around.

I really enjoy all the sculpture present at Tlaquepaque.



Landscape

Tlaquepaque has beautiful landscaping and as part of the history is is told that Abe, promised Harry Girard that the beautiful sycamore grove would remain untouched so the structures went around the trees.

There are plants all over. Which is so refreshing to see so much green in the Arizona desert.

@rocksg made a comment on my post Highlights of the Red Rock Scenic Byway in which I mentioned Tlaqupaque Village and show this picture of my friends in front of the building covered in vines.

On the Tlaquepaque history page it says,

Tlaquepaque is graced with climbing vines of sweet scented honeysuckle, purple clematis, ivy trumpet vine and silver lace.

Architecture

I really loved the arches, columns and tile!

There is even a church in this shopping and arts village

Shops

We went into shops with earrings, rugs, cool chairs from Europe, Christmas ornaments, and a rock shop that was super cool.

My favorite place was the wind sculpture park by the creek. Kristen and I had so much fun becoming angels and the wind sculptures were mesmerizing!

You even get to here some ABBA in the video. :)

If you are in Sedona I highly suggest a couple of hours to visit Tlaquepaque and see Abe Miller's vision of the "best of everything". It is really impressive!

Sources:
History of Tlaquepaque

Share Our World Series

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

These the sculptures are amazing, Sara. I love the tranquility and charm of Tlaquepaque :)

Hi Trang. Thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed it too.

Tlaquepaque was truly built as a labor of love.

You can feel it walking through such peaceful pieces of his soul, left behind for all to enjoy. I personally love the church, the sculptures, the landscape, and the gardens... How lucky you are to touch upon this place. Isn't the architecture stunning? Takes my breath away, such a beautiful place.

The wind sculpture garden. :) I don't even have to ask why it is your favorite!

This was such a nice visit here, I am glad you brought us! I lived on the outskirts of Phoenix for a couple of years and never really appreciated the southwest as much as I did when I went back to visit. Except Sedona! What is not to absolutely love Sedona?

I want to go back!!! Thank you again!

Yes, Sedona is great, so glad I could share it with you again! I hope you get to visit again soon.

I truly appreciated it!! It's still just as wonderful as I remember.

OMG! this place is really a heavenly place. How well the structures are made to take care of beautiful trees and different species of plants are creating a great biosphere there. This place is a great attraction for all the jungle lovers who wanna enjoy the nature among the urbanscape.

I thought you would like the more detailed post! YAY.

Yup. I have a big terrace garden and always looking for interesting ideas to make it more beautiful.

What a very apt name for this lovely place, I would have never known how to pronounce this place if you didn't tell me!!!

Hi Pauline. I know I just found how to pronounce it when making the post. I remember saying it so many different ways when we were in Sedona. I kept thinking "I wish I knew how to pronounce it." I should have looked it up. :)

Hey @sjarvie5
It's great to have so many beautiful and interesting things at one place like that. For sure, Tlaquepaque Arts and Shopping Village is a must-see place. Everything, from the artworks, souvenirs in the shop, the architecture to the landscapes are beautiful. And you know what, the thing I like most is the mesmerizing swing sculpture. :)

Hi Do Do, so glad you were as mesmerized by the moving sculptures as I was!

Tlaquepaque art is unique. I can totally said visit here would bring another vibe of experience. I love how cozy and warm that is and looks how this beautiful images exists.

So glad you enjoyed it.

Wao this place is best and amazing. Always like to visit this type of unique places. All these sculptures looks so wonderful. It is not easy to make such things, it takes a lot of effort to make them look so beautiful. This place is becoming very special for me as I am very fond of sightseeing.

Glad you enjoyed it.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1876.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Great photos
I just want to say that this is an interesting place
I hope I will have a chance to come here in the future

Hi @thienphong I hope you have the change to visit too. Arizona is a great place to visit and the red rock of Sedona is really special.

Great place with amazing architectural structures.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This looks like such a neat place!

Very beautiful place and great scene over there ..I think you have a great day 🤗😻