WRC Central European Rally 2023 start at Prague (CZ)

in Pinmapple5 months ago

On the last weekend in October, the World Rally Championship race took place on the territory of three Central European countries. The ceremonial start was held in my hometown of Prague. I've been avoiding the city center lately, but as a rally fan I couldn't miss this celebration. And as a connoisseur of the city, I wanted to use what I know about city to capture the best possible photos.

Poslední víkend v říjnu se na území tří zemí Střední Evropy konal závod mistrovství světa v rally. Slavnostní start se konal v mém rodném městě Praze. Poslední dobou se centru města vyhýbám, ale tuto slavnost jsem si nemohl jako fanoušek rally nechat ujít. A jako znalec města jsem chtěl využít k zachycení co nejlepších fotografií co dokážu.

_M4A6256.jpg

_M4A6257.jpg

Because it was not clear where the cars would arrive at Hradčanské náměstí. I wanted to explore all possible arrivals and adjust the compositions accordingly. So I arrived at Malostranské náměstí, from where we went along Nerudová Street up the hill to Prague Castle. I ruled out this path because it was not marked in any way. So I went to Loretánská Street, where there were already a large number of people waiting for the arrival of vehicles.

Protože nebylo jasné kudy budou auta na Hradčanské náměstí přijíždět. Chtěl jsem prozkoumat všechny možné příjezdy a podle toho upravit kompozice. Dojel jsem tedy na Malostranské náměstí odkud jsme se vydal Nerudovou ulicí do kopce k Pražskému hradu. Tuto cestu jsem vyloučil, protože nebyla nijak označena. Zamířil jsem tedy do Loretánské ulice kde již bylo velké množství lidí čekající příjezd vozidel.

_M4A6261.jpg

_M4A6267.jpg

_M4A6288.jpg

_M4A6291.jpg

But the Rallye 1 category cars surprised me and most of them slipped through U Kasáren Street. So I wandered back to the square where the ceremonial start was starting to take shape.

Jenže mě vozy kategorie Rallye 1 překvapili a většina z nich se prosmýkla ulicí U Kasáren. Tak jsem zamířil zpět na náměstí kde se začínalo schylovat ke slavnostnímu startu.

20231026_113234.jpg

20231026_123814.jpg

_M4A6318.jpg

_M4A6321.jpg

_M4A6331.jpg

_M4A6346.jpg

_M4A6366.jpg

Then I moved between the square and the beginning of Loretánská Street to find out where the cars would leave from. Meanwhile, I tried to capture the atmosphere that prevailed in the place.

Pak jsem se pohyboval mezi náměstím a začátkem Loretánské ulice, abych zjistil odkud budou auta odjíždět. Mezitím jsem se snažil zachytit atmosféru, která na místě panovala.

_M4A6375.jpg

_M4A6382.jpg

_M4A6430.jpg

_M4A6471.jpg

I met one of the main organizers who were in charge of traffic around the square. I asked if he knew where the cars would go away from Hradčanské náměstí. He confirmed to me what I had been hoping for all this time, that it would happen and the cars would leave the square on Kanovnická Street. This street is very photogenic because it is very narrow and there are no distractions like parked cars. I was in the street with about 5 other people. And as soon as the crowd in the square found out where the cars were leaving. The street was completely full within a few minutes.

Potkal jsem jednoho z hlavních organizátorů, kteří měli na starost provoz v okolí náměstí. Zeptal jsem se zda neví kudy auta pojedou pryč z Hradčanského náměstí. Potvrdil mi v co jsem celou tu dobu doufal, že se stane a auta opustí náměstí Kanovnickou ulicí. Tato ulice je velmi fotogenická, protože je velmi úzká a nejsou zde žádné rušivé elementy jako stojící auta. V ulici jsem byl asi s dalšími 5 lidmi. A jakmile dav na náměstí zjistil kudy auta odjíždí. Ulice se do pár minut úplně zaplnila.

_M4A6478.jpg

20231026_123910.jpg

20231026_134254.jpg

_M4A6486.jpg

On the way home, I crossed the square for the last time, took a few more snapshots and slowly headed home, because I had to pack for the whole weekend and wait for a friend to call me at what time we were leaving for the south of the country for the sharp special stages.

Cestou domů jsem naposledy překonal náměstí, udělal ještě několik momentek a pomalu zamířil k domovu, protože jsem se musel zabalit na celý víkend a počkat až mi zavolá kamarád v kolik hodin vyrážíme směr jih republiky na ostré rychlostní zkoušky.

_M4A6493.jpg

In Úvoz Street, I noticed a classic view of the Petřín Lookout Tower with the beautifully colored Petřín Hill. I began to hope that a similar coloration would also be in Šumava, where I was heading.

V ulici Úvoz jsem si všiml klasického pohledu na Petřínskou rozhlednu s krásně zbarveným vrchem Petřínem. Začal jsem doufat, že podobné zbarvení bude také na Šumavě kam jsem mířil.

WRC Praha.jpg

Full map link to Mapy.cz

When I arrived home and it was almost time to leave. I learned that I would be going to the rally alone, as both friends could not go at the last minute. One due to illness and the other due to work. So I started to quickly plan how to get as close as possible to a speed test and at the same time with the smallest possible transfer to the next test. Finally, I planned a trip to the village of Malenice with two transfers in Písek and Strakonice.

Když jsem dorazil domů a blížil se čas odjezdu. Dozvěděl jsem se, že pojedu na rally sám, protože oba kamarádi na poslední chvíli nemohli jet. Jeden díky nemoci a druhý kvůli práci. Takže jsem začal na rychlo plánovat jak se dostat co nejblíže k nějaké rychlostní zkoušce a zároveň s co nejmenším přesunem na případně další zkoušku. Nakonec jsem naplánoval cestu do vesnice Malenice s dvěma přestupy v Písku a Strakonicích.

Sort:  

I missed the hive car post, looking at the date i was on the road at the moment. Now looking at those photos, we were most probably standing next to each other at some point on Sunday :D

hive.jpg

vždy, keď začnem čítať češtinu, spomeniem si, ako ľahšie je jej porozumieť, ako ju čítať.
I thought i will have more problems with my broken slovak than i actually had.

I moved quite a lot around the entire track on Sunday, but it is quite possible that we were standing next to each other for a while.

Your Slovak is good, it can be seen that all Slavic languages are similar. If a person tries to understand, he will understand.

watching the WRC Rally race is very exciting, never mind watching it, just seeing the cars at the exhibition really amazes me, I have a dream to be able to see the WRC race live one day because I am a motorsport lover, what an extraordinary post

I believe that your dream of seeing the WRC live will come true one day. 10 years ago I also dreamed about it and this year I was already at my 5th race.

I like tuned cars a lot more and enjoy watching them race, especially if they are on city streets.
Thank you for the pictures of Prague, they reminded me of places I visited last year.

Tentokrát bez Hive auta?

Tentokrát to bude plnohodnotný travel blog s ostatníma autama a dobrodružstvím co k tomu patří.

Asi jsem to špatně formuloval - jelo tentokrát Hive auto?

To je pořád ten samý závod, akorát mi trvalo se prokousat těma tisíce fotkama co jsem za víkend udělal. Příští závod by měl být Monte Carlo koncem ledna příští rok. Co jsem viděl plán.

Aha, už chápu :) Monako je hodně zajímavý kout světa, ale v lednu to asi nebude to pravé ořechové :) Květen nebo červen bych si tam asi dokázal užít.

Pro lidi co maj rádi teplo se tam dá jet už na přelomu dubna a května. To tam není ještě moc lidí. Ale na druhou stranu v zimě to musí být zážitek v okolních horách, Obzvláště na závodě jehož historie sahá až do roku 1911.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @softa! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023

How I wish I really enjoy this physical experience seeing this pictures