Have you been to the Chrome Flower?

in Pinmapple2 years ago

What's the Big Idea?

I just discovered this awesome community which may very well put Hive on the map - literally.

image.png

It is harder than you think to get a clean picture of this colossal bloom. I know. I rode around and around it trying to get the inner workings of it on SDcard.

image.png

From one angle, it is in a bed of evergreens (above) and from another, there is a fountain built around it (right).

As I was saying about Hive getting on the map, I just ran into

image.png
the HaveYouBeenHere community and the super easy to use mapping site that allows you to tag your post on the world map! No emails, accounts, registration or anything. Just click the location, name it and copy the code. Then paste in into your post - done.

image.png

beachfooter.jpeg

Back to the Flower Monster

image.png

If the sun beats down on it long enough, you will see it move. The petals open when enough light comes into the big metal filament heads inside the flower.

It was partly cloudy today, but the flower was open just a bit. I moved around it until I could get some of the inner workings.

From what I heard, it was a class project done by the students (years ago) who went to the engineering school. I am sure some of my friends that live here will chime in to tell us more about it - namely @hosgug or @pdc maybe.


image.png

Any engineers in the audience might have something to say about hinged petals. I see some night time lighting in there and it seems the flower may be able to rotate. I had taken blurry pictures while passing by many times from the avenue. This was the first time I ventured all the way into the park and up to the walkway around it. Glad I got some close ups. I was finally able to use some of the shots I took.

I will be working on reverse engineering this creation at my apartment. If I get one working, I will be sure to make a post on the DIY community. You all know that nothing goes on around my house without my Hive followers knowing about it.

Now I can say that I Have been here!

spbobFooter.jpeg

Sort:  

Like a fish, you made me take the lure!! @sponge-bob.

Many know it as the metal flower, although it was baptized as "Generic Floralis" with the idea of ​​representing all flowers and it is a kinetic sculpture, that is, it has movement and opens or closes depending on the light and environmental conditions.

My brother-in-law is an architect and professor at the UBA, he is also passionate about the history of architecture, he has told me about it and this is what I remember: it was donated to the city of Buenos Aires by Eduardo Catalano, a hero of architecture Argentinean who was a professor at MIT and who has developed projects of great importance here and abroad, such as the university city of Buenos Aires (in collaboration with others), the United States embassy, ​​the Cambridge student center, etc. . In North Carolina he built a famous house called Raleigh, the street where he built it today is called Catalano Drive.

The sculpture was inaugurated in 2002 and for its construction materials donated by Lockheed Martin Aircraft of Argentina were used.

And you are supposed to be the fisherman on this platform. Look who reeled you in!

Thanks for your comment. You always add to my posts and your knowledge is appreciated.

Wow this is super cool Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Excellent post @ sponge-bob. The truth is, a lot about the subject of construction, I do not know, what I do know is that this property is a beautiful place to spend a nice afternoon having mate with friends or family, or also playing ball with the children, in fact and gone a lot of times to enjoy that place.
The metallic flower is really beautiful and especially at night where they put colored lights.

Congratulations @sponge-bob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 20000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 21000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hey @sponge-bob,
Do you mind supporting the HiveBuzz proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
That would be much appreciated! Your feedback, if any, is welcome of course. Thanks.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Ho Ho Ho! @sponge-bob, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends