Seoul - Lotte World Tower - The 5th Tallest Tower In The World

in Pinmapple3 years ago

On Saturday I was able to visit the fifth tallest building in the world, located in Seoul, South Korea. More specifically it's located in Sincheon-dong of the Songpa District, which is across the Han River and southeast. I feel it's necessary to note the difference, because it's basically akin to just calling anywhere in Southern California "Los Angeles" and "San Diego." The tower is only part of a the attraction of Lotte World (pronounced loh-tay), as it also has a very high end shopping mall, two theme parks, an aquarium, theatres and sports facilities.

ground 2.jpg

I didn't expect it to be a tourist destination. I know that sounds really oblivious. I visited the Willis Tower in Chicago back in December and it's just a tower, so I expected my day trip to be a casual walk inside a building and up a fast elevator.

I was wrong. On the way to the entrance was a life sized ad out of my price range.

benz 2.jpg

mercedes benz electric.jpg

The new Mercedes-Benz EQA Electric Crossover

I love seoul Sky.jpg
My daughter posing at the entrance.

They charged for entry to the top of the tower. It was about $30 a person. We had to snake around a small line to enter the elevator, which didn't have any windows, but rather a 360 degree screen that simulated what you would see as you ascended the tower. Once you were at the top of the tower you were able to spend as much time as you liked up there. I was very happy to learn this, because most tourist attractions make you keep walking to cram as many people through as they can.

The tower is 123 floors and the tip reaches 1,823 feet. Since they go by the metric system it's worth noting that it's actually 555 meters. I'm learning that most tall skyscrapers end on a number that's significant. For example, Freedom Tower in New York is 1,776 feet, a nod to the founding year of America. I'm not sure the significance of 555, except that I know repeating numbers is considered lucky in Asian cultures.

1.jpg
Outdoor amusement park can be seen on the island to the left.

2.jpg
Wide angle. I wish the sky was clearer.

3.jpg
My daughter being brave, as the floor is also glass. She wasn't afraid. I had to tell her not to climb higher.

glass floor.jpg
Hopefully, very thick glass.

At that very spot it forms an apex that is the best spot to take a picture, but I wasn't able to shove past enough people. It's a selfie shot that makes it look like you're almost floating above the city. It's a dizzying experience to look down, no matter how brave you are.

9.jpg
I wish I knew how tall the other buildings were. I would guess at the most 20 stories, putting this photo at 11 times higher up.

The top of the tower has 3 or 4 stories that you can escalator up and down. One floor has coffee and a gift shop. The other has a service where you can go outside with a tether and stand inbetween the two points of the tower. At the very top is a high end restaurant that starts at $100 a plate.

It was well worth the trip and I'm glad I got to visit during my stay in Korea.

Sort:  

Very nice! Was planned for Last year and had to be cancelled cause Corona. Will Go there as soon as possible.🤩

Yes, hopefully the quarantine period ends soon as I want some family and friends to fly out.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1273.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @steveparma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!