You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazon of Europe

in Pinmapple3 years ago

No, you are absolutely right! And you know what? It just MIGHT happen sooner than I thought. However, I don't think I'll be visiting the Danube region by far. Instead, there is an awesome opportunity in Portugal for an Earthship build, by a fellow Hivean. I'll be posting about it extensively, once the plans are finalized.

And yes, there are so many travel dreams. My bicycle is still waiting for me in San Diego, where I left it after riding it down there from Canada. And I still don't know which way I want to continue on it: southwards across Mexico, or eastwards, hitting cool permaculture / natural building projects.

As far as exploring the Danube by boat, my sister's boyfriend at the time, a crazy Irish dude from Texas, bought himself a simple csónak in Szeged, rigged it up with a mast and a pair of sails, and took it down to the Danube delta. Another story inspiring fantastic dreams...

Sort:  

Portugal and eco village? Sounds great 👍 At least, when I am Spain, we would be at the same peninsula 😊

You rode from Canada to San Diego? 🙌
Wow, so I don't know who is crazier, you or your sister's boyfriend, I can just imagine the great csónak story 👍

Well, unfortunately I only know the Great Csónak Story from second to third hand, as even my sister was not on board for it (though she was invited). Only while he was rigging it up in Szeged did she sail the Tisza with him for a bit. The boat was really tiny... kinda like those ones in your pics actually. But he had sailed the Atlantic various times, so he knew what he was doing, and the adventure sure sounded exciting.

Now, if you want to read a really amazing travel story, here is my bike trip from Cascadia to Aztlán. It's broken up into the blog entries I wrote along the way, with cool photos and all. There is a more detailed version, of a proper book length, which I may publish eventually, and I'd be happy to share with you, if you liked the collection of blog posts.

Where exactly in Spain do you live? If it's on the way, I would love to stop by, maybe. But then again, there are so many others who live "close by" sort of, including the French Pyrinees. And though I would love to meet up with other Hivers, I don't think it'll be possible to visit everyone. In fact, I'm still not sure if I'll make it to Portugal! Would be awesome, though, and I really want to make it happen.