Experiencing the Mayon Volcano for the first time!

in Pinmapple9 months ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

For the first time in more than 4 years, I'm finally back doing travel blogs again on Hive.

This time I would like to share my first time experience in Albay which happened last November of 2022 where I've treated myself to celebrate my successful low carb diet for a year. Right now, I'm about to go Year 2!

Anyways, shall I begin my travel story?

From Bacolod City, there is no direct flight going to Albay in the Bicol Region. I have no choice but to book a connecting flight. I flew from Bacolod to Manila first in approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes. After that, I quickly catch up on a connecting flight to Legazpi City, Albay. The duration of the flight from Manila to Legazpi is approximately 1 hour and 10 minutes.

When the plane landed at the Bicol International Airport, I can see the iconic Mayon Volcano with it's perfect cone until today.

This is the view outside of the Bicol International Airport while I am about to ride on a service van going to my hotel along with the random passengers.

It took me almost an hour to get to Parmview Inn where I've booked for the entirety of my stay which is just a "kinda long" walking distance to the Legazpi City public plaza. I remember about paying approximately 200 PHP or more for the service van from the Bicol International Airport to Legazpi City.

Since I didn't have much sleep, so I've decided to take a nap for the rest of the afternoon.

When I go out at night time to eat dinner somewhere, I did spent my time visiting an old Catholic Church named Cathedral of San Gregorio Magno near the Legazpi City public plaza.

As a Roman Catholic, I spent my time praying there, giving thanks to God and reflect even for just a little bit before eating dinner somewhere.

Afterward I bought out some snacks at a nearby 7-Eleven store and go back to my hotel where I am doing some online stuff before taking a full nap & getting ready for my adventure.

On Day 2 of my adventure, my first stop was in Cagsawa Ruins where I just commuted on a jeepney ride. This is where we see the iconic view of Mayon Volcano as what we've seen in the pictures, postcards, etc. It took me approximately 20 minutes to get there from the Parmview Inn.

If this is your first time, make sure that you ask the locals about the jeepney route going to Cagsawa Ruins. After that, it's better to inform the jeepney driver that you will be going there.

After I got there, I'm offered by a tricycle driver to go from Cagsawa to the Mayon Volcano entrance. I remembered that I've paid around 50 PHP to the driver since I am just alone and got no co-passengers.

When I got to the Mayon Volcano entrance, the fee was around 20 PHP. Before I start doing my sightseeing moment, I ate a simple lunch first.

After eating my quick lunch, it's time for me to go sightseeing mode with the famous iconic view of the Mayon Volcano. Once a dream, now a reality.

It took me at least almost 2 hours of waiting to finally see the perfect cone not being covered by the clouds.

If you may wonder what this iconic structure is, it's the remains of the Church of Cagsaua where it has been affected by numerous volcano eruptions in the past.

After spending at least a couple of hours in Cagsawa, I've decided to go to another tourist attraction which is the Sumlang Lake. I left Cagsawa around 5:00 in the afternoon.

I've asked the locals nearby about the preferred jeepney route going to the Sumlang Lake. After riding the correct jeepney, I just informed the driver that I'll be going to the Sumlang Lake.

However, it was already night time so I didn't have the chance to see it by the day due to my limited time schedule.

The entrance fee was 100 PHP (80 PHP_ for seniors & 60 PHP for children 12 y/o and below)_ + 20 PHP environmental fee.

When I have entered, I need to walk a bit going to the main attraction spot of the Sumlang Lake.

While exploring the area, I noticed that everything is Christmas-themed despite that it's still mid-November that time.

I've spent at least a couple of hours wandering around the bright Christmas-themed decorations of Sumlang Lake and sipping a glass of cafe latte in one of their restaurants.

After that, I've left Sumlang Lake and about to get back to the hotel. So I rode a jeepney back to Legazpi City where I just take out my dinner and snacks before heading back to the hotel and rest.

On Day 3, I went to the Alyssa's Convention Hall in Alicia Hotel to attend the Bicol Blockchain Conference.

As a blockchain & Web3 enthusiast myself, I get the chance to meet & network with some startups and communities coming from all cities and provinces in the Bicol region.

After a whole day of conference, I've eaten my early dinner somewhere and took out some snacks before heading back to the hotel. I packed my things early and getting some rest to prepare for my flight schedule. I've also arranged to the hotel owner about fetching me to the airport with their service van and I paid them around 500 PHP.

Around 2:30 AM, I left the hotel together with the hotel owner and his wife riding their van going to the Bicol International Airport.

When I arrived at the Bicol International Airport around 3:30 AM and already checked in to the departure area, some of the seats are still covered because of social distancing rules. I believe these were already removed now since COVID-19 is no longer a concern for us as of this time.

One of Bicol's main delicacies is the pilinut. I did bought a couple of them but haven't took a photo. However, I did bought a roasted pilinut as well with a garlic chili flavor. It was freaking delicious to be honest.

Approximately 5:30 AM, I've onboarded the plane heading back to Manila to attend the Philippine Web3 Festival together with my Web3 colleagues and friends.

Overall, it was an unforgettable moment & experience for me to see the iconic Mayon Volcano in Albay for the first time. Mount Mayon was one of my dream destinations where it is the only volcano in the entire Philippines with a perfect-shaped cone. At least that one of my dream destinations is finally unlocked!

For sure, I will be back here in Albay as I have yet to visit other notable tourist spots like the Daraga Church, Ligñon Hill Nature Park, Kawa-Kawa Hill and more.

Thanks for reading my blog!

Don't forget to follow my adventures & see you in my next travel story! LFG!

**Facebook: **https://www.facebook.com/thetravelfury

Sort:  

Welcome back! What an awesome experience to have visited one of the wonders of the world. Thank you for sharing and looking forward on your next journey! God bless!

Thank you very much for reading my travel blog! Hopefully I'll be doing more of these in the coming days. Cheers!

Hi there, good to see you back on Hive. The travel community is now called Pinmapple on Hive and our main community rule is that all travel posts must be pinned on pinmapple, https://pinmapple.com/ as stated on the community page. In order to get your post on Pinmapple, just click on the 'get code' at the top of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Cheers

I have edited, copy pasted the Pinmapple codes at the bottom of the article by enabling the markdown editor and saved it. Hopefully I am doing it right. Thanks!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!