You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commemorative tour around Plaszow Concentration Camp in Krakow

in Pinmapplelast year

Wow, what places, what a bloody history, can't say anything, wish we never knew such moments.
I visited Poland a few years ago and I went to Auschwitz and Birkenau concentration camp, honestly I left with tears in my eyes.
I don't know about visiting these places again.
I didn't know about the place you presented here, we probably visit it too.
Have a wonderful Sunday.

Sort:  

I think we all should visit a place like this at least once in a lifetime so I´m glad you made it to Oswiecim. It´s difficult, it´s painful, it´s emotionally strenuous, I know, but we must never forget...

You are right, we need to know the dark history, we need to see how they planned the extermination of certain people especially Jews.
My experience was an emotional one, I spent enough time there to see almost all the horrors the people brought there by train went through.
And the fact that I had a guide made me understand perfectly how things worked, point by point, yet such cruelty (mental insanity I say) I have never met in other places.
We had some concentration camps in Romania but at a much lower level.

Well said, I´m glad you had the opportunity to take such a tour. Very unsettling but also very enlightening. There were some concentration camps in my country too but not as "famous" as those in Poland or Germany...

You are right, the concentration camp in Poland is the most well known, and the atrocities here are just as well known, when I went there from a souvenir shop I also bought a book, honestly I didn't have the courage to read it because I know I will remember again what I saw there.