You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What else to do? | Ilocos Norte, Philippines

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Kapurpurawan Rock Formation
I'm so sorry they didn't let you guys go too near, now we missed some amazing photos that may have emerged from that view.

But then it's sweet of you to find contentment in the thought that the preservation of the place was better priority.

Cape Bojeador Lighthouse

I had read that an earthquake which hit most of Luzon in 1990 destroyed the first order Frensel lens which were originally fitted in the light house to produce the beam and so modern electric lamps powered by solar panels is now the source of the beam from the light house.

I was further intrigued on my discovery that the light house was built to guide ships entering the Phillipine archipelago from the North to guide them from the town's rocky coast.

Your piece heightened my curiosity so I had to do a little wiki did up.

Sort:  

Your piece heightened my curiosity so I had to do a little wiki did up.

Hehe that's cool @unomi! I can see you're indeed interested in facts. That's right all lighthouse scattered around my country were erected to guide ships. And being an archipelago, we have a lot of them. At least one in coastal provinces.