Snorkeling with Australian sea lions ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ

in Pinmapple โ€ข 3 years ago (edited)

I would like to share some photos and my experience when we went swimming with some Australian sealions ๐Ÿ˜Š

mmexport1623235521369.jpg

We just had an amazing day out at the Neptune Islands in South Australia where we cage dived with great white sharks!

mmexport1623235525417.jpg

That was a truly amazing experience! So what better way to spend the next day then to go swimming with their lunch?....

We were staying in Port Lincoln and booked a tour with Adventure Bay, that will take us out to Blythe Island to snorkel with wild sealions.

The sea was very rough this day so we headed north where the water was alot calmer.

seal 11.jpg

Australian sea lions are only found on the southern coast of Australia and are now unfortunately endangered.

seal 2.jpg

The journey took about an hour.

Once we arrived we could see little heads popping up out of the water.

received_369591084837154.jpg

And other sealions sunbaking on the shores.

We got our 7mm thick wetsuits on, as its was the middle of winter here. Then grabbed our snorkels and flippers with the quickness. Then jumped into the water and God damn was it cold!

seal 3.jpg

I quickly started swimming to try and warm myself up. I had mixed emotions about all of this, as the day before we were in deep water inside a cage, covered in berley in the hope to see one of the oceans apex predator the great white shark. And we saw 3 great whites! They were jumping out of the water to get the bait it sure was an epic experience!!

Now after I had jumped into the water I looked down and I couldn't see the bottom. I started getting flash backs from the day before when we looked through the bottom of the cage and saw a great white emerge from the depths....

I quickly swam towards the island and as it started to get more shallow that thought left my mind. I looked up and in the distance a seals head popped up out of the water.

seal 21.jpg

It was a strange feeling swimming up to a wild seal, as I have never interacted with one before so I didn't really know what I was in for.

seal 22.jpg

seal 19.jpg

As I got closer to it I noticed there was another two just chilling on the ocean floor. They came straight up to me. I'm talking about one foot from my face. At first I was a bit set back by them as these guys are pretty big and have some huge teeth.

seal 30.jpg

seal 39.jpg

seal 35 (1).jpg

But they seemed very interested in me and started swimming around me.

seal 18.jpg

seal 14.jpg

seal 8.jpg

seal 5.jpg

seal 4.jpg

Doing flips and twirls under the water.

seal 24.jpg

seal 23.jpg

seal 20.jpg

seal 16.jpg

seal 14.jpg

seal-2.jpg

These guys just wanted to play.

seal 37.jpg

So I dove down to swim along side them and they loved it.

seal 42-2.jpg

seal 36.jpg

seal 27.jpg

seal 25.jpg

seal 15.jpg

It was such an awesome feeling to be playing and chasing them around.

seal 33.jpg

As I swam around they started following me, then I would turn around and they would swim off.

seal 34.jpg

seal 32.jpg

Then they would swim under me.

seal 13.jpg

seal 6.jpg

I have never interacted with sea creatures like this before it was so much fun!!

seal 45-2.jpg

They really are the puppies of the ocean.

seal 28.jpg

seal 41-2.jpg

This was such an awesome day! I couldn't wipe the smile of my face ๐Ÿ˜Š

seal 10.jpg

So if your ever in Port Lincoln in south Australia I highly recommend snorkeling with sea lions!!

Happy travels and I'll seal you later๐Ÿ‘

Sort: ย 

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Those sea lions are sweet!๐Ÿ˜
They like you๐Ÿ˜‰

Haha they sure are cute animals

Can't imagine how you could stop swimming with these pretty guys :) I would have stayed with them forever :)

Trust me I didn't want to leave! It was so much fun

These are amazing photo. I love the sharpness of the shots in the water. Those fishes in the first photo look like baby cats.

Thank you. The gopro takes awesome photos. Haha yeah they do look like baby cats๐Ÿ˜Š

You are welcome.

Such a cool experience. Arent they they most curious and playful creatures. And a bonus great white to top it all off!

They are so much fun to swim with! It was crazy to cage dive with great whites then next day swim with there lunch haha

I love sea lions. I hope one day to swim with them. Thank you for your beautiful post

I'm glad you like the post ๐Ÿ˜Š
I hope one day you can swim with sea lions, it's so much fun!!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1290.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Awesome thank you very much ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿบ

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Awesome thank you very much ๐Ÿค™