If I have $1000, I would go to...

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)
Hello Hiveians! First of all, I would like to congratulate @pinmapple and @haveyoubeenhere for reaching 1000 Travel Digests. It's a great way to showcase the beauty of various places shared by Hiveians. To support the community (and hopefully to win the raffle 😆), this is my entry to the Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest.

If I have.png


The Philippines comprises of more than 7,000 islands. As a tropical country it's islands are full of pristine beaches or luscious greeneries. Even living here for quite a while, I wasn't able to explore even a quarter of the Philippine lands.

So if I have $1000 to spend on travelling, I would go to one of the must-see places nearest to Cebu that I haven't been to - Siquijor! What made me curious to visit this place is to gauge how mystical the vibes here. I often hear stories that Siquijor is a place for mambabarangs and one should not provoke anyone from there. Because of these stories, the province's name is often associated with voodoo dolls, potions and all those black magic stuff. But lately, the island rebranded its image to have a positive feels to visitors. They are trying to promote healing instead. In this way, it would attract tourists than to scare us away.

Siquijor map.pngSource: Google Maps

What makes this place enchanting is its must-visit sceneries. When I was following @ybanezkim26's travel series, I greatly envied that I haven't stepped foot on the lands of Siquijor even it's just near to Cebu. He started featuring his travel from Cebu via RORO to Dumaguete (another island I wished to go) and then to Siquijor. It might be faster to travel through plane than travelling by land and sea might. The advantage for the latter is that it is a bit cheaper and a lot of nice views can be seen along the way.


Kim's Quest #39: On the Way to Isla del Fuego (Siquijor Island)


PALITON BEACH


image.png

Famous beach spots in the country have things in common - white sand and clear blue waters. Paliton Beach in Siquijor both have such features. As @ybanezkim26 also mentioned in his post, Kim's Quest #40: Tales of Siquijor (Isla del Fuego) - Part I, the place has a nice view during the late afternoon to see the sunset. When I go there, I will also lazily rest under the shade (maybe not under a coconut tree for safety purposes 😁), and wait for the golden hour.

image.png


CAMBUGAHAY FALLS & BOLO BOLO SPRING


One of the famous waterfalls in Siquijor is the Cambugahay Falls. I was fascinated how clear the water was in @ybanezkim26's photos. What made it interesting is that they were able to go to the source, the Bolo Bolo Spring. In his post, Kim's Quest #41: Bolo Bolo Spring - the Secret of Cambugahay Falls in Siquijor, only a few knew or go to this fresh water source. With only minimal tourist visiting this place, I find it perfect to dip into the cold water without getting shoulder to shoulder with other sight-seekers. Hopefully it would stay as peaceful when I would get a chance to go there.

image.png


MT. BANDILAAN


Kim's Quest #42: Siquijor's Healing Festival at Mt. Bandilaan

A visit to Siquijor won't be complete without seeing how those mystical stuffs are done. Good thing the island rebranded their image to healing rather than the dark arts. I will not be enthusiastic to watch someone doing harsh stuff to someone using a voodoo doll. At Mt. Bandilaan, it's where the Healing Festival is held during the Holy Week. During this event, healers would flock to this mountain to "cook" their healing potions. They believe that Mt. Bandilaan has a mystical energy that would make their healing more effective.


KAMP ANINIPOT


Honestly, I haven't seen a firefly in real life for my entire existence. I only saw these glistening creatures in TVs. I could just imagine myself seeing them up close. I might be unmindful that I'm opening my mouth while staring at those flying lights. So, I think Kamp Aninipot is the best place for me to go to. Aninipot is Visayan for fireflies. I just knew from @ybanezkim26's post that the Isla del Fuego name of Siquijor came from the abundance of fireflies in the area.

image.png
Kim's Quest #43: Kamp Aninipot and Capilay Spring Park of Siquijor


I think that's it for the island of Siquijor. Since my hometown is just near the place that I wished to go to, I might not be able to spend all of the $1000 in going to Siquijor and back to Cebu, even if I have to pay for at least 2 people and buy some pasalubongs. So the remaining funds I will use to support the initiatives of @whoaretheyph in helping those who are in need. Especially recently, provinces in Luzon were devasted by typhoons Goni (Rolly) and Vamco (Ulysses). They really need our help to be able to recover from this calamity. For those who still want to help, you may check the link below.

image.png
WATP Special Edition: Help Devastated Philippines Communities Hit by Super Typhoons Goni and Vamco

Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Location: [//]:# (!pinmapple 9.178412 lat 123.581265 long d3scr)

Sort:  

Congratulations @wandergirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I'm planning to go to Cebu as well... In my writing contest

Btw, can you please pin your entry to Pinmapple please to ensure it qualifies? Thanks

Hi @livinguktaiwan! Already pinned my entry.

Cebu has also a lot of nice spots to visit too. Hope you can visit here someday. 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow! It's a little bit late for this comment but I just want to let you know I'm flattered that you used my posts as reference. ☺

Of course it's worth sharing. 😁