A Taste of Oaxaca

in Worldmappinlast year

Fresh off the overnight bus from Mexico City, I dropped off my luggage at a hostel and went to explore.

I had only given myself two days in Oaxaca City and was considering a day trip the following day so I wanted to soak up as much as possible by just walking around.

First stop 'Love coffee'
Oaxaca City is often called the foodie capital of Mexico so I decided to go for a nice breakfast. This place was rated one of the best breakfast spots and I can see why; the owner was was friendly and the food was delicious!

Whilst basic food (and numbers) are the things I remember from Spanish GCSE, I was definitely appreciative when the owner asked the girl at another table to translate the menu for me. Although my main priority was just to have something without meat, 'sin carne'. Little did I know at that point that 'Chapulines' (dried and roasted grasshoppers) are a delicacy there. So here's my egg dish with Oaxaca cheese and hopefully no grasshoppers.

image.png

After breakfast I wondering the colourful streets adorned with street art. I love street art, every more so when its so colourful, it just brings so much joy. The best neighbourhoods for street art were jalatlaco and hacienda; mainly I just kept getting lost following whatever pictures caught my eye. I've been told a lot of the street art here has a political meaning.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Back in Centro (Zocala) I came across this watermelon art exhibition. This was to honour the beloved Mexican artist Rufino Tamayo, on the 30th Anniversary of his death. The story goes that as an orphaned child Rufino went to live with this Aunt who owned a fruit stand. Watermelons became a significant theme of his artwork (also said to symbolise the Mexican flag colours). The exhibition is by 30 of his past students.

image.png

image.png

There was a great collection of styles. This one is my favourite, unfortunately I didn't photograph the artists name:

image.png

After spending some time in the baking heat It was a perfect time to try some of the Oaxaca ice cream I had heard about; 'nieve de leche quemada con tuna'. Which is burnt milk with the sweet fruit of the prickly pear cactus. Really strange flavours but somehow they complement each other and it was delicious. Incase you're wondering, it is said that Leche quemada (burnt milk) came about by accident. Dona Maria Juarez brought milk to boil in a clay pot and accidentally burnt it, she tried it and thought it actually tasted good, so she sold it and people liked it and now its a traditional nieve sold in Oaxaca.

image.png

image.png

The next day I checked out the Botanical gardens and wondered around a little more. In truth I wasn't all that impressed with the botanical gardens, but maybe that's because I just had a Spanish tour and couldn't understand so much.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

After wondering around a little I checked out the Markets to try some more Oaxaca treats. Oaxaca cheese (quesillo) is another delicacy of the area. Its like an unaged Monterey Jack, but with a texture similar to mozzarella. A traditional food containing this cheese is Tlayudas, which are large crunchy tortillas with a spread of refried beans, cabbage/lettuce, avocado, quesillo and usually meat. I opted to get a Tlayuda de flor de calabaza which is the veggie version with pumpkin flowers.

image.png

image.png

Before catching my next overnight bus I headed to a famous mezcaleria

image.png

image.png

image.png

As expected I hated this fancy mezcal and couldn't even drink it, that was definitely a lesson in not just doing something for the sake of it.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1921.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @wanderlust7! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Travel Reimbursement Fund for HiveFest⁸