TRAVEL THROWBACK: MEDIEVAL FESTIVAL IN BARCELONA (FIRA MEDIEVAL A CREU COBERTA)

in Pinmapple4 years ago

During my first ever trip in Spain, I covered several important must visit cities or sites such as Madrid, Toledo, Seville, Segovia, Ronda, Granada, Barcelona and more. Yet, the event that left the deepest impression in my mind was the Medieval Festival of Creu Coberta in Barcelona. Memory is indeed a perplexing subject and it works differently for every person.


DSC_1436_2.jpg


Weirdly, I was previously never that into crowd drawing places but this particular event had been very different to me. I think this was mainly due to the fact that I can be a very culture-centric sort of traveler. I was very lucky to have been one of those early riser so not only I stumbled upon the event but got to observe certain activities up-closed before the place became congested with visitors.


DSC_1449_2.jpg

Las Arenas


I am really relieved as well as tremendously blessed to have crossed out Spain from my bucket list prior to COVID-19 outbreak. In my opinion, East Asian looking travelers regardless of nationality will be treated with contempt in most parts of the world after the travel ban is lifted. I will most probably need to hire a bodyguard and carry with me an automatic gun if I decide to visit certain countries in the future.


DSC_1401.JPG

Yarn and wooden spinning wheel


Anyway, the Medieval Festival of Creu Coberta is usually held in the first week of October. At the time of my visit, the venue of the festival was situated just opposite of the famous Las Arenas building. The efforts Spanish people put into preserving their cultural heritage impressed me a lot. I had fun observing traditional glass blowing setup, yarn spinning, weaving, wood carving, basketry, bobbin lace making, medieval food preparation and more. The booth owners were very kind to allow me to take photographs of the event.


DSC_1415.JPG

Glass blowing setup



DSC_1407.JPG

Wood Carving



DSC_1423.JPG

Reed Baskets



DSC_1421.JPG

Weaving


Of all activities available on that day, I found bobbin lace making the most interesting, special and attention grabbing. Lace making handicraft can be quite a laborious process. Many Galician grandmothers sat together at one long table to showcase their work in real time. They chatted while working on their craft simultaneously. They looked like they enjoyed themselves even after retirement. Made me wished I had a Galician grandmother without having to marry a Galician man so that she would pass down rare skill sets to me 🤣


DSC_1441.JPG

Bobbin Lace Making



DSC_1444.JPG



DSC_1439.JPG

Woman dressed in medieval costume



DSC_1440.JPG

Traditional games


There were all kinds of roasted meat, breads and cakes of sorts available. One of the most unique looking food offered there was the medieval potato. Basically, it's roasted potato filled with spicy meat, onion, tomato and cheese. Too bad I had a huge breakfast beforehand so I was too full to try the roasted medieval potato. One particular food I had problem resisting though was fried green peppers. I have a soft spot for peppers. Possibly this is a sign I must go for the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage then stop over in Galicia to savor delicious tapas 🤣


DSC_1429.JPG



DSC_1435.JPG



DSC_1414.JPG



DSC_1451 2.JPG

Another Galician delicacy


If you happen to be in Barcelona somewhere in early October, I highly recommend you to visit the Medieval Festival of Creu Coberta. It's an unforgettable one of a kind educational experience never to be missed out. You won't regret learning more about medieval cultures of Spain.

Thank you so much for reading!

Wishing all a wonderful week!

Cheers,
Wheat

Sort:  

Congratulations @wittywheat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @martibis here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #974.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @martibis! 😄