Exploring Kamakura's Shinto Shrine

in Pinmapple2 years ago

There are many things you can see in Kamakura. Last Spring, I went there with my friends on a day trip roadtrip. That time, we haven't really fully explored the big and famous shrine because we were in a hurry.

So for this post, you'll get to see more of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu (鶴岡八幡宮), Kamakura's Shinto Shrine.

The big torii (the red Japanese gate) by the road is so noticeable when you're walking around Kamakura. Torii is usually an indication that you're about to enter a sacred place. If you are interested to learn more about it, you can check out Wikipedia.

You'll then notice this arched bridge that is off-limits. I wonder what it symbolizes in Shintoism. And I wonder why it's closed and not to be used by people.

Closed bridge

At the side though there's a bridge-looking pathway that people can use.

The path on the side

The last time I went to this shrine, there were so many people because it was a holiday that day and I guess many people thought that the cherry blossoms were at their prettiest at that time. Today's just a random Saturday so there were fewer people which for me is tolerable. I don't like big crowds. 😅

Long walk to the main area

We took a detour to look for a toilet enjoy the nature in the shrine grounds. It may be a sunny day but it's a bit chilly and being surrounded by trees is something I really appreciate.

Detour

The comfort room doesn't look like it because it's kinda in the middle of nature

While waiting for my friend, I sat down and took this shot looking up

After the detour, we're back to the main pathway.

So far, we have walked this area from the entrance up to here

After passing through the "lantern" structure which is located side by side, there's an area to purify oneself. Since the pandemic, it has been transformed to free flowing water, and not the traditional "scoop".

Pathway beside the purifying area which leads to the Ancestral Shrine

Immediately, you'll notice this structure but this is not yet the main shrine.

It is also called Shimohaiden, and stands on the site of the Wakamiya corridor where Shizuka Gozen devoted herself to Yoshitsune and danced with all her heart. In addition to festivals and events at the shrine, many weddings are held here throughout the year.

Source: Tsurugaoka Hachimangu Official Website

Shimohaiden, just before the stairs leading to the main shrine

At the side, you'll notice a display of large sake barrels. Honestly, I don't know the purpose of it but to collect these is really incredible. I can't even read what's written on each one of them. I guess that's the name of the sake? If you have an idea, please let me know.

Sake barrels

Looks nice to take a photo with it so I did

Beside the stairs to the main shrine, there's this area where you need to go around this big circle. I think this is to attract luck or something related to fortune. There's a fee so we didn't care to understand what it's about.

We're finally going up the main shrine after a long walk from the road. The Great Stone Steps is what it's called. The steps are ridiculously a lot (I didn't count though) so I suggest to take your time or you'll be out of breath.

The Great Stone Steps

I was so preoccupied by making it to the top right away that I forgot to look the other way and see the panoramic view of Kamakura from this staircase. I didn't even notice the Great Gingko Tree on the left side of the stairs. It's an old tree and seeing the way there are ropes acting as fence to it, I guess this tree must be a sacred one.

The "guards" protecting the shrine before climbing up

Upon reaching the top, you'll immediately be welcomed by the main shrine called Jogu. At the right side of the main shrine is Wakamiya (Gegu) which I don't have a photo of.

Reaching the main shrine at the top

The main shrine building of the shrine enshrines Emperor Ojin, Himegami and Empress Jingu.
Together with the Wakamiya (Gegu), it is designated as a national important cultural property, and various ceremonies are held here throughout the year.

Source: Tsurugaoka Hachimangu Official Website

A closer look of the main shrine's entrance

We didn't enter at that time because we're not really practicing their religion but you can guess what's inside. As seen in most Japanese TV shows esp anime, one must drop a coin, bow 2 times, clap 2 times and silently pray to the gods. One of my friends told me the coin should have a hole in it so a 5-yen coin is usually used. I'm not sure if this is legit information. 😅

Even when we were just outside the main shrine, we were able to hear the sound of a big drum. I guess there's a ritual inside?

After praying, people usually flock to the fortune area. There were many kinds of omikuji (or sacred lot in english) and for just 200 yen (or around 1.35 USD), you'll be able to know your fortune. If it's bad luck though, you can tie it.

Omikuji corner

Tie your bad luck omikuji

Aside from the omikuji corner, there's a sales area to buy omamori (or charms) and the likes.

A little further to the back from the left side of the main shrine, we found the Maruyama Inari Shrine. There are many torii that you'll see from where you'll tie your bad luck fortune so you'll notice it if you look around.

Entrance of Maruyama Inari Shrine

Torii going up to the shrine

It's not really a long staircase going to the inari shrine. You'll be welcomed by these red flag-like cloth containing names (I guess of sponsors or something?) dancing from the breeze.

Maruyama Inari Shrine

It's a small shrine and you'll see the foxes on each side guarding it. From what was written on the stone plate near the entrance, this shrine is the oldest on the Tsurugaoka Hachimangu grounds. The diety enshrined here is the god of rice, agriculture and prosperity. You can read more in the image I took below.

Oldest shrine on these grounds

The torii seen from below

Details of the inari shrine on the stone plate beside the entrance

After our tour in the main shrine grounds, we went down and discovered a pond with lots of fishes. You'll notice it if you go down on the side of the main shrine.

We discover a pond

Were they waiting for food from us?

We continued exploring some areas that are not on the main path and we discovered another shrine with no people. It looks like a nicely designed shrine so I was wondering why there weren't people visiting here.

The purifying area near the shrine

The road less traveled?

After a long walk in the shrine grounds, we kinda got tired and saw a rest area. We thought we could have some tea there but it's just an ordinary canteen so we didn't stay long.

To the rest area we go

The rest area

View of the pond from the rest area

There are still more that you can see in Tsurugaoka Hachimangu grounds like an area where you can feed some birds and other shrines. We didn't even go to inside cultural buildings where performances are held. We just don't have much time left because we still needed to go to another place which I'll be sharing next so please look out for it too!

But before we leave the shrine grounds, we ate at a posh restaurant overlooking the lotus area. I got myself the Kamakura Soba with a refreshing yuzu tea. I was so full from breakfast that I didn't finish this soba. Waaa! It's delicious though.

The restaurant overlooking the lotus pond (lotus were dead? T_T)

Kamakura soba

A refreshing cold tea to freshen up

Tired face after all the walking, please excuse my eyebags, photo from my friend Apple

We spent probably more than an hour exploring the Tsurugaoka Hachimangu grounds and we haven't fully covered everything yet. I guess it's your turn to go to see for yourself what you've read here and explore more of the places we skipped. 😉


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1588787044226306048 twitter metadata:MjU5NjUxNjQzfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzI1OTY1MTY0My9zdGF0dXMvMTU4ODc4NzA0NDIyNjMwNjA0OHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell, @sensiblecast ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a beautiful experience, touring a temple in Japan looks very attractive, but something that strikes me deeply is the way they tell fortunes, very emotional, very respectful and also sacred. These places emanate a lot of peace, and above all things they emanate that which indeed radiates the beauty of a nation.

Beauty, a beauty in every sense. :)

Thank you! It's almost the same in every temple here. 🙂
People here are so respectful to the sacred ones.

I'm not sure if that's the same bridge my Japanese student was referring to when we discussed Kanagawa Prefecture. If I remember correctly, it was for the military generals. They head on to the shrine thru that bridge, barefoot. Correct me if I'm wrong 😅 Nacurious tuloy ako, bakit nga ba??

Thanks for touring us again virtually, Witty! Parang gusto ko rin matry yung sa fortune! Lagi rin kasi nababanggit ng students ko from Japan. Diba meron din niyan pag new year?

I’m not familiar with that part of the history C but I would love to know more 😅

Nakaka adik ung fortune para kasing raffle hhahaha
You can get it in any temple actually. There’s no specific time or day to get it but usually people get one in the new year to know the fortune for that whole year. Then if swerte, you can keep it with you.

Wow it's so beautiful Sana all nalang Ako sis and thanks for sharing how beautiful Japan is ako din Grabe eye bag ko 🤦🏻‍♀️

Glory natin ang eyebags hahahaha
Thanks for attending the Japan tour! 😅

Sa Anime ko lang nakikita tung mga ganito. Iba pala talaga pag actual photos talaga. Anga ganda naman din talaga ng Japan. Kaka-amaze yung buong palagid sa lugar na yan po.

Agree! There are still more beautiful places to explore in these grounds, and there are even performances. We haven’t seen everything yet.

Hello there @wittyzell. To explore Japan is one of my goals. Seeing your photos makes me more eager to visit. Thanks for these wonderful photos you snapped @wittyzell. It feels like, I have toured this side of Japan as well!

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the tour!
Hope you and your family can visit in the future!

such an awesome culture japan has. really a must visit place! the pond and the kois! i would want to have that in my future home

It really is a nice place @sensiblecast. I thought you said that in the future you would want to go to Japan to see the kois hahaha

Oh yes most definitely! Japan is one of the top place I would want to visit! ♥️🇯🇵♥️ But i don't remember saying visit japan for the kois? Prolly the women? 🧐😬 Haha jk. Good morning!

Hahahahahahahahahaha oh my

Hahaha becauseee they seem veryy japaniassuuuuu 😬 haha kidding, seriously im really amazed of their culture, food, language.. so hopefully i can travel there soon. ♥️♥️♥️

Based from the photos you've shared, we cannot really deny the beauty of Japan! Thank you for sharing ♥️ how I wish I can ho there too and experience this wonderful trip with my loved ones.
Take care always ❤️

Soon! You're still young, so who knows, maybe you can come in the future!
Japan is really beautiful. I think Philippines is too, just needs a little improvement and disciplined people not to litter anywhere so place would be clean and attractive. 😅

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

For some time now I have been following an Italian YouTuber who talks about Japan and I like each video more and more

Really? That's nice!! I'm not really a fan of watching videos in youtube so I don't know. 😅

@wittyzell you have shared the whole of your trip through your pictures, very nicely done and I really liked your post. Thank you for sharing!!!

Even the bathroom does not look like a bathroom in Japan, so aesthetic! I want to pass through that circle for more luck, haha! As usual pretty Witty!

!PIZZA

This bathroom is actually a very simple looking. 😅
Dami mo na luck ji hahaha
Pretty ba ji? Weeeee! Thank you!

Wow... Japan is really beautiful. I use to think Korea and Japan were same country 😂. Silly me.

After watching boys before flowers. I could bet they had same similarities. But what I am not sure is if the both countries speak same language.

Beautiful pictures by the way and yes you look so pretty too

Hahaha! There was a war between Korea and Japan in the past and til now, some Japanese and Koreans don't like each other that much, though only some people, not all.
They don't speak the same language. The accent is also not similar. But their "alphabets" are somewhat similar, they say. I don't see the similarity though.

Thank you! I looked so haggard in the photos.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1689.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you team!

Ang famous ng Shinto shrine na to.. Ginagaya sa ibang country.. Hndi ko tlga mahanap shinto shrine dto hehe..

ang init.

Hahahaha mainit nga

Beautiful post as always, my friend @wittyzell. Thanks for taking us to live with you, your wonderful experiences.💕

Thank you @dayadam! Glad you enjoyed it!

All the pictures along with you are very beautiful.💕. Japan is one of my favourite place but I always hurt my jaw when I utter Japane names like name of people or places or dishes 😂😂.
This is a wonderful ride there through your blog. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @meta007! Japanese words can be tricky to read or pronounce. Sometimes, I still stutter or get confused saying some words. 😅

Kaganda talaga sa Japan aba! parang napaka sagrado ng lugar

Yes it is! Hope you can see it for yourself someday!