Facing Fears: Surviving One Of Japan's Longest Suspension Bridge In Nara | 谷瀬の吊り橋

in Pinmapple9 months ago

You might think I'm not afraid of anything but to be honest, I'm afraid of heights. You won't see me riding rollercoasters or skydiving. Heck, I didn't even ride the torture-looking Vikings ride in Tagaytay with Hive PH friends (read cthings' post about our epic adventure) because even just by looking at it, my heart races like I'm riding on it. I'm no fun in those aspects but at least I have my fun in other areas.

So why did I cross one of Japan's longest suspension bridges?

26AF49B0-4AF3-4A7F-89C1-2F77A6F50B0A.jpg


It was a Sunday when I hurriedly went down the stairs to ask my companions the epic question Where are we going?. We, rather they, hadn't decided yet but in those limited minutes my partner's mother burst out of Totsukawa's suspension bridge. I went back to the room feeling excited but moments later, I realized, wait, this seems like facing my fears. I didn't want to go!

But too late, we're already on our way to Totsukawa. Totsukawa is a quiet town in the south of Nara Prefecture, still in Yoshino-gun, almost near Wakayama Prefecture. It's located in the mountains so it was refreshing during the heat of summer.

IMG_7766.jpeg

On the way to the suspension bridge, we almost met an accident because while the road in the mountain was so narrow, a car was speeding up and didn't even bother to speed down passing us. It was driven by a beginner driver because of the beginner sticker in the car but still, that driver should slow down. A kid was with us and we were really worried.

After that incident, it was a smooth ride. We passed by great views of the mountains and the river. Then we reached the suspension bridge.

IMG_7764.jpeg

There's a wide parking space if you wanted to pass the bridge. The ones in charge there were kind enough to give directions not just to the bridge but to the other sightseeing areas of the town. I remembered we paid 800 yen for our entire parking stay.

It says Totsukawa

The moment of truth: we're finally stepping into the bridge.

IMG_7690.jpeg

Tanize Suspension Bridge (谷瀬の吊り橋) is Japan's longest suspension bridge used in daily life. People in the town use this bridge in their day-to-day life and what's epic is that some people even ride bicycles or motorcycles crossing the bridge. Incredible, right?! During summer, their festival was even held at this bridge. I could imagine every beat to the taiko drum, this bridge would sway. Aren't they scared?!

IMG_7753.jpeg

IMG_7751.jpegIMG_7758.jpeg

When I learned about the history of this bridge, I was moved. Tanize was built in 1954 from the pockets of the townspeople. Each household donated around 200,000 yen and above, which was a fortune during that time, just for the construction of this bridge that is used even today. If not for the sacrifices of the ancestors, this bridge wouldn't be here today.

IMG_7752.jpeg

Before this was just a normal log bridge but now, it's one crazy and thrilling experience. Up to 20 people can use the bridge at the same time. There were villagers on both ends that would monitor if it was a go or a no to enter the bridge.

IMG_7749.jpeg

It's really for thrill seekers and not like me. Every time you take a step, little or not, the bridge would sway. My partner's family was with me, so I really had to pretend I wasn't frightened. I had to remain composed but it's so hard! They didn't know I was afraid of heights until I told them past halfway crossing the bridge.

IMG_7762.jpegIMG_7763.jpeg

My heart was beating so fast and for every step I took, I had to make sure I wasn't stepping on something old, in case it wouldn't make a hole. Mind you, the suspension bridge was made of steel wires I assume from what I've seen and they added wood for people to step on it. I wasn't looking down the entire time because if I did, I would be in panic mode realizing we're up high, and falling down to the river below would mean instant death for me.

IMG_7755.jpeg

Every time we cross paths with another group, my pretentious self would be polite in greeting others. Deep inside though, I was cheering for them to go past me right away or else my anxiety wouldn't stop. If only I could tell people to only walk in one direction. 😅

You might be wondering why I could take photos. Well, of course. 😂 I was maintaining my balance, trying to hold on to me. Most of these photos though were from the journey back where I finally had the courage to take many photos.

My partner's niece was enjoying the bridge

In my thoughts, I've been running simulations in case danger would happen but fortunately, we made it to the other side without any harm. The kid with us was very brave unlike me. She enjoyed the entire walk on the swaying bridge while I was in horror.

Finally on the other side

Whew! Made it to the other side!

The other side had a small store but we decided to walk a bit further to explore the village. Apparently, there's a walking trail so we hiked a little.

Walking trail map

It wasn't a little.

Road to the village

Big trees along the highway

IMG_7703.jpeg

IMG_7700.jpeg

The village was so serene on a summer Sunday. From the map detailing the trail, we would be seeing fields, goats, cosmos photo spots, and many more but it was summer. The fields were empty, few flowers were blooming but we see a lot of scarecrows. It wasn't the best time to be on this trail but walking in this simple town made me feel positive and refreshed.

Our guideCosmos photo spot but none found

Can you see something in the center? That's where the bridge is!

And our destination seems to be this super green mountain

Seeing these fields in layers reminded me of the famous rice terraces in the Philippines.

IMG_7707.jpegIMG_7709.jpeg

We're going to the observation area. We thought it's just right there but we're walking uphill for more than 30 minutes already with no observation deck in sight. Our cue was passing a waterwheel and we did, maybe 45 mins after.

Still walking

The waterwheel finally!

IMG_7712.jpeg

The water was so fresh and cold. Even the water in the canal was. Didn't see fish in the canal though.

Cold water

Asked the villagers we saw working

We asked for directions to the observation area from the people we passed by and they said it's still about 15-20 minutes walk from where we were, which was the waterwheel.

IMG_7741.jpeg

IMG_7742.jpeg

It's a lie. 15 to 20 minutes became more than half an hour.

227 steps start here

Passing by this torii

Halfway already

We had to climb 227 steps of the stairs going to the temple. It was painful for my knees and legs but my partner's mother was so healthy I was so envious of her strong knees. I almost gave up halfway but every time I look up, I would cheer myself I could do this.

More stairs...aren't we there yet?

I was as tired as this little cute kid

Taking this photo from above

We rested for a bit around the temple premises before proceeding further into the forest. The temple was small and we saw no one around.

IMG_7738.jpeg

IMG_7739.jpeg

We thought we didn't have to dive deep into the forest to reach the observation deck but we were descending and ascending til we reached the area. This kind of stairs I could tolerate because I could hold onto something and I could calculate the shortest and easiest way down. The path wasn't that nice if you're wearing white shoes or sandals because it was muddy from the rain in the morning.

IMG_7722.jpeg

IMG_7724.jpeg

IMG_7725.jpeg

IMG_7723.jpeg

We finally reached the observation area. There's an area where you could sit and enjoy the view and we were there, taking in all the wonders that we could see. The breeze was cool and the lushes of green in the mountains were so wonderful to the eyes.

Finally we arrived at the observation area

From here, we could clearly see the length of the suspension bridge and I couldn't believe my eyes - I crossed that long bridge?! No wonder I was praying for the walk to end asap while crossing it. 😅

See that? That's the suspension bridge!

Closer look

Totsukawa river

IMG_7737.jpeg

Under the bridge was the Totsukawa River that's so inviting with its nice colors. There's a camping ground near it so aside from the suspension bridge, maybe to camp is also a good option to explore this town.

Me trying to point where we started walking

Me and the niece~

After staying there for maybe 15-20 minutes, we decided to go back before it got dark. Going back was fast. We reached the store just beside the bridge in no time, where we enjoyed eating ice cream. I had their yuzu sorbet which was sour but just the right kind.

Going to the store

Horror again

We had to pass the bridge again. I was really wondering about my life choices at that time. What if when we were still in the house, I told them I didn't want to go to the suspension bridge area? What if I got courageous enough and told them I just want to take it easy, maybe a cafe or something? But no, I had to face my fears again. This time, I was at the rear and you'd see the gap between me and the ones at the front.

Getting ready to go back

Yay almost there!

What a nice view

Nature all around~

Smile for the photo even when I was scared for my life

When I was almost at the end, I got lionhearted and looked around. Ah, this scenery. I will cherish this for a lifetime.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!



With love,
wittyzell--rc.gif


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

Japan has some breathtaking suspension bridges. I have been to one in Miyazaki prefecture which is also quite cool. It’s famous with the fact that leads to… nowhere 😁 as far as I know… but it was still a unique experience when I passed it.

Ohh the path seems so secure, unlike the one I've been to. 😅
I haven't been to Miyazaki but yes, you are right. So many suspension bridges in Japan with incredible views! I wonder if someone has make it a mission to visit each one.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1

Wow, @wittyzell! My heart would go like crazy haha. Neither me would look down - in the beginning 😁
But I would definitely cross it and feel that excitement, the movements of the bridge with every step, the views and nature. Sooooooo beautiful ☺️

That's what my companions did too. At first they were a bit scared but later on, they have adjusted and can walk without worries. Still need to be careful though but yeah, the excitement was there!

Hill area always fascinates me. A view in a hill is always foggy in the distance. I love that dim white shade over the hills. Picture you have taken are espectacular. I never walked a hanging bridge over a hill. It's amazing to see you walking on it.

Btw I also have acrophobia in some extent but I can climb 100 foot tower with the help of a ladder stick to it with some increased heart beat.😄

As we are talking about acrophobia, I got a movie name. It was not about phobia though. If you haven't already seen then you can try watching "The fall". As you have fear of height, you must love it watching.

Thanks for sharing those beautiful views and your walking experience on the hanging bridge.

!LUV
!PIZZA

Thanks for the recommendation @th4488. Will try to check that movie but I hope it's not going to make me fearful hahaha

100 foot tower? That's crazy! Just knowing the numbers already makes me scared hahaha how much more climbing it! Oh right, the technique is not to look down I guess hahaha

Thanks for the lovely comment! Aren't there suspension bridges in where you live?

Yeah not to look down is a very good trick, it defenately helps.

I am from Kolkata,India right on the plain Bank of hiver hoogly alias Gangesh. So no hill or mountain. 😭😭 But I saw it in Darjeeling in the north, close to border of Nepal and Bhutan..

Never tried to cross such kind of bridge. Or I should say, never seen one in my life..but I truly want to.. Saan kaya may ganyan dto sa HK. Yung hanging bridge like this hehe..
...

Baka meron dyan, try mo hanapin. Yun lang, mas masaya pag may kasama. hahaha

Kaya nga.. Masearch nga kung meron hehe

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1962.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Everything is breathtaking! I luv how relaxing and calming the places you featured 💖
Soo proud of you, Witty! 🫶🏼 Here's to conquering more fears ✨

C!! I don't wanna do it again hahahahaha

Dapat may ka holding hands ka. Para bawas takot. 😁

wala eh, tsaka ayoko yung nakikitang weak ako charot

Wow fierce. I like it. Hahaha

Miss Witty, nindot kaau pag naay kasabay mutabok sa bridge dn hadlokan, nindot kaau sungogon lukso2x sa bridge or uyog-uyogon., Haha!

But wow, It's a breathtaking view. I was amazed at the locals' initiative of contributing from their own pockets just to build this suspended bridge.

Bwal mag ambak smile hahahahaa
Samoka sa sungog2 oi huhu ako siguro na ug ikaw hahaha

yes! they're so amazing right! grabe ilang initiative atong karaang panahon

Fear? Come on Witty!!!! 😁 I would love to cross that bridge and it is on my list. I love these but it's not like you can find them in every corner. So consider yourself a lucky lady 😊

None over there? Or hard to find? I can see you're so fearless erikah hahaha how to be like you? 😂 can't stop thinking of accidents and waaa

I am afraid of heights but if I have a chance to go that place I will face my fears and enjoy the view

I only enjoyed the view when I was almost at the end. 😅 It was so scary being in the middle!

Seeing that bridge made my knees tremble. Kakulba molabang diria. I can't face my fears yet in crossing this bridge. Congratulations for slaying the dragon of fear!😊 Good job!

Thanks mam! No choice, my companions were having fun crossing the bridge. 😅