Beyond the Desert Sands: Exploring the Charms of Abu Dhabi 🇦🇪

in Pinmapple9 months ago

BeFunky-collage.png
 

Good Day Travelers!

 
How is everyone? After my last Post about the Seikh Zayed Mosque I will share more about my experiences and impressions about Abu Dhabi. In total I've stayed there for 3 weeks and I can't deny that I enjoyed this City quite a lot! The only negative thing was (same as in Bahrain) the extreme heat with temperatures way above 40°C. Little spoiler - As beautiful as the City is - Don't visit it during the hot summer months!
 
In this post I will give you guys a virtual tour about the trips an walks I did during my time around the City. Abu Dhabi is not only one of the safest countries around the world, it is also one of the "walking" friendliest countries I've ever seen! There are huge walkways all around the City and almost every car respects pedestrians! Something I was missing in a lot of countries I've visited before :))
 


How to get around Abu Dhabi?

 
Abu Dhabi has a great infrastructure with several ways to get around. I will mention a few transportation possibilities below and also need to point out that Abu Dhabi will have a Metro by the end of 2030!
 

TransportationAvailabilityPrice Range
Taxi/UberEverywhereMed-High
BusEverywhereLow
E-ScootersEverywhereLow

 
For both, Busses and E-Scooters you can download a map in the App-Store for Abu Dhabi which makes traveling around the city super easy for absolute reasonable prices. You can buy oneway, daily, weekly and monthly tickets for both options. Ubers can get quite expensive if you driver longer distances.
 
Screenshot 2023-08-17 at 11.39.15.png
 
You can see the layout of the City is pretty interesting and really everything is connected with well build roads and streets.
 


What to do in Abu Dhabi?

 
Before I start with a picture tour I want to mention some of the highlights of the city. I was really surprised on how much there is to do in Abu Dhabi!
 

  • Seikh Grand Mosque
  • Ferrari World
  • Louvre
  • Warner Bros World
  • Qasr Al-Watan
  • Emirates Palace
  • Yas Waterpark
  • Different Beaches
     

Sadly because of the heat I was not able to visit all of these places. I really have to come back during the "winter" months again to see a few more of Abu Dhabi's attractions!
 
I'll now take a walk with you guys around the City!
 

AR503697.jpg

AR503699.jpg

AR503700.jpg

AR503709.jpg

AR503710.jpg

AR503713.jpg

AR503712.jpg

AR503718.jpg

AR503725.jpg

AR503726.jpg

AR503727.jpg

AR503732.jpg

AR503739.jpg

AR503706.jpg

AR503708.jpg
 
Beside many Malls there are also quite a lot of open Mosques around which you can visit at almost any daytime. You can probably already tell from the images above that this City is incredible clean! There is no garbage lying around, every grass is perfectly cut and just overall everything looks just super polished!
 
The biggest part of the city are basically just main roads with shops, restaurants and apartments on the side.

AR503696.jpg
 
But let's come to my personal favourite thing to do around the city - Taking evening/night walks around the beautiful beaches of Abu Dhabi. Yes, you heard right - There are massive beaches around with white sand and clean water! If the temperature wasn't that high and the water that warm, I would have loved to take a swim there as well! But hey, I've really enjoyed my evening walks! :))
 
AR504206.jpg
 
My personal favourite was the Corniche Beach which was build in 2008 and has a total length of 8 KM! Beside the beach there are beautiful walkways and beside the walkways there is another road for people who enjoy sport activities such as Bicycle rides, Longboards, Inline blades or just simply jogging.
 

AR504215-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR504198-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR504208-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR504210.jpg

AR504211.jpg

AR504228.jpg

AR504246-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR504245-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR504243-Enhanced-NR.jpg
 
Looking at the pictures again I really miss my daily walks at the beach! There were also some cafes and little snack shops around the walkways which were perfect to get some water or some delicious hot tea (black tea without sugar but lemon and mint was my personal favorite)!
 
There is just one thing which you need to be cautious about - Don't take pictures of people In Abu Dhabi! That's by law illegal and you can get serious trouble for it! On one side I think it's good to protect the privacy of people but on the other side - I like street photography :D - Well, not in Abu Dhabi!
 


Restaurants & Nightlife

 
Yes! Abu Dhabi actually has a night life. The country really turned out more liberal than I expected. Now they only need to work on their human rights policies and this country really has a great potential for a holiday destination for all kinds of travelers!
 
From what I've heard - There are many bars and nightclubs around the city. I didn't visit any of them as this is nothing I'm to interested in. I much more enjoyed the delicious restaurants around the City. As 90% of the people living in UAE are foreigners - There are toooons of different restaurants with food from all over the world!
 
AR503741.jpg
 
On the picture above you see some quite popular meal from UAE which is basically just a bread with some nice yoghurt sauce and any topping of your choice (veggies, meat, fish). It's served with a little soup, some vegetables and a nice and hot pepper! :))
 
The food prices at most restaurants were quite reasonable if you don't go to the most fancy places and the quality was always super good from my experience. So, don't be shy and try as much food as you can!
 


Do I recommend a visit to Abu Dhabi?

 
Absolutely! People are nice and helpful, the infrastructure is great, you have tons of activities to do and overall you can enjoy many things around this City. This really is a great destination for solo travelers, couples or families. Abu Dhabi provides activities for everyone!
 
Even if it's not the most exciting country for adventures travelers it really has it's own charm which you should check out if you haven't yet!
 

AR503864.jpg
 
I hope you guys enjoyed this little virtual tour with me through Abu Dhabi! :))
 
Best,
Chris

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow - Thank you very much! :))

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you! :))

I also want to do night walk around the beaches of Dubai. Dubai is in my dream list.

You should! Its super enjoyable! :))

Man, I'm worried about the basketball falling off that court and into the ocean...

Haha I'm sure that happened before! :D

Wow, what amazing photographs. I love the sunset photos ☺️

Thank you very much!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1970.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you!! Highly appreciated! :))

great post and mesmerizing pictures
you capture an amazing sunset. great job

Thanks a bunch!! Highly appreciated :))

The architecture of modern Arab cities is mesmerizing... Great photos!

Agreed! Cheers buddy! :))