Sands of Time: Exploring Cairo's Ancient Marvels and Timeless Charms 🇪🇬

in Pinmapple9 months ago (edited)

BeFunky-collage.png
 

Good Day Travelers!

 
The time has come where I will share my last post about my travels trough Egypt with you guys. In my past posts I've already highlighted monuments and special locations around Cairo and Giza - In this post, I will share my overall experience about the 22 days I've stayed in this massive City!
 
Until today I could not really find out how many people actually live in Cairo - Google says: 23 Million, the locals say it's way above 40 Million! Either number, the city is massive!!!! On the picture below you can see a image which I took shortly before landing and I can promise you, that this is just a tiny part of the actual size of the city!
 

AR502505.jpg

 

Arriving in Cairo

 
With my German Passport I was able to purchase my Visa on arrival - It costs 25$ and it lasts for 30 days. The process takes just a few minutes and can be done right beside the immigration counter.
 
After passing the immigration counter you'll find the usual confrontations - "Hi Friend, Taxi Taxi" - But I suggest you to just tell them that you've already a driver waiting. Most of the time this works :))
 
Inside the arriving hall you can find different simcard providers and you'll pay around 10$ for 25 GB Data Volume. After that, just open your UBER App and order a driver who picks you up. You will be shocked on how incredible cheap the UBER prices are in Egypt - I payed about 2.5$ for a 20 min ride into the city!
 
The second option is taking the Metro which is also convenient but it can be pretty crowded at certain daytimes. Also, seeing everything in Arabic can be quite confusing sometimes (There are also some english signs around the stations)
 
Cairo_Rapid_Transit_map.png
Source
 

Where to stay in Cairo

 
That's obviously a question of your personal taste. But I, as a solo traveler can only suggest you to look for an AirBnB - I've payed about 20$ per night in the popular Heliopolis district and my apartment had everything from washing machine, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and there was a lot of space to relax and cool down after days of walking.
 
From what I've heard is that Hotel and Hostel prices are also quite cheap compared to other countries. You will definitely find a places which you like for any kind of budget!
 

AR502522.jpg

AR502517.jpg
 
Above you can see 2 images during sunset from my balcony. It was always a highlight seeing this colorful event after a long day of walking. Sitting on a chair, drinking a tea and just have a moment of inner piece. Yap, life can be good!
 

Cairo

 
Not only is UBER an incredible cheap way to get around the city, it's also an amazing opportunity seeing the life of the locals! As the streets are so massive and chaotic, there are so many things you can discover and see. Below I will share some images from the impressions I've got during rides - I'm sure some of them will make you smile :))
 

AR502676.jpg

AR502678.jpg

AR502686.jpg

AR502690.jpg

AR502689.jpg

AR502696.jpg

AR502698.jpg

AR502702.jpg

AR502704.jpg

AR502708.jpg

AR502727.jpg

 
As a photographer I was also super happy that people didn't mind when I took images out of the cars window. Just make sure to not photograph military and police vehicles/persons and you'll be fine taking pictures where ever you want.
 
The highlight was definitely driving through the old part of Cairo - There are lots of Mosques and other old buildings you will see while driving past them. It sometimes really felt like I traveled the time 200 years back!
 

What to do in Cairo?

 
There are honestly lots of things you can do in this City! 4 of the major ones I highlighted already in my previous posts:

Just check them out if you are interested. A few other places which I need to highlight are definitely the Khan el-Khalili Bazzar and the near by Al-Haklim Mosque. Both places should definitely be on top of your list!
 
To get to both places you simply mark the Bazar in your UBER map and the driver will drop you at the main street which connects both locations (Images Below)
 

AR503429-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502888.jpg

AR502883.jpg

AR502884.jpg

AR502886.jpg

AR502885.jpg

AR503431.jpg

AR503432-Enhanced-NR.jpg
 

Al-Haklim Mosque

 
The historical Mosque was completed in 1013 by Al-Hakim and renovated in the 1980s. As you can tell by the age it's an incredible important place in Cairo.
 
There is one thing which I didn't know when I entered the Mosque - It's actually not allowed to take pictures with a professional camera, just a phone. A friendly stuff member from the Mosque informed me about this after I already took some images and lucky me, I did not have to delete my camera images. I'm pretty happy about this as the Mosque is just stunning!!!
 

AR502873-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502872-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502870-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502868-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502874-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502875-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502880-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502881-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502879-Enhanced-NR.jpg

AR502877-Enhanced-NR.jpg
 
Not only was I lucky for taking pictures there, I was also super lucky that there was a group of very friendly prayers who visited the Mosque as well. I loved their colorful clothes and they also greeted me with smiles when I walked around to take some shots of this place. Such a great visit - Put it definitely on your list!
 

Khan el-Khalili Bazzar

 
This massive Bazzar was founded in 14th and some people told me it's still the biggest in entire Africa. I can't confirm it but by the size it really could be - It was massive.
 
The issue I had there was that it can get pretty annoying passing all the sellers and sorry, scammers. Some of them really try to sell you stuff as hard as they can and most likely don't accept a "No" (Not all of them, just some). That alone gave me quite a mixed feeling and I did not really feel comfortable taking a lot of pictures there. If you walk around without camera, it's fine, if you have your camera in the hand - People will "attack" you. So here are a few from the shots I took.
 

AR503421.jpg

AR503422.jpg

AR503424.jpg

AR503425.jpg
 
Overall it's a nice market. All the colors, fabrics and the handmade stuff - Pretty fascinating. There are also some little tea shops around which are really enjoyable with a great atmosphere inside of the market.
 

Do I recommend you to visit Cairo?

 
So, it's a yes. Probably you shouldn't stay for 22 days there as I did but yeah, a few days can be pretty exciting in this impressive city. Most people who visit Egypt go to the beach areas for diving or on short trips to the Pyramids. Cairo itself seems pretty undiscovered and it really has a very nice and special charm.
 
Egyptian people are super funny and nice to stay around with. I really don't want to include the street hasslers and scammers to the population but they are sadly a part of it and you should be aware when you consider traveling there. But for all the adventures - Just give it a go and judge yourself. You may either hate or love it, ha!
 

Thanks for virtually joining me on my trip!
 
Best,
Chris

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing journey specially the photos of mosques. 22 day are seriously insane but I like that you have enjoyed this time. All the photos are superb, you gave photos a bit moody look

Thanks a lot buddy! Really appreciate your comment! :))

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1946.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks a bunch for the support @choogirl and @pinmapple ! Highly appreciated :))

Wow! 22 days in Cairo. Definitely in the bucket list, but as you say, not for 22 days. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for your comment! Haha, agreed - I think 3-5 days would be perfect for the city! :))

Man it's absolutely wonderful to watch all this pictures quality of the pictures are amazing the stories are perfect truth which is fantastic. Can't wait to see what you do next.

Thank you so much! Highly appreciate your comment! The next post will be about Bahrain! :))