Sort:  

Did you think that was testy? Do you always think it's testy when you jump in the middle of a genuine question like it's not beer, the west sucks! And someone from the west you speak of gets defensive?

Testy? Get ahold of yourself.

That would be like me butting in the middle of your conversation and rather than relay genuine information I thought might better help you understand I said 'yeah well I've been to Meteora and saw what's left of the monasteries after WWII.'

See what I mean?

Hashtag TotallyUncalled4

Happy hump day, enjoy the rest of your week.

Hold your horses, buddy. I have read this now several times over; there must be a misunderstanding that I can't see.

You asked a genuine question ("children in pubs - any truth?") and I gave you a genuine answer with no intention other than impart information, my personal experience as a German in Germany. Those were the first two paragraphs of my original answer.

Where does this thing with "the west" come in??? I didn't say anything about that! The only thing that might be construed mildly offensive (if one is American and thin-skinned) is paragraph #3, where I mentioned kids being drugged to the gills.

I was referring to Ritalin, and I believe I'm entitled to that comparison because I lived in Florida for 15 years. As a cultral comparison along the lines "German parents get their kids drunk, Americans drug them with meds."

I'm sorry if this has upset you; that was not my intention.

I love my skin. You didn't upset me, what you did is irritate the shit outta me. I'm not your buddy nor do I ride horses and I did not say:

German parents get their kids drunk

Show me where someone other than yourself said that.

Because I've never been there. It was on the to-do list before Covid kicked us back to the states. What happened was you responded to my question that wasn't directed toward you and rather than be informative like "it's not really beer" to which I would've been appreciative 'Oh nice, I didn't know that. Thank you' you compared yourself to somewhere nobody was talking about like a child.

"Woah Horsey!!! Yaw!!

Next time you have useful information to share try being more elephant and less donkey.

Other than spouting a lot of aggressive nonsense, do you even read stuff before you respond? I HAVE BEEN INFORMATIVE with the best of intentions before you jumped on me for no good reason:

  • It IS REAL BEER (or can be), and the law permits parents to exercise discretion.
  • 16-year-olds don't need parents' permission. (legal drinking age)
  • Kids in pubs are often drinking sodas which onlooking foreigners confuse with beer and are shocked because of it.

If you want to have a private conversation you shouldn't post in a public forum. There is absolutely nothing wrong with jumping in and taking part; the social aspect is the whole point of a comment section. WTF IS WRONG WITH YOU?

Everything.

That right there, that explanation laid out in fine bullet point detail, was it difficult to do without throwing in your negative opinion about any other country?

This doesn't need to be private. And because it's not, when you deliberately direct attention away from yourself by berating somewhere else completely isolated from the conversation and someone mios happens to be from that somewhere else they're gonna get defensive. Public, private, doesn't matter.

Thanks for the criticism free information, that's all I asked.

I'd rather not do this anymore. We don't have to agree with each other and I'm traveled plenty well enough to have a deep appreciation for cultural differences. Add to that it's a virtual conversation, language barriers, misunderstandings aren't too uncommon.

If you didn't intentionally belittle American children for no reason other than to defend Germany, forget I was ever here.

🇧🇪🇺🇸

I'd rather not do this anymore.

Me neither. I don't belittle anyone intentionally, not ever. As to America, nobody loves it more than I do. I enjoyed and treasure my time there, and I'm married to an American wife. That doesn't mean I can't see things I can't agree with. I'm not the "rah, rah, rah" kinda guy. Not defending Germany either, there is plenty wrong here.

misunderstandings aren't too uncommon

Yup, that was my first thought. Glad we cleared it up.

Anyway, have a wonderful day and I hope you can come and see us soon enough. Winter in the Garmisch area is magical, albeit not this year, on account of once again tightened COVID restrictions :-(