You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garmisch-Partenkirchen Germany

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Try the "beer" soda next time you're here. The stuff actually tastes pretty good when it's nice and cold, albeit very sweet. Pregnant women love it :-) Give some to your pooch, too, dogs flip for it. Not too much - it's got a ton of sugar calories, more than real beer! The popular name of it is "Malzbier" (malt beer), on the bottles it says "Malztrunk" (malt drink) because it's not a beer legally.

Sort:  

Now that you mention the name Malzbier, I think I've actually heard of it. Never tried it though. I will definitely look out for it. It's not like "root beer" at all is it? I'm not sure if you know what root beer is or not. It's a soda.

No, it's not like root beer at all and yes, I know what root beer is, and I love me a root beer float :-) Malzbier has the texture and foam like real beer, it doesn't feel like a soda at all. Yet there is absolutely no alcohol, only the tiniest amount of bitter/roastet tang, and an overwhelming sweetness.

Okay, interesting. I'll definitely look out for it.